We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
60
37
6
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
37
6
3
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfarmers marketlocal places to eatlounge chairsbath condothese unitssea turtlesup to dateislandmauikitchenwindantsshore
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2008

We stayed in unit #508 and we were very satisfied with our staying at kihei beach. The unit was very clean and free of bugs, not a single cockroach. also, the view from lanai is spectacular. we enjoyed having breakfast on our lanai. we could hear waves crashing. the location is very convinient but is definately not the most beautiful part of maui. I wish there were more sidewalks! otherwise everything was perfect.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank matilda9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

This was our 2nd trip to Maui and our 2nd stay at Kihei Beach Resort. Although we are not experts, we did want to share some little hints we discovered to help make anyone's trip more enjoyable.

After doing several hours of research last year we decided to book our stay through Ali'i Resorts and were absolutely amazed by the professionalism and friendliness of their staff! We stayed in Unit #405 and were blown away by the location, privacy and cleanliness of the unit...not to mention the spectacular views. After a memorable trip in 2007, we decided to book another stay at Kihei this year, again through Ali'i Resorts. If you are looking for the perfect trip from the begining reservation to the end of your stay, I highly recommend Ali'i Resorts. We booked with Pat both years and she was extreemly helpful! She answered every question we had and even called once we arrived to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. They truly went out of their way to provided outstanding customer satisfaction. This year we stayed in Unit #603 and once again were completely blown away! The only negative we could say (if you want to call it a negative) was that the palm trees had grown to the same hight as the balcony, so you have to look thru them to see the full sun rise and sun sets. But who could really call that a negative?

As far as other recommendations we have about things to do and see, or where to shop and eat while your staying on Maui...here's what we really enjoyed...A must if you like mexican food is Fred's Mexican in South Kihei. Beware their burritos are big enough to feed 2 people. Also, East Ocean Chinese has good food at reasonable prices. If you are looking for hand-made ice cream, you have to go to Lappert's Ice Cream in Kihei and/or in Lahaina. They have the best Hawaiian flavored ice cream around the island. As for shopping (on a budget) you can't beat Front Street in Lahaina. They pretty much have something for everyone. If you are searching for great deals and friendly service on fine jewelry you have to go visit Amy at Whaler's Fine Jewelry. Amy (the owner) is one of the sweetest people we met in Lahaina. The customer service we received from both her and her husband more than exceeded our expectations!! I bought some jewelry from her during our trip in 2007 and returned for a visit this year. I was amazed that she remembered us from a year ago and even remembered what I bought! The selection and quality of her jewelry are the best in the area. After a full day of shopping, if you get hungry we recommend Cool Kat's across from the Bayoun Tree. Their burgers and fish sandwhiches have been voted best on the island and once you eat there you will know why.

As far as "tourist" activities on the island, the Bike Tour down Haleakala is a true thrill. On a clear day you will see the most incredible views on the island! It's a must if you have the time. The Road to Hana offers a different kind of thrill ride. Mostly for the driver...winding thru some 50+ hair pin turns that are only wide enough for one car. Take your time and stop at the 17 waterfalls along the way. Plan on having lunch at the Hana Ranch (a little pricey, but it's the only thing around). On your way out of town (Pai), you'll pass Ho'okipa Beach. This was by far one of our favorite beaches to visit. The winds are always stronger on thi side of the island, so you are almost guaranteed to see surfers, wind surfers, and kite boarders. Snorkeling at Molokini and Turtle Cove were some what of a disappointment. The only fun part was the crew on the Pride of Maui. There were no exotic fish at the crater and we only saw 2 sea turtles surrounded by about 50 other people in the water. For $80 per person, I would not recommend spending the money. Rent snorkeling gear elsewhere and go on your own off Ulua Beach (in Wialea). We saw several sea turtles right off the shore line and were only 2 of maybe 10 people around. Lastly, if you are a golfer and don't mind spending the money, you have to golf at Kapalua-The Plantation Course. The views from every hole are breath taking! Little hint...on the 18th hole...aim to the right side towards the clubhouse and watch what happens to your ball.

We hope this helps anyone planning a trip to Maui. It has definitly turned out to be our best vacation destination and we can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BeachBums386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

First to our unit: it was newly renovated and really very nice. We stayed at Kihei beach for honeymoon and we liked it very much, though there is not as much luxury as at Wailea. We heard about picking up the unit carefully, our unit was newly renovated (#303, hotel.com) and really very nice. Looking direktly on the beach (no street between) and the view on sunset is really great. Staff is friendly through not always available, if you approach at weekend or after 5pm you have to call the desk officer. There is a sandy beach but it is small. As at any beach at south (southwest) maui, a wind is coming up at noon wich makes swimming unconfortable. Having breakfast on our lanai we saw turtles swimming at our beach every second morning. Parking is free. The pool area is a little bit small.
We can highly recommend Kihei beach condos. You can not expect the service of a great holiday resort. Its fine for quite vacatation and romatnic experience. We enjoyed our vacation very much.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Enjoyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

Our whole family stayed here and we rented 5 units. Some were outstanding and some were not so great. Our unit (304) was actually quite nice and we enjoyed it up until the last day when the owner showed up and started spying on us. The office called and questioned us about how many kids we had and told my husband that the unit was not intended for families as it was only a 1 bedroom. They were not polite! We only have a 4 year old who slept with us since it was his first extended trip away from home and we figured he's be too scared to sleep in a seperate room. They said they saw us with 2 children. We told them that it was probably one of our nieces or nephews since there were 5 families staying there. I guess that wasn't good enough because the next morning at 8 a.m. they called again and said the owner deffinatly saw us with two kids. I invited them to come up to the condo and see for themselves. I can only guess that they saw us with my 19 year old niece since she rode in our car with us and was playing on the beach with my son. It was really creepy to feel like I was being watched, it pretty much ruined the last day of our vacation.
In short: nice room, creepy owners. We won't be back and that goes for all 5 famalies.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MTGrizFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2008

We just returned from this resort after a week-long stay. - June 5 to June 12. Our 2 bdrm unit, number 102 was a short distance from the lanai across the lawn and very clean looking sand to the surf. There was a long stretch in either direction to enjoy a beach walk. Vistors were cautioned not to go into the water, however, due to a variety of hazzards. The view was very nice. It was quiet, without many guests during our stay.

The landscape on the sea side was very well taken care of.
The parking and roadside area was not inviting, however, and needs attention. The outdoor grills were in the parking lot next to the big, smelly trash containers...ugh!

The pool was tiny and enclosed by a locked fence which didn't stop a hoard of school kids from the canoe club next door. They jumped over the fence and into the pool until the management shooed them out.

The chaise chairs were the inexpensive webbed type but there were more than enough of them. However they were never cleaned and had overnight residue, or had previous users muddy feet marks.

The kitchen and bathroom fixtures were very nice and fairly new, I think. There were more than enough dishes and other utensils.

The carpeting and mismatched furniture needed shampooing. We used beach towels to put on the furniture rather than sit on them directly. When I asked for a room deodorizer to get rid of the "old motel room smell" , none could be found.

The coverlets and shams on the beds were worn and needed "freshening" badly. We made sure they were off the bed during our stay!

The sliding door was next to impossible to open and the front door lock would have challenged a magician.

My recent knee surgery made a ground floor unit more comfortable, especially the proximity to the beach. This fact limited me and led to getting a smelly, badly appointed unit. Since the resort management only handled three ground floor units and the others were booked we were prepaid and stuck. My complaints were met by the manager giving me a complaint form to MAIL!

The admonishment to pick the unit carefully is a wise one here. From previous reviews, other units are very satisfactory, especially if rented directly from the owners. In my experience with condos, this unit at $270 per night was overpriced!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Gnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews