We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Shouldn't Mean Rundown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waimea Plantation Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Husband and I stayed at the WPC for six nights in October. The location itself is lovely --- near the mouth of the Waimea River. The beach is deserted since it's far too dirty and unsafe for swimming but it's lovely for sunset watching and strolls down to pier. However, we found the cottages too far for easy travel to Poipu or Kapaa, not to mention anything to the north shore. If you like rustic historic properties, the WPC is for you. However, rustic should not be equated with run down. When I saw our shower, I knew there was no way I could use it. There was several years of mineral buildup crusting the fixtures and the floor was yellowed with missing tiles. The tub was much nicer and appeared to have been re-glazed.
The cottage had a full kitchen that was very clean but two burners on the stove were not working. The coffee maker leaked all over the counter, as well. That was OK as the reception area has free coffee each day. We often had ours on the lovely cool breezeway nearby.
Come prepared for some warm afternoons; many of the cottages have no AC. We were lucky that ours had a room unit or we would not have slept.
We brought up our concerns with management the first day we arrived and Lorna at the desk offered to move us but to an un-airconditioned unit. We declined.
The WPC gets high marks for service. The manager, front desk, and housekeeping were very pleasant.

The bed was small but comfortable but had only two pillows availabile which my husband found too thick. We bought one from the local Walmart. Bring bug repellant. There are tons of big mosquitoes that eat you alive every evening and everything is open air.

The WPC is an Aston property and not cheap. It needs a full upgrade to all cabins. The historical accuracy can be maintained if one is careful with rennovations.

All in all, we would not stay at WPC again. The location, price, and conditions make it a poor value.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Joeysdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 603 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

My wife and I were married in June of 2011. Following three days in Honolulu, we came to Kauai. The cottage and the staff were the stuff dreams are made of. We had a very short walk to the beach, pool, hammocks and beach-side massage tables. The cottage had all the conveniences of a hotel plus the peace and quiet. We had a small backyard with a bbq that we used. The brewery on-site and restaurant made us feel like royalty. To top it all off, we had a little visitor. A cat, perhaps three to six months old was a semi-orphan. There was a diary in the cottage that previous guests wrote their experiences on. So we knew she was around. After a day or so, "Kauai kitty' as we called her, let us pet her. We even gave her a little bit of our steak. We loved her and wanted to take her home to Nevada, but just couldn't. We left a big pile of dry food and I actually teared up as we left. Not very manly I guess but this cat really got to me. I hope she made it or got adopted. But Stephanie and staff deserve your consideration when you go to the southwest side of the island. We will be back someday!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This is definitely for people who want to relax, share the great semi-rustic cottages, expanses of green lawns, lovely pool and friendly staff. We like being off the beaten path and this was really out of the way -- if you are looking for luaus or lots of restaurants and beaches you should stop in Poipu or go on up toward the North Shore. We were just there for seven nights in September-October 2012. We were upgraded to a two bedroom cottage with a view of a giant banyan tree and the beach. There were not many people there, but there was a teenager's sleepover birthday party, a wedding on Saturday and a family reunion on Sunday. So we did have company in neighboring cottages - since there was no air conditioning in the cottage, the windows were open and fans going all night. If the kids want to party you might have a problem, but our neighbors did quiet down in a timely manner. Most of the time we felt we were there by ourselves. We quickly learned to bring home food to heat up in the kitchen and eat on the lanai, although we did try to restaurant connected to the hotel and some places in town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tindelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spent two nights at the Cottages in September. We were in Cottage 57 I believe. This was in September 2012 and it was somewhat deserted. The highlight for me was the chickens running around. We had previously in been in Maui so the beach here is really pretty crappy. The pool was fine however.

The Restaurant was kind of bad. I really liked the chickens running around everywhere. Its a very sleepy place and a great place to just kick back and relax. The bedroom had an AC unit but everything else was un airconditioned (not an issue really because theres a good breeze).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed 6 nights on the north shore, then two nights at Waimea Plantation Cottages for access to this other side of the island. We loved our stay here. Cottages are rustic, so if you want a modern luxury hotel experience, this is not the place for you. We loved all the palms and other mature trees, and the layout of the grounds. The main building and cottages are charming. There was great bird watching - saw a few birds I had not seen elsewhere on the islands. The beach here is not swimmable, but Salt Pond Beach Park is just down the road and is gorgeous. There are protected areas for kids to go in the water, and we always seem to find a Monk Seal on the beach.
Dining at Grove Cafe was delightful. Food is simple but healthy and good. The seating in the back terrace is one of the more romantic dining settings you could hope to find anywhere. Fragrant flowers, palm leaves rustling, soft breezes, crickets chirping - delicious! We wanted to run it back the second night, but the back terrace was taken over by a convention. We sat in front - it was karioki night - totally different to romantic first evening, but fun & hilarious.

Room Tip: This is a big compound. Different cottages have different levels of upgrades over the years. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waimea Plantation Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waimea Plantation Cottages

Address: 9400 Kaumualii Highway, Waimea, Kauai, HI 96796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Waimea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Waimea
Price Range: ₹ 14,508 - ₹ 33,484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waimea Plantation Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re seeking more than a manufactured island vacation, where better than Kauai’s sunny, laid-back western shore? Nestled in the idyllic and friendly town of Waimea, our tropical oceanfront oasis offers you a Kauai from a gentler, more authentic time. One step onto our property and you’ll feel it. It’s in the air. The quiet seclusion, tranquil surroundings, soft welcoming smiles. It beckons to you with a simple invitation, “Unplug your mind, recharge your body and rejuvenate your spirit.” In our collection are 60 authentic plantation-era cottages, some dating to the late 1800’s, sharing a 27-acre tropical coconut grove along the ocean. Ranging from one to five bedrooms, no two cottages are alike and each has a personality of its own. Better yet, our oceanfront location gives you easy access to some of Nature’s most stunning landscapes, like Waimea Canyon (the Grand Canyon of the Pacific) and the Na Pali Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waimea Plantation Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waimea Plantation Cottages Hotel Waimea
Resortquest Waimea Plantation Cottages
Waimea Plantation Cottages Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing