We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Building 7 is surrounded by BBQs!”
Review of Kamaole Sands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kamaole Sands
Ranked #15 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is an update from an earlier review.

This is our 3rd stay at Kamaole Sands; previously in Bldg #5 top floor, overlooking pool. This time we are on 2nd floor of Building #7 and it's a different experience for sure!

We are surrounded by 3 very busy BBQ stations - 1 directly to the left, 1 to the right and another our front. Each station has 4 or 5 grills in it and big picnic tables for groups. The cooking starts as early as 4:30 pm and goes through to 8 most nights. If you are not keen on BBQ grill smell for 4 hours each night, building 7 isn't for you! Additionally some mornings the BBQ cleaning process involves firing them up again - so you could have BBQ grill smell early in the morning too.

Also with the picnic tables, groups gather and have their meals there and the noise levels here are really echo-y. We overlook the beautiful gardens - plus and minus - since a lot of little kids run wild in the grassy area, yelling loudly as kids generally do when they are running around ... again, the echo-y. Its way quieter over the pool area (at least on top floor).

While the noises are usually done around 9 or 9:30, we'll never stay in this building again. This is a nice complex and the location is perfect for us, so we'd stay again in the right building; one closer to the road and away from the BBQs for instance. This is definitely a family resort, but there are a really lot of little kids here this trip.

Our condo is nice enough - but as you'll read in these reviews, the actual units vary widely depending on their owners. We like this one.

Room Tip: Recommend building 3, 5 and 10. Might try 8 or 9 which don't have garden view (less kid noises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Prairieschooner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

534 - 538 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

Others have said it, and I'll repeat - your condo could be wonderful or horrendous, depending on the building, floor, or unit that you're in.

We've had great experiences renting directly through owners (VRBO). The condo's themselves have been fairly basic (although well-supplied with kitchen items, towels, beach stuff). The property is very large, and there are busy roads on 3 sides; however, by 10 pm there's little if any traffic at all.
Tips - ask for (RECENT!) photos. Refer to the property map - several available through google - to get a sense of which building your condo will be in, and where the streets are. Elevators are 'slow' .. be prepared to be irritated by them. If you prefer to not have dozens/hundreds of kids around, you should look elsewhere (esp during March). On the other hand, if you are looking for a kid-friendly property, you'll love it here. Best advice? Enjoy your vacation in beautiful Maui, and try not to stress about your accommodations!

Room Tip: Personal preference = ground floor, Building 8 or 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhitehorseTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

If you want to take your chances, and you don't mind little privacy and loads of kids, you can try this, but I was in tears the first 18 hours. I made my reservation directly with the management, the only reason we're still even here. We arrived after dark last night. I had been told by a VRBO owner who does have great reviews for her unit here (but it wasn't available for us) that units were assigned 3 days before check in. At her suggestion, I had also requested an updated unit, in a quiet spot. I did check 3 days before and was told we would be in a nice unit in bldg. 7, so I was suspicious when we checked in after dark and were told we would be in building 9 - 310. The unit was lifeless and stuffy and as I walked across the sparsely furnished condo, across the carpet to open the sliding doors to the lanai, my feet got wet and cold. OUT OF THAT ONE in a real hurry. The desk guy was totally frazzled but finally gave us keys to another, 4-209 and by then, very late and tired of moving our stuff, we stayed although the place seemed unwelcoming and the night turned terrible. We were stuck between a busy road and a noisy elevator and an infant crying below us every 4 hours. The box fan in the closet had a blade missing so ran like a broken helicopter, couldn't use that, and the desk guy said there was no one around to bring us another. The ceiling fan, rattled and squeaked all night. The condo was old and tired, more apparent in the morning after no sleep and then.... I burned my fingers to blisters on a cup of water I tried to microwave for coffee, opened the freezer for ice - absolutely none of course! Near tears, a call to the management and the manager met us within an hour, toured us through 4 other condos and we settled on a refund for the lousy night and moving to the inner circle Building 5-308, a clean, completely redone - no carpet, just shiny clean tile floor everywhere, new kitchen & bath, tiny lanai barely for 2 opening to the pool, a bit of space between our bedroom and the walkway, but we can leave the doors & windows open. I'll take the noise of kids playing over road noise anytime and hopefully no crying babies tonight. I won't ever return here, or be brave enough to recommend it to anyone, but if you are very diligent & careful, I'm sure you can get a unit to be happy in for a FAMILY style vacation. DON'T try this if you are looking for quality or elegance or romance or privacy or most anything else. Your vacation could be ruined. This place was built in '84, so beware.

Room Tip: I thought I had been careful and we still almost got screwed. No advice on how to make sure this wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jrsDenverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed at Kam Sands in Dec/Jan 2012. This was our second time, and we'll probably stay there again next year, so that says it all. The condo was nicely renovated, and bathed in sunlight. Could see most of the sunset from our suite. Last year we went through vrbo, which worked well, this year booked a little late so had to book through the office, and didn't know what to expect (no pictures of suite). We were very pleasantly surprised! Very smooth booking and friendly helpful service.

Room Tip: Probably any suite would have its good points, but an inner courtyard suite is closer to the pool. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turtle604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed at Kamaole Sands in July 2011 and LOVED it! We stayed in 7-109 which is a ground floor condo. It was perfect for our family - we have two small children. The bed was comfy, the condo was super clean and newly renovated. The condo was very close to a BBQ area and a hop, skip and a jump away from the pool, which the kids LOVED! The condo was equipped with boogie boards, beach toys, umbrellas, chairs, coolers, and even snorkel gear! The complex is right across from Kamaole III beach, which we found to be the best beach we visited during our stay.

Our only advice is attend the free breakfast to get an idea of what to do while on the island, but do your own research before booking these activities. They are through Expedia, but it is not the same thing as Expedia.ca, so take care before booking.

We had great service, including a late checkout, and LOVED our stay. We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Request a ground floor unit, newly renovated, with A/C. Building 7 was central to everything - clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tspencer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,174 reviews
35.1 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,212 reviews
0.3 km away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
0.9 km away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 61 in Kihei
538 reviews
35.6 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamaole Sands? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamaole Sands

Address: 2695 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8678
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: ₹ 9,835 - ₹ 30,157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kamaole Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamaole Sands is set amid tropical gardens with waterfalls and ponds, across from a scenic Maui beack park. One-, two-, and three-bedroom suites have full-kitchens and washer/dryers. Amenities include tennis courts, a swimming pool and kids wading pool, jet spas, barbecue grills, and a weekly Mai Tai party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kamaole Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamaole Sands Hotel Kihei
Kamaole Sands Maui/Kihei
Castle Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing