We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beach!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Washingtonville, NY
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This was our third time to Kauai and our first time to the Poipu area. We traded a two bedroom in Aruba for a two bedroom at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club. We were confirmed in a "garden view" room. The room was on the ground floor at the edge of Hale 5. There was a large grassy area that had a drain in the middle of the play area that my 2 yr old grandson was using. The accommodations were clean and grounds were well maintained (watch out for chickens). The room exactly as presented on my confirmation form Interval International. It had a king master with a bath. The second room had a king bed, bathroom and pull out sofa. There was also a pullout sofa in the living room. The beds were comfortable and extra pillows were delivered without hesitation. The pull out couches were uncomfortable for my two adult daughters and they requested egg crates to soften the springs they felt under the mattress. These too were delivered without delay. Poipu Beach is beautiful and the snorkeling was great. There are a lot of lava rock so water shoes are recommended. It is also quite windy on this end of the island but overall weather was good with about a half day of rain at the most. There is a shopping center across the street for shops and restaurants and we spent two nights listening to Hawaiian music.

Room Tip: Choosing a "good" room is difficult on a trade. We asked for an ocean view and was told th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MeMaMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    214
    71
    33
    29
See reviews for
489
236
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We were at the Marriott Waiohai from July 9-16 and had a great time. We are not owners and I did book an ocean view, so I was dreading the parking lot view. Sure enough, we got it (room 7403). The girl at reception was very nice, but said the place was full and that priority goes to owners. So with trepidation we parked in the underground lot (loved that convenience) and took the elevator to the 4th floor of Hale 7. It was fine. Yes we could see cars, but also had lots of ocean and also the beautiful mountains in our view. The lot was not noisy, except for the roosters (we liked their crowing) and although pristine grounds are nice to look at, we found we enjoyed watching the life of Poipu. What stopped us from using our balcony more than we did, was the wind. The trade winds were really strong and breakfast on the balcony in the sunshine was nice, but by evening the balcony (which looks east) is in shade and the strong winds made it quite cool. I do not think the rooms on the first and second floor could have seen the ocean, I hope they consider those island view, but third and fourth floor rooms could definitely see Poipu Beach Park. There was no construction, just people coming and going in and out of the parking lot and the men that cut the grass. Someone posted before that it was "dangerous" that is quite ridiculous. I would much rather be in Hale 7 facing the lot, than at the back of the property... far from the beach and with open air parking.
Because we were not owners we had daily room service. We had 8 beach towels supplied. The washer-dryer was great and yes we laundered beach towels, but that was fine. The villa itself is great, website pictures give a really accurate depiction of the rooms and also the grounds. The grounds are lovely and being right on Poipu is fantastic. We always found loungers on the grass overlooking the beach and we generally found shade too. We ate breakfast and lunch in our villa, and then ate out most evenings. I can highly recommend the Plantation House in the next door Kiahuna Plantation. We also ate at The Beach House and at Tidepools at the Hyatt (both short drives away). It was great to be able to walk to Poipu Shopping Village, and we ate at Keoki's there one night.
Kauai is beautiful and the Waiohai makes a wonderful base for your stay. It was low key and on a glorious beach with fabulous sunsets. I would stay there again, I liked the freedom of being in a condo, and the parking lot view would not deter me; however, I do think Marriott should have differential pricing 1) ocean front 2) partial ocean view and grounds 3) partial ocean view and island (Hale 6 and 7 upper floors) 4) grounds no ocean 5) island view

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank Brit_USA_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We loved Poipu, but this property is geared toward younger families. The main pool was very crowded with young kids. Since my kids are older, we enjoyed the "relaxation pool" instead of the main pool. This is not a hotel, so don't expect anyone to ask for a drink order while you are at the pool! There's also no real restaurant on the property, except a pool bar menu (very limited). Since I read many reviews about the "parking lot" views, I was sure to call and ask that we not be located in an exterior room. When we checked in, I again asked about our view and was told since we were "ocean view" we were NOT on the inside and indeed had an exterior room with a view of the public parking lot and the slightest view of the ocean. We decided to move back two buildings (further from the ocean) but at least the view was of trees and not parked cars! Not even sure why they would build a property on Hawaii with parking lot views!! The property was nice, with lots of pretty flowers and landscaping. It was a bit too "young family" for us. When walking into the lobby kids would be running and crashing into you. Spent one night at the Marriott Beach Club in Lihue and that seems like a nicer property with a huge pool and several restaurants. The poipu beaches are very nice and my kids found a great place to body surf about 5 minutes from the Marriott (Brennecks beach, I think?).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kglack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We needed to use some of our time share points and were surprised to find available space in all three resorts in Kauai. But, which is the best for our extended family. Luckily, we picked Waiohai, which turned out to be the perfect Marriott resort for us. Why is it perfect? Here are some reasons.

- Large resort with spacious gardens.
- Multiple low rise buildings.
- Multiple pools.
- Many lounging areas.
- Very family oriented.
- Excellent beach access with a good snorkeling area.
- Lively crowd but still plenty of room.
- Great on site fitness activities (extra cost).
- Walking distance to shopping and excellent restaurants.
- Underground parking.
- Fast free WiFi, although there is an irritating need to log in on each session.

However, Waiohai is not the place for a quiet and isolated vacation. For that, go to the Marriott Lagoons resort. The third Marriott resort at Kalapaki Beach is more compact with multiple high-rise buildings and a Waikiki ambiance.

Our 2 BR suite is typical of new Marriott construction. It has a large master BR side with bath, dining area, kitchen, and living room. Adjacent to this is a “lockout” unit that has another BR and bath. The two sides can easily accommodate 6 people with two people sleeping in the living room hide-a-bed. Somewhat unusual is that the washer & drier are in the lockout unit’s bath instead of being in the kitchen as with most Marriott 2BR suites. The idea with the lockout unit is that both sides can be rented out separately. However, we always take both sides when we stay at a Marriott resort because it is super spacious. The kitchen has everything. We usually ate breakfast and lunch in unit. There are very good supermarkets in Lihui, including a Walmart and Costco.

Waiohai has a few Marriott sponsored activities but all of the fitness activities are conducted by the White Tiger Wellness company on site. For $77, you get unlimited classes and activities including pool aerobics, yoga/Tai Chi/stretching, power walking, and wellness classes on back and shoulder health. Our group loved it and some bought their merchandise including rash guards, instructional DVDs, and water gloves (for added resistance in water aerobics). Zoe, their main instructor was excellent. However, the activities are all in the morning and may conflict with your busy touring activities.

The beach is right next to the resort and is shared with public access. However, it never felt overly crowded. A snorkeling area sits right behind a rock break wall and provided good snorkeling but not in the caliber of Hanauma Bay. It is a great place to try out your paddle boarding skills (rentals available).

There is light dining/ snacks at the resort but you need to go outside to get full restaurant service. Within walking distance are a large number of restaurants including the Red Salt (expensive) and the Sheraton Lavas (avoid the Sheraton Rumfire), and our favorite, the Keoki's Paradise. Roy’s is also there but we did not try it after a disappointing meal in Oahu.

In summary, a great resort that won’t disappoint unless you want a really quiet stay.

Room Tip: The garden view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frankyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calilfornia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I am a Marriott owner and stayed at this property 2 years ago and had such a great experience I couldn't wait to return. Wow! What a huge disappointment! We arrived for an early check in however waited over 4 hours for keys to our villa which was in a horrible location with our lanai overlooking the parking lot! The staff is unfriendly and service is sub par. Beach towels even have to be laundered by the hotel guests! Hands down the worst Marriott experience ever! No wonder they contact you a week before your arrival to set up a sales pitch. Once you arrive it is clear that this is NOT a vacation destination!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
31 Thank tennislchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club. We apologize the (level of service) did not meet your expectations.

Your satisfaction is important to us. In order for us to appropriately address your concerns, please contact our Customer Care office at Marriott Vacations Worldwide via email at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384.

Marriott Vacations Worldwide Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#4 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,195 - ₹ 52,246
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Poipu, Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing