We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price for a nice condo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kihei Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kihei Beach
Ranked #19 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
US
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great price for a nice condo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed 3 nights and the condo exceeded my expectations with the decor and cleanliness. The only exception to this would be the 2nd spare bed smelled. I understand that hotels are not required to launder the comforters on beds nearly as often as the sheets, but the comforter on the spare bed smelled terribly - like it hadn't been washed in months. Fortunately, we didn't need to use it. The main bed was very comfortable. I was aware that the traffic in front of the condo would be noisy, but I didn't realize how early that would be - 6am. The beach area is quiet and nice. The pool was nice & not crowded at all. Parking is nice because each condo has a free, reserved spot.

Room Tip: Try to choose an oceanfront room, unless you don't mind hearing traffic at 6am
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OLifeIsGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    34
    4
    3
    10
See reviews for
28
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We have stayed at Kihei Beach for quite a few times. We have been coming to Maui for quite a few years and once we found Kihei Beach it's the only place we stay. We have stayed in a variety of rooms and haven't been at all disappointed. The condos we have stayed in have been well equipped. Kihei Beach Resort is a small, relaxing complex away from hustle and bustle of crowds. There is a nice grassy area, pool and barbeque area. We love being able to step right outside out door on to a beautiful beach. This is a wonderful location for early morning and evening strolls. The ocean views from the lanais are fantastic. A wonderful, relaxing way to start the morning or end your day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jashook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Kihei Beach Resort is truly a hidden gem. Located a couple of miles north of Kihei on South Kihei Road on what is known by locals as Sugar Beach, KBR has jaw dropping ocean views, wonderful amenities and a small Hawaiian resort relaxed feel. We've been coming to Maui for 20 years and happened upon KBR quite by accident walking down the beach from the condo we were staying at the Sugar Beach Resort. On this last trip to Maui we decided to give it a try and have found our place on Maui. The attraction is the small boutique feel of the place and the incredible ocean front experience you get from virutally every unit. You can almost jump off your balcony and land in the sands of Sugar Beach (not recommended). KBR boasts only 50 (est.) units and this lends to a very relaxed and uncrowded feel (contrary to the hustle bustle, and crowded pool and beach at Sugar Beach). In addition to the beach, there is a wonderful and well kept grass lawn between the condo's and the beach with an abundance of lounges and shaded by coconut palms. We loved our early morning walks on Sugar Beach - once you get past a series of 4 other condo complexes (including the massive Sugar Beach Resort), you have 5 miles (?) of untouched and pristine wild Maui coastline. We saw sea turtles and dolphins right off the beach on our walks and we were told by a resident that in the winter months the Humpacks keep their newborn babies in the safe shallows of the bay for a period of time before heading out to deeper water. One of the coolest things we found staying there was presence of the Kihei Canoe Club right next door. While we were there, almost every morning the club appeared to be training their various competitive canoe teams out in front of Kihei Beach Resort. We thoroughly enjoyed the Hawaiian ambiance of this daily spectacle from our lanai over coffee and breakfast. Another plus, there is a small but wonderful farmers market directly across the street with an excellent selection of fresh island fruit - very convenient...and ABC store right next to the Farmers Market. We were extremly happy with our one bedroom/two bathroom unit. It was recently and beautifully renovated and was well appointed, furnished and provisioned. In selecting our unit, we found that as every unit is individually owned, most but not all have been remodeled so you need to take care in selecting your unit to ensure the best possible experience. We found that process to be extremely easy and effective thru the internet websites and pictures available from the rental companies that represent the units. We are in love with Kihei Beach Resort and plan to include it in our bi-annual Maui getaway.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms if you want to walk out of your condo onto the beach, or upper floors for the stunni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We had rented this condo 303 because of the reasonable price, it was updated, central location and because we were on a budget. Unit 303 was very nice, kitchen and bath were updated. Views every morning couldn't be beat, the water wasn't the greatest but the beach was long and lovely for walking. The location is okay, it's basicly at the the beginning of the Kihei area but very central to the island. Parking is free which can really add up in Maui. Shared laundry facilities on our floor, bbq available. We booked with a management company. Overall it was a good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cat64_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon Lake, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

10hours of travel2 kids tired,hungry "No lock box on door" 6 hours to get a hold of someone with a key to get in the condo which furniture is in desperate need of a good cleaning !! good veiw of the *Ugly,* Churnned up dirty ocean water !!!! not nice to swim in AT ALL. we didnt not once , took off every day to get away from this place
BBQ next to smelly diqusting trash cans *just loved that
Old, tackey, NO AMBIENCE little tiny Pool?
The worst " Resort? "
Iam so disapponted and sad for my family all the planning, money ect..........
Its all about the Beachs ,Ocean, Swimming, Snorkling , BBQ, and the Aloha Hawaii Ambience we did get any Only dissapointment

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
13 Thank Tonish75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
6.7 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
12.1 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 km away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#10 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
1.3 km away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#15 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
3.0 km away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#5 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Beach

Property: Kihei Beach
Address: 36 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8825
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,839 - ₹ 16,368
Hotel Class:3 star — Kihei Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four night minimum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kihei Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Beach Hotel Kihei
Kihei Beach Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing