We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand place- Grand Hyatt Kauai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southlake
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Grand place- Grand Hyatt Kauai”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

this was our first to Kauai and won't be our last.I travel around the world and this hotel is absolutely one of the most gorgeous properties I have ever stayed at. The views are spectacular. The staff is outstanding. The location is excellent with several 4 star restaurants nearby. we stayed inthe farthest wing from the lobby- which was a long walk- but well worth it.
The workout rooms were top notch. The pool area is gorgeous. What more can I say?
go there. you WILL NOT be disappointed

Room Tip: ask to stay in the far right wing. floor 4 or 5 are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthlakeDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKSocialAmbassador, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Mahalo for your review of your stay here with us at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa.

We're thrilled to have had you join us for your very first trip to Kauai. We couldn't be happier to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable in every way. Your comments about the great service, beautiful grounds and overall experience are greatly appreciated and will be shared.

Mahalo for your recommendation and we will look forward to welcoming you back to Kauai and to the resort.

A hui hou & Mahalo,

Joshua Olayer - Social Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,339
    1,056
    314
    111
    62
See reviews for
1,664
2,830
63
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was our third trip to Kauai but first time to the Grand Hyatt. We went for a conference(Wilderness Medicine) which was excellent, but staying at the Grand Hyatt made it all the better. We had a great room that had both an ocean view and a garden view, the 2000 wing. The balcony had a tables and chairs, a screen door allowed the breeze into the room but when the glass door was closed there was complete silence, a nice touch. The room overlooked the Thursday night Luau site, which was fabulous. We watched the people and the entertainment. A really night event. We really enjoyed the pool system. There is a saltwater lagoon with lounge chairs and even kayaks. Children really like this and they are ever present in the lower chlorine pool, which has a water slide. it was nice to retreat to the adult pool high above the other pools. The gardens are amazing and lush with waterfalls in too many places to count. The interior lobby is vast and open. Everyone is greeted with an Aloha and a lei. During the day there are pet parrots on display in the atrium. The beach is nothing to write home about , in fact other than having the view,eh?
We were so relaxed by the fifth day that we were asked if we were locals several times!
A great place to spoil your butt rotten.

Room Tip: Ask for the 2000 wing if you what a great view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcb4scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKSocialAmbassador, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Mahalo for your review of your stay here with us at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa.

We're thrilled to have had you join us for the first time on your third trip to Kauai. We're happy to hear that your third time was charmed and you enjoyed both your conference as well as the time spent here at the resort. We appreciate all the kind words you shared about your experience, but are most happy to hear that you were able to relax and get on Kauai time.

We look forward to having you join us again and making you an honorary local once more.

A hui hou & Mahalo,

Joshua Olayer - Social Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

There are so many words I could use to describe the Grand Hyatt, but the above title is how I felt for the four days we were there. This hotel is fantastic. After flying nearly 15 hours and then driving for about 30 minutes to reach the hotel, my husband and I were beat when we arrived. The valet warmly greeted us with leis and the check in staff was so incredibly welcoming and friendly. We were in Kauai to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and I had this noted when I made our reservations. We were told at check in that we had been upgraded from a pool view room to an ocean view. This also may have been due to the fact that we are also Hyatt Platinum members, but I am not sure. There was also complimentary champagne and a card waiting for us in our room. There was turndown service each night with chocolates on the pillows. The best part was the view from our room. We were able to watch parts of the luau and it was an awesome spot to watch the sunrise the first few mornings we were awake and not quite on the right time schedule.

We did not eat at any of the restaurants at the hotel, as we like to explore local places more than hotels, but the bar drinks were good! I don't understand the line at the starbucks in the lobby each morning, as there is complimentary coffee in your room, but there were plenty of people waiting in line, so it must be quite the money maker for them.

The pools are absolutely wonderful. There were a lot of kids around, but I never felt that it was noisy. We never had trouble finding lounge chairs in the afternoon and the service of the wait staff was fairly prompt.

My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer here. If you want to go on a vacation and totally splurge on someplace wonderful, this is the place to do it. You won't be disappointed. I can't wait to go back someday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LBS528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKSocialAmbassador, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Mahalo for your review of your stay here with us at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa.

We love hearing that "Ahhhh" is the word and feeling you experienced during your recent trip to Kauai. It gives us great pleasure to know that our guests are relaxed, and able to enjoy their time here at the resort and on island. We're also honored to have been able to help you celebrate your 10th anniversary - congratulations on such a wonderful milestone!

We regret that you weren't able to stay a bit longer as well, but we'll be happy to welcome you back for another great, Ahhhh-inspiring visit.

A hui hou & Mahalo,

Joshua Olayer - Social Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We just returned from my company's club trip, and admittedly my expectations were not high. This is not because I was worried about the Hyatt itself, but let's just say my company's choices of hotels had let me down before. Well I'll tell you they hit a home run this time! The Grand Hyatt was absolutely gorgeous - I think the most impressive grounds I've ever seen on a property (that were not naturally there). Waterfalls and winding pools, lagoons, crashing waves, tiki torches, open air lobby, and a stunning golf course were all part of the incredible ambience.

I really felt this resort was a great value for the price of the room. I've been to many more expensive hotels that weren't nearly as beautiful. The food was, of course, expensive, but that's just Hawaii.

If you're looking for a hotel in Kauai, you can't go wrong choosing the Hyatt. The location is great in Poipu - close to great shopping and some fantastic restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brooke103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKSocialAmbassador, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Mahalo for your review of your stay here with us at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa.

Thank you for sharing such kind words about your recent stay with us. We're delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations and allow you to enjoy your company trip, the grounds and the island.

We greatly appreciate your recommendation and will look forward to having you join us once more for another great stay.

A hui hou & Mahalo,

Joshua Olayer - Social Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington state
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The Grand Hyatt on Poipu was a beautiful hotel with exquisite grounds, beautiful waterfalls, and amazing pools.
ROOMS: Decorated in updated Hawaiian/modern decor, bathroom was large, small sitting table/chairs in the room, and a patio with chairs and a table.
ACTIVITIES: There were multiple pools which winded around the patio areas. There was one adult only pool. There was one large waterslide and one small pool-to-pool slide. Chaises by the pools had comfortable cusions. There was also a salt-water lagoon between the pools and ocean, which appears natural and varies in depth. Every day there is a free scuba class in the lagoon (which was great fun). You can also rent kayaks and floats for the lagoon, but there were pricey. Beautiful swans, koi, and parrots throughout the grounds.
BEACH: The beach was filled with rocks, coral, and sticks. The surf was also quite rough and locals used Shipwreck beach to surf. We did not venture into the ocean. On two different days, endangered Hawaiian monk seals rested in the sun on the beach! NOAA volunteers were on site to talk about the seals.
FOOD: The food was excellent, but expensive.
- Ilima Terrace for breakfast. They had a menu or the buffet ($31).
- The Dock for lunch. This is near the pool and is casual. Walk in, place your order, pick up your beverages, find a table, and wait for your food to be delivered. You could also order from your pool-side or lagoon-side seat and it would be delivered to you. A lava flow (similar to a pina colada was $14; only $11 without alcohol).
-The Captains Bar (not a swim-up bar) for drinks
-Seaview Terrace: Great view of the grounds and ocean, but mainly a coffee/pastry bar for breakfast. Had more options for lunch and a small-scale dinner menu.
PARKING: Choice was valet or the lot. We chose the lot, which was uncovered. At times the trek to the car could be quite far.
OFF SITE ACTIVITIES: Diving through Kauai down under (at the Sheraton), Brenneke's beach, Waimea canyon, Hanalei bay, CJM Stables, Spouting Horn, Wailua Falls, Kilueau Lighthouse.

Room Tip: The Poipu wing is closer to the pool area (rooms ending in 001-052). We stayed in 5037, in the Shipw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmpwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKSocialAmbassador, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Mahalo for your review of your stay here with us at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa.

We're happy to have had you join us in April and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you join us again so that you can enjoy the pools, dining and all the other great activities and sights that Kauai has to offer.

A hui hou & Mahalo,

Joshua Olayer - Social Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
Price range (per night): ₹ 34,072 - ₹ 52,468
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing