We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super busy place”
Review of Da Kitchen

Da Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 160 Restaurants in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 14 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: What do you get when you combine raw creativity with authentic Hawaiian cuisine? The answer to this question will become clear as soon as you order a meal at Da Kitchen. From the Chicken Katsu Plate to the Hawaiian Plate, our local ethnic cuisine is truly a mix of many cultures. When you’re here, you’ll be able to try innovative dishes containing all the classic Maui flavors. We even incorporate local fresh fish and veggies. You’ll also be treated to fast service and huge portions, two things we take a lot of pride in. Our restaurant is its own ohana, and we welcome foodies and families into our modern, warm atmosphere. So, the next time you’re craving a mouth-watering plate lunch in Kahului, Da Kitchen is ready to serve you something you won’t forget.
Reviewed 19 June 2018

There is a very long wait at this place and they dont take reservations. I would definitely recommend going early beofre dinner time or around 8:00 pm. We of course went for the fried spam musubi which was ok. I definitely prefer it not fried but it wasn't bad. Other then that we didnt order any other Hawaiin type food which was a bummer. My kids didnt want any of that. My daughter ordered the pasta and it was really good. I would definitely recommend this place but plan on waiting awhile to get in.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Riles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dakitchenmaui, General Manager at Da Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

I'm glad you and your family stopped by! We do have a long wait sometimes but that can be avoided by ordering online if you wish. I'm happy you liked the pasta and definitely appreciate the recommendation! Hope to see you again!

Mahalo,
Keala Richards, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018

The food and service were fantastic!! Our server Brenna was friendly and helpful, full of Aloha spirit. She suggested the Fried Spam Musubi - it was the dish highlighted on Bizarre Foods. Excellent Musubi under the thin crust coating. Great texture from the crust and then you get the furikake and seasoned Spam - ono, delicious.

The Saimin was excellent with the beef based dashi (soup base). Great ingredients in the bowl and the thick noodle from Paia were not the norm, but tasty with a great chew.

We would order both dishes again. But Brenna said everything is ono, so I'd have to try the rest of the menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bmi1197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dakitchenmaui, General Manager at Da Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

It's great to know you loved everything from the deep-fried spam musubi to the saimin, and I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to Brenna. We hope to see you again soon -- there are many more dishes to try if you're going to get through the whole menu!

Mahalo,
Keala Richards, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Interesting menu, we had the Moco bowl with a variety if meats or seafood over rice topped with eggs and gravy, bountiful servings, hard to fine using google maps

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kristy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dakitchenmaui, General Manager at Da Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

I'm happy you enjoyed your food, Kristy! Our menu is full of traditional island flavors, which might be different than what some people are used to, but I'm glad you gave us a try! Hope to see you again soon.

Mahalo,
Keala Richards, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Highly recommend Da Kitchen for flavorful takes on local favorites! Very imaginative menu and also several options for those who are vegetarians, too!

Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dakitchenmaui, General Manager at Da Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

We definitely appreciate the recommendation! It's awesome to know that you love our flavors and menu selection -- just because you're vegetarian doesn't mean you can't enjoy island-style cuisine. Come see us again soon!

Mahalo,
Keala Richards, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We did a quick search of nearby restaurants and came across Da Kitchen.
It was too long a wait for our hungry son so we opted for take out which was only 15 minutes.
They text you when your food or table is ready.
Washrooms across a hallway and require a code to access

Thank lookingtorelax_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dakitchenmaui, General Manager at Da Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

I'm happy you stopped by and that we could get you your food quickly! I hope you enjoyed it and that you come see us again soon.

Mahalo,
Keala Richards, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Da Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing