We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ground floor and closet to the beach best.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums
Ranked #4 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Ground floor and closet to the beach best.”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We were in b12 yes you can see the ocean but the deck is so small and rail right at eye level that it wasn't nice to sit at. The units closest to the ocean are great because you have the grass and tons more room with your place right there. The ground units also are better due to the grass area.

Our wireless Internet didn't work and we couldn't get extra housekeeping even with a $109 extra cleaning fee I think if you stay more than a week your towels should at the very least get swapped out.

The price was less than other places but more than Maui banyan. Unless you get the units on ground or the ocean end I would opt for something else. For $235 a night the sheets could have been better and the wireless should work.

This being said it would be a great place for families with very young kids 6 or under Ours are 8 and 10 and wanted a beach with bigger waves Mangers were very nice and even loaned us a cooler until we bought a larger one at Costco.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomFromOrondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    34
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
93
56
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The apartment A6 was ideal and in a fantastic location. How neat is that to have a gorgeous beach only steps from our door and what a beautiful patio (with BBQ's) and pool. It was so nice to not have to pack up everyday to go to the beach. The apartment was well equipped as we wanted for nothing. I was awake every morning early to watch the sunset and to enjoy the coffee served on the lanai. What I enjoyed the most was the camaraderie of all the owners and renters meeting outside on the lanai. We met and made many new friends. I hope that in the future you will give us the opportunity to revisit your condo. Two of us slept in the bed (very comfortable) and one on the pull out couch which was also comfy. The only issue was the one bathroom for three very vain ladies.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The owner of this condo misrepresented many things about the condition of the condo and was not responsive at all when we raised concerns.

First of all, the owner did not tell us that the unit was tented and fumigated for three days right before we arrived with our one year old baby. None of the dishes were washed after the fumigation—and because we didn’t know, we drank from the glasses, fed our baby off the plates etc. We learned of the fumigation two days later from the on-site managers. The owner did state to us that there would be some landscaping work while we were there, limited to "plantings, all by hand, nothing more... in the center walkways and near the parking area." She omitted that the plants were dead because they had been fumigated.

The owner also stated other than [the landscaping work, we would] "have everything that this condo and the complex offer." Unfortunately, a several-day stone-cleaning project (that resulted in removal of all of the lounge chairs, patio seating and barbeques) reached the swimming pool, which was closed "until further notice" due to cleaning chemicals spilling into the pool. We couldn’t use the front door while the cleaning was taking place, and were told to enter and exit from the back patio door which could not be locked from the outside.
Other condo owners we met said that they hadn’t rented during the intensive maintenance week, because there was too much going on. I guess the owner of A6 was too concerned about making money—at our expense.

We raised these issues to the owner, and her suggestion was that we move out. When we explained this would be difficult due to cribs and other rented baby furniture, she refused to communicate any further with us.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrkihei, Owner at Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
1/21/2012
In response to the complaint here is further background from the owner of A6:

Kihei Sands is a small and family-like operation. We strive for a happy time for all and it is our sincere hope that everyone is pleased with their stay and wish to return. Sadly this stay did not work out for all involved.

In anticipation of some landscaping work that follows the tenting of our complex I advertised my unit with a discount and put a block on renting the unit until it was beyond the recommended time of clearance for occupancy. We do not jeopardize the safety of our guests. The complex was verified ready by the service firm and then re-occupied by our local managers and others A FEW DAYS PRIOR to the arrival of this family.

Within hours of the time the couple raised an objection they were provided a complete detailed written response. The explanation included what procedure and products were used in the building treatment, and advising that the gas treatment fully dissipates/ has zero residue (which is why dishes are unaffected and are not cleaned an additional time). In the same response on the building safety I proactively included for the couple pricing and availability information for other nice beach properties in the area that could accomdate them should they feel more comfortable to leave. While the condo was perfectly safe I immediately offered a refund so they easily make a choice to truly relax and enjoy their vacation on Maui. I went out of my way to help them. Apparently, after reviewing the information I gave them about the building treatment they must have concluded/agreed that it was safe because they thanked me for my response and information, declined my offer for a refund and said they would like to stay.

A few days later the couple was asked by the property managers to refrain using their front door for a period of two hours while the stone sealer for our walkways was applied and was drying and the managers would personally watch the back/lanai door to ensure no one trespassed while it was unlocked.

The incident with the pool closure was unforseen and unintentional - an accident that happened. Again we tried to provide a remedy. The pool had to be drained following a spillage into the pool of material involved in recoating the natural stone walkways. To show concern and goodwill I then offerred the couple a rebate of $50/night on my rate or once again a refund in full if they decided they wanted to move to a property with a pool. They responded that they preferred to stay, however they also said I now needed to let them stay at no charge or there would be future consequences. When it was clear to me that nothing short of a free stay would be accepted I felt there was no more I could offer.

We strive to ensure great vacations for our guests. Many comments from other visitors will show that we work hard to keep the property well maintained. We will also do our best to reasonably remedy situations. In this case it did not seem we could arrive at an acceptable arrangement and we are sorry for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

It was right on the beach, however the beach was small. No one was ever on that beach. The condo did need some work, but over all, it was just fine. Not really close to anything, as far as walking goes, but a close drive into the main drag of Kihei. Manager and husband were really nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waianaegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Our family has stayed at the Kihei Sands for many years. Our favourite early morning activity is walking up Sugar Beach followed by a swim. The communal BBQ at Kihei Sands is situated right on the patio, 5 steps from the beach. The managers are enthusiastic hosts of pancake breakfasts and potluck dinners which we have heartily enjoyed. Although some might want closer amenities such as a variety of stores and restaurants, we find the slightly more secluded nature of the resort much more to our liking. The drive into the main part of Kihei is about 10-15 mins. Units vary because they are all individually owned. Some have easy access to wifi.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyVancouverCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
7.1 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,135 reviews
0.1 km away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#7 of 62 in Kihei
609 reviews
1.7 km away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#15 of 62 in Kihei
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
0.1 km away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
8.4 km away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#16 of 62 in Kihei
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums

Property: Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums
Address: 115 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8828
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beachfront condominium located 'Right in the Heart of Maui' where you can watch the sun rise over Haleakala, enjoy Maui's finest swimming beach, and have a front row seat in paradise to view our beautiful sunsets.From our oceanfront patio area and pool, you can practically touch the beach... clean, sandy, unpopulated ...stretching for miles in either direction. Kihei Sands opens to the calm waters of Maalaea Bay... breeding grounds for the humpback whale and a canvas for a fabulous sunset every night.Choose from our one bedroom/one bath condos and our two bedroom/two bath or two bedroom+loft with twin beds/two bath townhouse style condos.Each unit is individually decorated and has a fully furnished kitchen stocked with cookware, dishes & utensils. Units also include air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable television, DVD player, high-speed internet, linens and beach towels. Laundry facilities are available on-site.Each unit has a lanai for you to enjoy right outside your living room. We also invite you to enjoy our oceanfront pool and patio area equipped with tables, chairs and lounge chaises. A few short steps from there and you will be enjoying the soothing ocean waters. Ocean... pool... lounging in the sun. All within a few steps of each other. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kihei Sands Beach Condominium Hotel Kihei
Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing