We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens, fruit and chocolate tasting”

Princeville Botanical Gardens - Tours
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Princeville Botanical Gardens is a family owned and operated garden paradise located in the Princeville area on the magnificent north shore of Kauai. The Robertson Family, with the help of their close gardening friend, Michael, have transformed their 8-acre retirement home into a breathtaking garden with dramatic landscaping in two steep valleys. The Robertsons grow a small cacao (chocolate) grove and part of every tour is a chocolate tasting and lesson on how chocolate is made. Longer tours include samples of delicious tropical fruits. The fun, educational tours of the garden include ethnobotanical and medicinal uses of plants, stories and information about native Hawaiian and "canoe" plants, and much more about a diverse collection of species from around the world. RESERVATIONS ARE REQUIRED. Visitors can experience the garden on pre-scheduled tours on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. Tours are not recommended for children under 6 years. We strongly recommend good walking shoes. Please be sure to call us before visiting. Thank you!
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, fruit and chocolate tasting”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We took the morning tour of this garden and had a great time learning about the plants and trees that this family has planted over the last few years. They spent a lot of time and money to clear the land and terrace the property and had expert help from a professional landscaper who encourged them to open it to the public. The result is a relaxing tour with a knowledgeable guide who doesn't rush you through. He answers all your quesions and provides samples of the fruits along the way. The tour includes a chocolate tasting session that was a little disappointing to me because I thought the chocolate was grown on the property (one type that you sample is) but most of the chocolate is ordered from other companies and you sit with the tour group and taste them. Kind of fun, but not what I expected. It was interesting to see how chocolate grows and hear about this family's efforts to grow it. All the beauty of the plants on this property make it a worthwhile tour.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank psychoteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    63
    13
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Chocolate testing was the best part. The gardens are laid out very nicely, we enjoyed all flowers and various trees, lots of them from India like mango trees, Kesudo (African tulip) , Champo, various Orchids, must visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Trupti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Truly one of the most wonderful experiences I've ever had in Hawaii!”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My husband and I visited the Ahounui Botanical Gardens in Princeville today. This was truly one of the most amazing days I think I've ever had in all of my travels around the world.

The garden is situated on an 8 acre site that was reclaimed from the jungle over the last 10 years by the owner Bill Robertson and his family. It has obviously been a true labor of love. It is a magnificent accomplishment for such a short period of time. The tour we went on was led by his son Jason, a most remarkable young man who spent 3 or 4 hours with a group of perhaps 12 to 15 people of all ages. We saw some of the most beautiful flowers, trees, exotic plants in what is truly a tropical paradise. We would stop along the way for photo ops and to taste many of the various fruits and even edible flowers. About midway through the tour, we stopped for a Chocolate tasting". Cacao trees are grown on the property and we were taught about how the cacao is processed and then the most fun of all - a tasting of various chocolates ranging from those grown on the property to those from Madagascar, Venezuela and other exotic places. It was better than a wine tasting in the Napa Valley and certainly a lot more fun. Learning to begin with the aroma and then to learn the subtle taste differences due to the differences in processing was wonderful! We sampled perhaps 7 or 8 varieties of chocolate and learned to appreciate all of their unusual qualities!

We also had a chance to learn about how ancient people experimented with different plants to treat different illnesses and to see the plants and flowers that were used. The tour was informative, fun and an absolutely fabulous way to spend the day in Kauai. I can't begin to recommend this more highly! I would not recommend this for people in wheelchairs or with strollers. I think the terrain would be quite difficult to manage. A baby in a backpack would probably be fine, but the trails are at times steep and can be slippery. Be sure to wear sneakers or hiking shoes. Sun block is not necessary but bug spray would be good. It is available for the asking if needed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank montauk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
221 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A real treat for flora lovers”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We were unable to go to the three hour morning trip, because all places were booked, so we took the two hour afternoon trip. Our guide was Debbie, whom I guess might not be as knowledgeable as Jason, the morning guide. Nevertheless, this garden is top notch and worth the money. We were told that the morning tour included a garden of fruit trees and a sampling of the fruit which we did not do.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CMoss13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I enjoyed this garden with my daughter. It was a nice relaxing visit.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank BJL9255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Princeville Botanical Gardens - Tours also viewed

 

Been to Princeville Botanical Gardens - Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing