We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check out the cottage for perfect accommodations”
Review of Hotel Lanai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lanai
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2011

In addition to ten "regular" rooms, the Hotel Lana has a cottage separated from the main building. It is a wonderful accommodation choice -- a living room, bedroom, and bathroom (with bathtub). It provides a reasonable amount of space, is quiet because there are no shared walls, and is an ideal space if one wants to stay in Lanai City (I can't make a statement one way or the other about the other rooms at the hotel). As well, unlike the other rooms the cottage has TV. WiFi free is available throughout the hotel. There is a shuttle from the Hotel Lanai to both of the Four Seasons resorts, each of which provides a nice place to hang during the day (one on a beach; the other in the high country). The cost for the cottage is a bit more than the other room choices, but it is well worth it, and much more economical than either of the Four Seasons properties.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2011

First of all I would consider twice going to Lanai. It is a very distant place with not so much to do and see. BUT it was quite of an experience I would say. Hotel Lanai is in the middle of the island and I think that the best thing in the hotel was a chance to be able to go away from there. I really liked the hotel evethough the walls are just as thin as everyone says. The hotel was very nicely decorated and we really liked the style, it was really something totally different. In the middle of the island where the hotel is located it usually rains and the center of the city is VERY small and authentic. The breakfest is quite poor, but at least there is such. Renting a car and all the activities are very expensive on Lanai so we skipped those and the best thing in Lanai was seeing spinner dolphins (it was a totally huge herd of them!) in the bay next to Four Season's hotel at 7 a.m. one morning. You have to be there very early in order to see them but it's totally worth of it! Just imagine seeing dolphins having fun in their natural surroundings for three hours! That is something totally unforgettable and the main reason I would suggest going to Lanai as long as you respect these beautiful creatures and don't go snorkeling & swimming with them as the bay is their safe place and should also be such in the future. Four Season's is a nice play to spend time on Lanai as well as the beach next to it. And it was quite of a ride back to Maui with the ferry..

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

On Lanai, your options are to a) stay at one of the two Castle & Cooke resorts, b) stay at Hotel Lanai, or c) stay with family/friends. The resorts (The Lodge at Koele and The Manele Bay) are absolutely wonderful. But, as my partner said when we were talking about our options, "Why would I come to one of the most secluded of the islands and then stay where everyone else is?"

So, we chose the Hotel Lanai. It fit our needs and expectations perfectly. Quaint, quiet and perfectly located to be able to walk to town (you can't do this at the resorts unless you want a REALLY long walk--need to take the shuttle). The rooms are simple but tastefully done, and the hotel has Bev Gannon's decidedly upscale restaurant if you want to splurge. It is exactly as advertised. The only thing I would say (that you can't discern from their website) is that this is an old, traditional style plantation building. Thus, the walls are very thin. There weren't many people there during our stay, but I can imagine if you had vocal neighbors on either side of you, it might be an issue.

One more tip: if you stay at the resorts, they are fairly self-contained with activities. If you stay at Hotel Lanai and your goal is to do something OTHER than relax, read on the porch and relax, I would recommend renting a jeep. It's not cheap, but well worth the freedom to explore the lovely and remote island landscape. I'm a lifelong Hawaii resident and Lanai is one of my favorite islands. But know what you're getting when you arrive. It is not the Hawaii as advertised by the Hawaii Visitor's Bureau. It is a world away from all that.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mommysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Last visit they had just finished some work on the cabin. This visit even more had been done. All the artwork from Mike Carrol was hanging back on the walls (do visit his gallery when there, we bought more prints to add to our growing collection). There is now a deck in front with a nice table and a hammock. All the landscaping has been updated and is really lovely.

The cabin is still the best bet if staying here. Quiet and cozy describe it perfectly. The bed is super comfortable. With the hide a bed in the living room it is a good place for a small family. There is now a small fridge in the closet, a real bonus. The ice machine is just around the corner. Flat screen tv with a great channel selection. Free WIFI and good cell phone reception.

The morning breakfast was nice, fresh fruit, rolls or breads, coffee, juice. Nice place to begin the day and chat with your fellow guests.

The resturant is still wonderful. It is closed Monday and Tuesday so keep that in mind. Friday night they have a live band.

The staff treat everyone like family and the owners go out of their way to be sure you are happy.

As is clearly stated in their website they have a no refund policy so make sure you know exactly what you are getting before booking here. We have never had any problems but some people do not seem to be aware this place is almost 100 years old and is not ultra modern plastic Hawaii like the resorts are. It is clean, well kept and a true gem.

Rent a jeep from Adventure Lanai Ecocentre and explore the island. You can either have it waiting at the ferry dock or the airport when you arrive.

The only downside this trip, they have stopped allowing jeeps on the Munro Trail since Castle and Cooke no longer maintain it. You can still ATV or hike it if you want.

Room Tip: Rent the cabin if you can, worth the few extra dollars. Rent a jeep from Adventure Lanai Ecocentre a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrightonBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband and I got married on Maui and return every year to celebrate our anniversary.
This year (February 2011) we decided to finally check out the Hotel Lanai, which looks so cute and quaint; we wanted to try something that wasn't a resort type atmosphere.
The hotel IS cute and quaint, the staff was very friendly, and our room looked lovely.
Once we had settled in and gone to bed, however, we noticed the very strong mildew odor, even in the bed.

Having been to Hawaii several times, we are familiar with the humidity, and we were also aware that the Hotel Lanai is very old, but the mildew smell was so strong and pervasive that neither of us slept at all the night we arrived.
We tried everything -- opening the windows, having the (very noisy) ceiling fan going full blast -- I actually spent a great deal of time outside throughout the night, just to get some fresh air.

The next morning we went directly to the Four Seasons, and once we found out that we were able to get a room there, we went back to the Hotel Lanai and checked out even though we had reserved our room for close to two weeks.
We explained the problem to the front desk person, and she said that she would check to see if we would still have to pay for the remaining time on our reservation.

She called us later that day to say that unfortunately we would still have to pay for the entire time we had reserved, even though we had only stayed one night, and even though the reason we left was mildew in the room.

My husband has asthma, and he ended up becoming ill and spending the next 3 days in bed.
I developed an itchy red rash on my face, neck and arms (the parts of me that were in contact with the damp and mildewy bed linens at the Hotel Lanai) that lasted for several days and was extremely uncomfortable.
Our clothes smelled so musty just from being in the room for the one night, that we had to have everything cleaned at the Four Seasons.

I tried again to get the Hotel to bend on it's early departure policy, but with no luck; I then disputed the charges to my credit card through my bank, and again had no luck.

Bottom line; the Hotel Lanai is lovely on the outside, but I would never, ever stay there again or recommend it to anyone else.
Mildew is a health hazard. They need to clean it up before someone has a more serious health problem than we had as a result.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanai City
25.7 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,285 reviews
25.4 km away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
963 reviews
32.7 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
465 reviews
25.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
25.4 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lanai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lanai

Address: 828 Lanai Avenue, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Region: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range: ₹ 8,217 - ₹ 12,675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lanai 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the towering Cook pines is a small country inn with ten plantation-style rooms and a private cottage called Hotel Lanai. It is a historic landmark, built in 1923 by James Dole as lodging for his pineapple plantation executives. Inside Hotel Lanai is a beautiful restaurant and bar, the Lanai City Grille, with award-winning cuisine. Tourists can relax in the cool breezes, enjoy the quiet atmosphere, and appreciate affordable accommodations. Complementary continental breakfast is provided to registered hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lanai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lanai City
Hotel Lanai Lanai City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing