We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Relaxation at beautiful Hanalei Bay Resort”
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanalei Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hercules, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun and Relaxation at beautiful Hanalei Bay Resort”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Hanalei Bay Resort is a gorgeously located resort with the most beautiful views of spectacular mountains that form the backdrop of Hanalei Bay on the island of Kauai. The pools, hot tub, tennis courts and and tropical landscape make this resort very special. The staff is very friendly with a true "aloha" spirit. A short walk of 10-15 minutes brings one down to the Bay where you can snorkle, take an early morning walk along the beach or view spectacular sunsets. The main pool has a delicious tropical grill where food can be purchased at reasonable prices and a small souvenir shop.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a kitchen if you plan to make small meals sometimes, although do try the numerou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    413
    154
    102
    89
See reviews for
487
835
55
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The condos have a great view of Hanalei Bay and the little private beach shared with the St Regis, Princeville has wonderful snorkeling, sunbathing and beach combing. The resort's salt water pool is a great place to unwind if you don't want to go down to the beach. A great place off the beaten track.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The Hanalei Bay Resort's property is gorgeous. It is not crowded (at least in September), the main pool is lovely and charming, the grounds are lush, and there is a pretty (but long and steep) path down to the beach, which is small but nice with good snorkling right there.

It seems like the negative reviews are centered around the condition of the rooms, which is something I noticed when booking. If you are going to be turned off by a dated room that needs upkeep, please book a room that has good reviews directly with the owner, which is what I did. Room 7308 was perfect for us because it was affordable but well maintained with lovely decor and a spectacular view. The downside is that it is super-tiny, but we had no problem with that because it was just the two of us. The size is used efficiently, and the room even has a fridge/dishes/coffee maker so you can have breakfast in the room. Keep in mind though that it is not a real kitchenette (these items are in the closet along with some beach items that you can use as well). I also like that this unit was on the second floor, because we could keep the door to the lanai open.

Some tips: if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs! This isn't just for the Hanalei Bay Resort (but helps with some early morning motorized carts going around) but everywhere on Kauai because of the rosters! Also, splurge at least once for breakfast at the Princeville St. Regis next door -- it is pricey but so worth it!

Room Tip: It seems like the negative reviews are centered around the condition of the rooms, which is somethin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kariyava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed at 2 locations: first was a studio room with pull out bed. Internet was $40, and connection was bad. Ants in kitchen and bath.

2 Nd room was supposed to be condo but was same studio room design with an attached bedroom. (2308). Had issues connecting to internet. We had to call cable company for repair. Resort said they were not responsible. Cable guy came 2 days later. Still had to call maintenance to replace wires. Some ants in bathroom.

As a trade from our quality Wyndam property, we got the shaft with this trading places exchange.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amacmillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The trip to Hawaii was a last minute plan. Lisa was very helpful and gave us a great deal for our one week stay. Our condo was clean and well-equipped. You will find literally everything you would want during your stay from toiletries to basic food equipment. She had even provided a lot of beach stuff for us to use on our stay. The view from the condo is so beautiful that we have decided to frame a picture of it. The hotel is very easy to access especially if your trip is planned around activities in the north and central part of Kauai. Even though Poipu is the most famous beach in Kauai, we spent most of our time in the Hanalei Bay Beach, the one near Hanalei Cafe and the central part near Kapaa for shopping and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again. The resort has great staff, an awesome pool, neat condos with breathtaking views.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Property: Hanalei Bay Resort
Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,608 - ₹ 24,121
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha Guests, Mahalo for choosing Hanalei Bay Resort. We’re delighted to have you as our guests! Lush, relaxing, and as comfortable as your own home, our Princeville accommodations offer all the perks of a vacation rental along with award-winning service from our friendly staff. Located on Kauai’s North Shore, Hanalei Bay Resort captures the island’s beauty inside and out. A Daily Resort Fee of $20 plus tax will be collected at booking. Please note repairs to a select group of lanais will be taking place January 5, 2018 through April 27, 2018. You may notice a minimal amount of noise between 9:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. Monday – Friday. Every effort will be taken to reduce the sound as much as possible and respond to any concern. Once again, mahalo for your understanding and cooperation during this emergency repair work. Warmest Regards, Resort Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, seekda GmbH and Booking.com so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing