We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while on Kauai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great place to stay while on Kauai”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Westin. Beautiful views from our room, helpful staff, and excellent food in the restaurant. Everywhere was very clean and our room had all the equipment that we needed.
The restaurants are expensive but unknown to us when we booked the trip we had a hotel deal that included free breakfast and $100 to spend at the resort!
There was one walk, I discovered, from the resort down to the sea which started with a sign warning you the path was steep and dangerous. It was steep and slippery but anyone used to walking rough paths would cope with it quite easily. The path followed a stream with lovely little waterfalls through trees and shrubs to a beautiful beach. I went very early in the morning and was the only person down there except for someone asleep in a hammock strung between two palm trees.
There are shops a short drive from the resort and a kiosk selling some of the best ice cream we had during our trip to Hawaii.
The Westin is a great place to stay while visiting on Kauai.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kayak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    597
    207
    61
    44
See reviews for
589
1,003
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I visited with the wife and my two kids. Service was very good and staff was attentive to every detail. It was nice to be able to use their BBQ grills, and we used them often. The room had a washer/dryer which was a great help. My son enjoyed both the adult and kiddie pool. There is a nice beach down the hill from the property, although the trip back up can be difficult if you don't have good shoes or are not in good shape. Our room was very nice and clean. The beds are absolutely comfortable and the spa tub is excellent as well. Props to Darrell and Clifford for their service and tips. You guys are awesome! Would definitely return when I am on Kauai. Don't worry about the roosters crowing, you are on Kauai! Enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This hotel is perfect if youre looking for an area where there's not a lot of kids and not too much to do. Overlooking the ocean, the resort is beautiful and peaceful. Being a teenger, I found there wasnt much I could do other than stay on the resort, seeing that other places weren't in walking distance. Nevertheless still had a great time and we have a timeshare here and I definitely will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My mom and I stayed in a studio with two beds and a small kitchenette during July 2011 and we had an absolutely wonderful time. All of the facilities at the resort/ hotel are very nice, including a number of pools, spas, lounging area, gardens, tiki torches, outdoor BBQ areas, Restaurant/ Bar, etc.

Using our Kitchenette and the awesome BBQs provided at the Westin, we cooked a number of delicious meals and ate outside in the warm tropical air. The exercise room was small, but had a good enough selection and a gorgeous view out over the property and the ocean.

I really like the location, but it does require a car in order to get around, see Hanalei, explore etc. If you're looking for beach-front hotel, this is probably not your place. It has a tiny private beach about a 10 minute hike down from the property, but it's not a lounge/ lay out all day kind of beach. Though, the beach by the St. Regis is available and is AWESOME.

I think the Westin is perfect for people who want beauty, relaxation, good location, and a mellow Hawaiian vibe. If you want to be waited on hand and foot, go elsewhere. People won't give you drink service at the pool, nor will they look over your shoulder as you use the BBQs and pools, but if you seek help or service, it is there. I love that the Westin gave me my space, and let me feel free and at ease for the duration of my stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We were only here for a holiday weekend (three nights), but the fact that we felt so relaxed and rejuvenated in that seemingly short amount of time is testament to the wonderful environment at the Westin. This was our first visit to the Westin. Our check-in was smooth thanks to the professionalism of Andrea, the Westin person at the desk. We had arrived several hours before check-in, so our room was not yet ready, but she did her best to get us a place as soon as she could. We were on the first floor of Building 2. It did not have an ocean view, but it was close to the main pool area and afforded easy access to the pool area in between Buildings 2 and 3. Plus, anything on the property is within easy walking distance. Just a short and pleasant stroll through beautifully manicured and landscaped spaces, and you can see the ocean. Another plus was the kitchen. We had stayed at the St. Regis last year, and that's a beauitful hotel, too, but I appreciated the conveniences of the Westin Resort Villa, including having a full-kitchen (full-size refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, stove, no oven (but that's okay) and a washer and dryer, two flat-screen tvs with a DVD player and BOSE sound system. The bathroom was generously-sized with a good size dual shower head. The room was also cleaned daily. And, as nice as this room was, it was still great to leave the room and enjoy the property. There were a lot of grill areas, some offering fantastic views of the water. I kept thinking how lucky and wonderful that is to cook a meal on the grills and then bring everyone in your group together to enjoy it on the tables, overlooking the water area. So relaxing! We went into every pool. The one that afforded the best ocean views was near Building 6. We also watched the sunset from this area. I told the hubby that if we ever visit Princeville again, I would love to stay at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. We never made it to the on-site formal dining restaurant because there was a Foodland just a few minutes away, so we purchased our meals there and ate them in our nice room. Sunday Brunch was offered, but it was over $30, so we skipped it to dine inside. The on-site Princeville Market is well-stocked, and you can even buy meat and other ingredients to cook if you didn't want to drive the short distance to Foodland. The lunch served at the Princeille Market is very good. We shared a huge pizza for $22, and I liked their sandwiches ($8). All in all, a great property to stay at to enjoy and just relax!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aloha056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,155 - ₹ 37,661
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing