We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Found Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #7 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I Found Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

This please is the most comfortable, clean, casual spot next to the be BEST beach on Maui and I've been to most of them. When I first attended the Maui Writers Conference we stayed at one of the best resorts, but I live the Mana Kai more, because I don't have to wear shoes. The staff is great, people are friendly, everyone is casual and fun. There's a great bar, restaurant and deli. It is my home away from home with the true Aloha spirit.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are around 200 sf, perfect for one person, for two people go for the 1 bedroom with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Authorspurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    163
    38
    18
    19
See reviews for
166
188
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

First: please be careful not to confuse it with the “HANA Kai Maui”—which is a reasonably-priced, good property--but in HANA.)

The hotel is ON (see photo) a sweeping, wide, picturesque and very clean beach and water. The hotel is renovated but basic (there may be no room service and no outside phones in the room.) If you rent from the hotel, you will be on the "hotel" side (more modest rooms) than the "condo" side. I rented a studio--a "fresh clean" feel. It is in a quiet landscaped setting at the border of Wailea but near Kihei. The hotel has a great happy hour--1/2 off excellent appetizers—and a helpful staff and activities desk, as well as friendly guests. It has an oceanfront restaurant, nice rooms and a few amenities. So if you want comfortable lodging and Maui for the air, ocean, beauty, and to get out and visit with the sea creatures, discovery and friendly Hawaiian people, it's fine. If you want a Super Symbiotic Soporific Sophomoric Sybaritic Synergistic Swiss Seaweed Sauna at $200 a pop – try elsewhere.

There are other helpful reviews, but let me add the importance of the setting and location of this hotel because it can affect your overall enjoyment and whether it's what you want. It’s not typical bustling Kihei. You can come from the airport with little traffic and avoid going through Lahaina. You are almost next door at world-class Sansei Sushi and get a BIG discount if you go when they open. Just up the street you can reasonably rent snorkel gear and an underwater camera and a download of your photos on a disc at Boss Frog’s. .

You’re not far from all the southern beaches, including the turtle "feeding station"; if you like a beach and hear it has good snorkeling, jump in with your gear. But be sure to first ask (not a tourist) about rocks, and the currents that day. Stay close in--always. The location is also near the resorts at Wailea to take a peek, feel like an ant, and flee. You’re not far the awe-inspiring Maui Ocean Center on the coast at Ma'alaea.

The hotel (basic-plus), and its lovely beach, relative seclusion, location and value combine to make a very fulfilling package. I liked it. It fit just right for me.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleBiffOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

My family and I stayed at the Mana Kai in September 2003 for my sister´s wedding.

The building was located a walk away from the beach, and the wedding also took place by the ocean.

It was an unforgettable experience, and the wedding couple could not have picked better venue for the most important day of their lives.

We spent a lot of time by the pool and at the beach. The room was very large and had a kitchenette with stunning views! The hotel was also very clean...

Overall, we were very happy with what the Mana Kai had to offer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazpacho16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We've been to Maui 5 or 6 times, and have stayed at the Mana Kai Maui #314 for the last two. I will never stay anywhere else! Unit #314 is beautiful and has a fabulous view! This is the first time we've visited during the winter, and we were able to do whale-watching from our lanai! We took advantage of the kayak and paddle board rentals. What fun that was! Every morning started with a stroll along the beautiful beach and snorkeling right at the condo. We've tried several locations... and the snorkeling off this beach is one of the best! We saw two turtles during our stay and dolphins swimming right off the beach, too! The owners of #314 are so easy to work with. I found this condo through VRBO.com after reading the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. Stay here! You will not regret it!

Room Tip: #314 was away from the noise of the restaurant, but still had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed at Mana Kai in 2010 and was very impressed with the accommodations. We had a 1 bedroom superior deluxe room. The professional photos on the site were accurate according to the room we stayed in. I travelled with my mother and her friend so I was on the pull out couch in the room, it was decent for a pull out. The master bed was comfy. The condo's have balconies and the view from this side of the building is over the beach. The hotel side views would be over the parking lot, with no balcony. A quick note about the hotel rooms, we did not go in one but we could see that they are very small and we are happy we upgraded to a 1 bdr suite.

Our room was clean, the maid was very friendly. The only issue we had during our stay was we ran out of toilet paper and around 8pm in the evening and there was no one around that had access to any. We had to take some from the bathroom by the pool until we saw the maid the next day.

The restaurant on site is a bit expensive, but they do have a half off appetizer sale in the bar part of the restaurant around 4pm in the afternoon.

Mana Kai is great cause it is located on a beautiful beach, you can wake up and go for a snorkel in the little reef out front, or swim in the sandy area. A rental car would be good if you stay here so you can easily get to other beaches or restaurants on South Kihei Rd. You can easily take the bus, however they do not always come by often.

Room Tip: Go with a 1 bedroom suite (or 2bdr). Hotel rooms are small with no balcony. The suites also have a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewfAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.1 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
3.3 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
36.1 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
2.0 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
1.4 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Property: Mana Kai Maui
Address: 2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,447 - ₹ 40,516
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing