We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$348
View deal
Booking.com
$339
View deal
Agoda.com
$330
View deal
Hotels.com$348
Ascend$364
Trip.com$385
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
125
37
20
2
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
125
37
20
2
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse across the street hot tub room was nice and clean maintenance man provide beach chairs awesome hotel small pool staff was very friendly and helpful tile floors resort fee easy access to the beach nice beach north side per day restaurants and shops central location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2022

My wife and I stayed at Kohea Kai Maui in late February. The property was adequate, but we did not think it matched up to the rather lavish descriptions posted on its website. We do not consider the property a "resort". It is a normal hotel. Our standard room was clean, but very small. The grounds were well-maintained. The staff was friendly and courteous. We appreciated the use of beach chairs, towels and a cooler. The website says they have "upscale amenities"; we thought that was exaggerated.

The website states they have :"24-hour front desk staff" but at check-in we were given a front-desk number to text between 6 am and 10 pm. Parking for the building we were in was VERY TIGHT quarters that are drive-in and back-out only, The "beachfront location" property description is a bit of a push, considering the beach is across South Kihea Road, a rather busy street. The "breakfast" offered was granola bars and coffee; no juices, tea or any other beverages.

We prepaid for the reservation and were surprised when we checked in to be told that there was an additional $25 per day "resort fee". Perhaps this was disclosed on the website and we missed it, but to any travelers considering this property, beware of this charge.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2022

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We really appreciate your feed back because these are ways that our hotel can improve on our services. Due to the pandemic and the labor shortage that seems to be all around it has been a great challenge for my staff and myself. We may not be here physically for 24 hours, but we are available 24 hours. Thank you again for sharing, Thank you for your time and your feed back is very important to us. We hope you enjoyed Maui and hope to see you in the future.
Luseane Moa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2022 via mobile

This place was the worst. The ceiling is so thin - if you’re on the ground floor you hear every single step the people above you make. The entire hotel is generally shabby and just the opposite of a place to relax and unwind. There is no sound proofing what so ever and it made for countless sleepless nights due to noisy neighbors. There is no overnight reception (staff in general is non existent) so if you have any issues after 8pm you’re left with just a number to text. There is otherwise no staff on site overnight. Good luck getting any positive response to your texts. Would not stay here again.

Room tip: If you’re forced to stay here - if this is literally the last hotel with space on Maui - then request a rooom not on the ground floor.
Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Inspire627336
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2022

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We had made attempts to reach out to you, our office was open during the hours we have posted and the after hours number responds rather quickly. We could have assisted you with looking into other options to move to, but was unsuccessful both times and I am sure you were out enjoying Maui. However, we are always here ready to assist. We appreciate your feed back for these are ways that will help us to improve our services. We hope you enjoyed your time on Maui.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2022

Stayed 1/26-27 for 1 night. Wish we could have cancelled and found a different hotel, but was non-refundable and pretty late when we arrived. So embarrassed to admit we paid over $400 so stay at this hovel. We don't mind older hotels if the interiors are clean and well maintained. This place has cinder block walls, dirty broken tile floors, rusty peeling plumbing......the photos say it all.....

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2022

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We really appreciate your feedback for these are ways that we can improve on our services. We hope that you enjoyed MAUI and ALOHA to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2022 via mobile

We would have loved to stay here, but this hotel really screwed us over. We booked a room through our Credit Card rewards site 3 months ago. The hotel oversold their rooms and decided to tell us our reservation was cancelled 3 days before we leave for Maui.

Trying to book a replacement 3 days before our trip was almost impossible. We booked a “Deluxe Suite Penthouse with Ocean View” through this hotel, but we had to settle for a hotel that wasn’t even near the beach. This is our honeymoon, so this kind of service really puts a sour taste in our mouths. Please think twice about trying to book a room from this place… you might find out a couple days before you leave that they have no room for you.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AlanB1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2022

Aloha and Thank you for your feedback. We apologize but due to unforeseen circumstances with the room we could not rent out the rooms for safety reasons. Our other Penthouses were already booked which we would have been happy to upgrade you to, but sadly had to make a difficult decision by contacting your booking agent immediately which was back in January. We made several attempts to your booking agent to make sure that you were given amicable time and notice to find other accommodation. We were assured that they were going to take care of you and nothing was needed further. Again, we apologize and hope that in the future you will give us a chance to serve you.
Thank you
Luseane Moa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2022 via mobile

- little to no amenities. tiny pool essentially not usable. gardens are nice. they provide beach chairs, umbrellas, coolers, to take to the beach. also short term bicycle rentals.
- room service only by request. They forgot one of the two times we asked during the week...
- clean but rundown rooms in need of renovation/upgrades. we had a tiny carpeted but cute balcony with partial ocean view.
- no breakfast due to covid
- across the street from nice public beaches. the street is a busy highway but not too loud.
- central location

Room tip: Expect basic lodgings. nothing more.
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2022

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We appreciate your time and stay as well as for your feed back for these are ways that we are able to continue to improve on our services. We hope you enjoyed Maui and hope that you we may be able to accommodate you again in the near future. Stay healthy and safe!
Luseane Moa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews