We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place! Centrally located, quiet beach, on the water!”
Review of Kihei Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kihei Beach
Ranked #24 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We were very pleased with our recent stay at Kihei Beach Condominums Unit 608! The unit was a little smaller than we had imagined but it was absolutely perfect for the two of us! Clean, well decorated and comfortable, the unit had everything we needed except the groceries! We booked through Ali'i Resorts and they were so very welcoming and accomodating! The brought an internet cable to us so that we could use our computer - no fees! We had local phone usage, although we used our cell phones most of the time. There was a hair dryer, coffee maker, towels, etc. We were so happy to have a washer and dryer right in our unit! You could hear the waves roll onto the beach below when you sat on the lanai, or simply left the sliding door open! On the top floor, we had additional space in which to lay out in the sun! We had the pleasure of whale watching from our condo, as well as canoe races! The sunsets were magnificent! The location was perfect for us, as most things were a very short drive! Across the street, there is a farmer's market for fruits and vegetables, as well as an ABC store, which supplies limited groceries and souveniers, (I bought an additional carry on bag there to get our stuff home!) We enjoyed the fact that this condo is away from most activity, and although you could hear road traffic from the bedroom, there was very little traffic to hear at night! We didn't use the pool, but it looked clean and nice! There was coffee available in the lobby mornings. Ample parking for tenants. Small, quiet beach. Office closed nights and weekends. Grounds groomed like a golf course green! This condo is not a ritzy hotel, but a home away from home!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haphappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2008

We stayed in unit #508 and we were very satisfied with our staying at kihei beach. The unit was very clean and free of bugs, not a single cockroach. also, the view from lanai is spectacular. we enjoyed having breakfast on our lanai. we could hear waves crashing. the location is very convinient but is definately not the most beautiful part of maui. I wish there were more sidewalks! otherwise everything was perfect.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank matilda9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

This was our 2nd trip to Maui and our 2nd stay at Kihei Beach Resort. Although we are not experts, we did want to share some little hints we discovered to help make anyone's trip more enjoyable.

After doing several hours of research last year we decided to book our stay through Ali'i Resorts and were absolutely amazed by the professionalism and friendliness of their staff! We stayed in Unit #405 and were blown away by the location, privacy and cleanliness of the unit...not to mention the spectacular views. After a memorable trip in 2007, we decided to book another stay at Kihei this year, again through Ali'i Resorts. If you are looking for the perfect trip from the begining reservation to the end of your stay, I highly recommend Ali'i Resorts. We booked with Pat both years and she was extreemly helpful! She answered every question we had and even called once we arrived to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. They truly went out of their way to provided outstanding customer satisfaction. This year we stayed in Unit #603 and once again were completely blown away! The only negative we could say (if you want to call it a negative) was that the palm trees had grown to the same hight as the balcony, so you have to look thru them to see the full sun rise and sun sets. But who could really call that a negative?

As far as other recommendations we have about things to do and see, or where to shop and eat while your staying on Maui...here's what we really enjoyed...A must if you like mexican food is Fred's Mexican in South Kihei. Beware their burritos are big enough to feed 2 people. Also, East Ocean Chinese has good food at reasonable prices. If you are looking for hand-made ice cream, you have to go to Lappert's Ice Cream in Kihei and/or in Lahaina. They have the best Hawaiian flavored ice cream around the island. As for shopping (on a budget) you can't beat Front Street in Lahaina. They pretty much have something for everyone. If you are searching for great deals and friendly service on fine jewelry you have to go visit Amy at Whaler's Fine Jewelry. Amy (the owner) is one of the sweetest people we met in Lahaina. The customer service we received from both her and her husband more than exceeded our expectations!! I bought some jewelry from her during our trip in 2007 and returned for a visit this year. I was amazed that she remembered us from a year ago and even remembered what I bought! The selection and quality of her jewelry are the best in the area. After a full day of shopping, if you get hungry we recommend Cool Kat's across from the Bayoun Tree. Their burgers and fish sandwhiches have been voted best on the island and once you eat there you will know why.

As far as "tourist" activities on the island, the Bike Tour down Haleakala is a true thrill. On a clear day you will see the most incredible views on the island! It's a must if you have the time. The Road to Hana offers a different kind of thrill ride. Mostly for the driver...winding thru some 50+ hair pin turns that are only wide enough for one car. Take your time and stop at the 17 waterfalls along the way. Plan on having lunch at the Hana Ranch (a little pricey, but it's the only thing around). On your way out of town (Pai), you'll pass Ho'okipa Beach. This was by far one of our favorite beaches to visit. The winds are always stronger on thi side of the island, so you are almost guaranteed to see surfers, wind surfers, and kite boarders. Snorkeling at Molokini and Turtle Cove were some what of a disappointment. The only fun part was the crew on the Pride of Maui. There were no exotic fish at the crater and we only saw 2 sea turtles surrounded by about 50 other people in the water. For $80 per person, I would not recommend spending the money. Rent snorkeling gear elsewhere and go on your own off Ulua Beach (in Wialea). We saw several sea turtles right off the shore line and were only 2 of maybe 10 people around. Lastly, if you are a golfer and don't mind spending the money, you have to golf at Kapalua-The Plantation Course. The views from every hole are breath taking! Little hint...on the 18th hole...aim to the right side towards the clubhouse and watch what happens to your ball.

We hope this helps anyone planning a trip to Maui. It has definitly turned out to be our best vacation destination and we can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BeachBums386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

First to our unit: it was newly renovated and really very nice. We stayed at Kihei beach for honeymoon and we liked it very much, though there is not as much luxury as at Wailea. We heard about picking up the unit carefully, our unit was newly renovated (#303, hotel.com) and really very nice. Looking direktly on the beach (no street between) and the view on sunset is really great. Staff is friendly through not always available, if you approach at weekend or after 5pm you have to call the desk officer. There is a sandy beach but it is small. As at any beach at south (southwest) maui, a wind is coming up at noon wich makes swimming unconfortable. Having breakfast on our lanai we saw turtles swimming at our beach every second morning. Parking is free. The pool area is a little bit small.
We can highly recommend Kihei beach condos. You can not expect the service of a great holiday resort. Its fine for quite vacatation and romatnic experience. We enjoyed our vacation very much.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Enjoyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

Our whole family stayed here and we rented 5 units. Some were outstanding and some were not so great. Our unit (304) was actually quite nice and we enjoyed it up until the last day when the owner showed up and started spying on us. The office called and questioned us about how many kids we had and told my husband that the unit was not intended for families as it was only a 1 bedroom. They were not polite! We only have a 4 year old who slept with us since it was his first extended trip away from home and we figured he's be too scared to sleep in a seperate room. They said they saw us with 2 children. We told them that it was probably one of our nieces or nephews since there were 5 families staying there. I guess that wasn't good enough because the next morning at 8 a.m. they called again and said the owner deffinatly saw us with two kids. I invited them to come up to the condo and see for themselves. I can only guess that they saw us with my 19 year old niece since she rode in our car with us and was playing on the beach with my son. It was really creepy to feel like I was being watched, it pretty much ruined the last day of our vacation.
In short: nice room, creepy owners. We won't be back and that goes for all 5 famalies.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MTGrizFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
6.7 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,174 reviews
0.5 km away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#4 of 61 in Kihei
631 reviews
0.3 km away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Kihei Akahi
Kihei Akahi
#28 of 61 in Kihei
315 reviews
8.7 km away
Kihei Surfside
Kihei Surfside
#16 of 61 in Kihei
33 reviews
0.7 km away
Kealia Resort
Kealia Resort
#42 of 61 in Kihei
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Beach

Address: 36 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8825
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: ₹ 8,769 - ₹ 16,239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kihei Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four night minimum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kihei Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Beach Hotel Kihei
Kihei Beach Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing