We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (920)
Filter reviews
920 results
Traveller rating
575
215
58
41
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
575
215
58
41
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold hawaiibedroom cottageblack sand beachplantation cottagessalt pondwest sidebanyan treesauthentic hawaiian experiencelaid backkokee state parkishihara marketnearby riverfull kitchenrocking chairsthree bedroomshrimp stationbeautiful grounds
Filter
Updating list...
695 - 700 of 920 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My wife and I were married in June of 2011. Following three days in Honolulu, we came to Kauai. The cottage and the staff were the stuff dreams are made of. We had a very short walk to the beach, pool, hammocks and beach-side massage tables. The cottage had all the conveniences of a hotel plus the peace and quiet. We had a small backyard with a bbq that we used. The brewery on-site and restaurant made us feel like royalty. To top it all off, we had a little visitor. A cat, perhaps three to six months old was a semi-orphan. There was a diary in the cottage that previous guests wrote their experiences on. So we knew she was around. After a day or so, "Kauai kitty' as we called her, let us pet her. We even gave her a little bit of our steak. We loved her and wanted to take her home to Nevada, but just couldn't. We left a big pile of dry food and I actually teared up as we left. Not very manly I guess but this cat really got to me. I hope she made it or got adopted. But Stephanie and staff deserve your consideration when you go to the southwest side of the island. We will be back someday!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This is definitely for people who want to relax, share the great semi-rustic cottages, expanses of green lawns, lovely pool and friendly staff. We like being off the beaten path and this was really out of the way -- if you are looking for luaus or lots of restaurants and beaches you should stop in Poipu or go on up toward the North Shore. We were just there for seven nights in September-October 2012. We were upgraded to a two bedroom cottage with a view of a giant banyan tree and the beach. There were not many people there, but there was a teenager's sleepover birthday party, a wedding on Saturday and a family reunion on Sunday. So we did have company in neighboring cottages - since there was no air conditioning in the cottage, the windows were open and fans going all night. If the kids want to party you might have a problem, but our neighbors did quiet down in a timely manner. Most of the time we felt we were there by ourselves. We quickly learned to bring home food to heat up in the kitchen and eat on the lanai, although we did try to restaurant connected to the hotel and some places in town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tindelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spent two nights at the Cottages in September. We were in Cottage 57 I believe. This was in September 2012 and it was somewhat deserted. The highlight for me was the chickens running around. We had previously in been in Maui so the beach here is really pretty crappy. The pool was fine however.

The Restaurant was kind of bad. I really liked the chickens running around everywhere. Its a very sleepy place and a great place to just kick back and relax. The bedroom had an AC unit but everything else was un airconditioned (not an issue really because theres a good breeze).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed 6 nights on the north shore, then two nights at Waimea Plantation Cottages for access to this other side of the island. We loved our stay here. Cottages are rustic, so if you want a modern luxury hotel experience, this is not the place for you. We loved all the palms and other mature trees, and the layout of the grounds. The main building and cottages are charming. There was great bird watching - saw a few birds I had not seen elsewhere on the islands. The beach here is not swimmable, but Salt Pond Beach Park is just down the road and is gorgeous. There are protected areas for kids to go in the water, and we always seem to find a Monk Seal on the beach.
Dining at Grove Cafe was delightful. Food is simple but healthy and good. The seating in the back terrace is one of the more romantic dining settings you could hope to find anywhere. Fragrant flowers, palm leaves rustling, soft breezes, crickets chirping - delicious! We wanted to run it back the second night, but the back terrace was taken over by a convention. We sat in front - it was karioki night - totally different to romantic first evening, but fun & hilarious.

Room Tip: This is a big compound. Different cottages have different levels of upgrades over the years. If you don't like your room or location, ask for another.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Wow, what a find. Old world charm, our cottage was huge (#69) and waterfront. The porch wrapped around the front with lots of lounge chairs. There were 2 master bedrooms each with huge bathrooms and gigantic walk-in showers. The kitchen was clean and spacious and fully equipped. Yes, there are chickens everywhere. BRING EAR PLUGS! That is the key. We slept great. We were told our cottage went for $450 but were offered a price of $270 when we arrived without a reservation. We hesitated as that was more than we really wanted to spend; they gave it to us ultimately for like $235 and threw in a late check-out 5pm! How cool was that? Great hospitality, peaceful setting, a definite return visit is required.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews