We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$ 536
US$ 502
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort(Poipu)
US$ 650
US$ 605
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 873
US$ 846
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$ 619
US$ 582
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$ 116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Kauai Inn(Lihue)(Great Value!)
US$ 205
US$ 184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 477
US$ 388
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 857
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 802
US$ 749
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (891)
Filter reviews
891 results
Traveller rating
557
208
57
40
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
557
208
57
40
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold hawaiibedroom cottageblack sand beachsalt pondwest sideplantation cottagesbanyan treeslaid backishihara marketreal hawaiikokee state parkrocking chairsfull kitchenshrimp stationthree bedroombeautiful groundsroosters crowing
Filter
Updating list...
674 - 679 of 891 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

We started coming here in 2000.  We love this place. Old time Hawaii with a laid back pace, historic cottages and a friendly staff. If you are looking for air conditioners, ice machines and night clubs don't come here. This is a place to get away from it all or spend time with family and friends.  Each of the cottages (houses) are different.  We were traveling with a group and needed two houses. Nadine in reservations was a tremendous help getting us exactly what we needed.  There were a couple of changes; the massage studio is out of business and Waimea Brewing is also gone although the Grove cafe  and bar are still there.   Waimea brewing changed names to Kauai Island brewing and is located in Port Allen. They now have wifi in the cottages and flat screen tv's but that doesn't take away from the charm of this place. We used the tv rarely and if we brought our hdmi cable we would have reviewed our pictures and video from the day.  They are also upgrading the safes to the Mesa digital card  lock safe. No key needed.  Due to the on going drought  no fires are allowed in the beach side fire pits .  

I was totally relaxed, slept great and had a wonderful time. I will definitely come again. 

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank swj1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Once you get over the fact that you pay luxury prices but it isnt modern luxury you cope well. We met the tiny swarms on ants in the kitchen on the first day because we left food in bowls. After that the onlyanimal life that gives you an issue are the alarm chickens. Guides will tell you there are some 500,000 plus chickens on the island. Many like to wake you from each morning. The grove cafe is a very costly restaurant based on the site, I had a steak that had a piece of bone that was sha[ped like a plectrum that almost chocked me, it was very sharp and very nasty and the staff were very relaxed about it
No lights in the grounds at night so have either a mobile phone or a torch to light your way. The wifi wasry unreliable for me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoppityskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My wife and I first stayed here in 2000 for our honeymoon and have been back several times since… (8 and counting) To say that the town is quiet is an understatement. There is only 1 store and 2 places to eat not including the shave ice stand. That is the charm of this side of the island, Quiet. If you are tired of making decisions and looking to unwind I cannot recommend a better place to stay. There are very few places to choose from to stay on this part of the island. The Waimea Plantation Cottages sit right at the base of Waimea Canyon, also known as the Grand Canyon of the Pacific, spectacularly views await you at the top of the scenic area as well as hikes and views and Kokee State Park further up the road. The beach at Waimea Plantation Cottages is not really a swimming beach. But only 9.9 miles away is one of the best beaches in the Pacific, Polihale State Park Beach is the beach made of Hawaiian dreams. Bring a pick nick and stay the day and even watch one of the best sunsets of your life. (This is NOT a crowded beach resort are that you would find elsewhere on the island.) The cottages are historic small and quaint but, very clean, relaxing and spacious with all the amenities one could want. Having a full kitchen in each place is a real saver on the island so doesn’t forget to calculate not paying $18 for an omelet and that big hotel on the crowded beach into the cost if you are planning a vacation. With the "ocean view", you get 60 feet of grass 30 feet of sand and then the ocean off your porch. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone coming to the Waimea Canyon area.

Room Tip: Ocean View... All the way.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Reading some of the poorer reviews of this place, I cannot believe they are describing the same place. More accurately, I think they were people looking for an entirely different experience who should have done their research and known better. To say that the town is dull with nothing to offer is about like saying the Grand Canyon is dull with nothing to offer. There are few places to choose from to stay on this part of the island. This is right at the base of Waimea Canyon Rd., a spectacularly scenic area. Yes, the beach is not really a swimming beach. But one has to assume that you are coming here for the Waimea Canyon hikes and views and Kokee State Park further up the road. Otherwise you would be staying at a more crowded beach resort elsewhere on the island. The cottages are historic. But our cottage, not one of the more expensive ones, was clean, relaxing and spacious with all the amenities one could want. We did not pay for an "ocean view", yet could still see the ocean across the spacious, well-maintained grounds. Yes, there are chickens and roosters. But they are ubiquitous all over the island. So one must simply get used to them while on Kauai. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone coming to the Waimea Canyon area. There is a full supermarket in town. So having a full kitchen is a money and time-saver. And we did enjoy a dip in the pool after a day of hiking in the canyon.

Room Tip: No need to spring for an ocean view cottage unless you simply have extra money to burn. All the cottages are surrounded by spacious, well-maintained grounds and gardens within sight of the ocean.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laborman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My wife has always wanted to stay in one of these restored sugar cane plantation cottages and we finally got to do so. We had booked a two bedroom but when we got there, they gave us a four bedroom for the same price. the place was spacious and rustic with what seemed like original windows and some of the bathroom fixtures were pretty vintage. But it was comfortable and reasonably clean with expansive lawns and direct access to a very secluded driftwood beach and a lovely pool. My daughters went out crabbing at night and came across a lot of toads, geckos, and other creatures of the night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews