We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My inlaws time share, so we stayed for free”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

So would I pay as much as advertised? Hmmm tough one. The grounds, waterfalls and pools are great, well laid out and family oriented. We were there during spring break so LOTS of kids (including our loud 4 year old). It was noticeably different our second week which means quieter. The units are getting a bit tired in terms of decor and perhaps usage but still pretty nice. A great place for 2 couples with young kids as the common area of the unit acts as a noise buffer between the 2 rooms. Staff around the resort were friendly and helpful. The atmosphere of the place has changed from 5 years ago when it seemed the demographic was older and more professional. That said, everyone we met seemed to be owners or family of owners so who knows. If it was my own $$, I may research VRBO's a bit more. It is in an awesome location for beach access and the weather seems a bit better at the south end of the island. If you could get a unit for under $400 night between 2 couples, that'd be a pretty good deal.

Room Tip: Back facing units into parking lots would be depressing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank physiodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 713 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

I love the Waiohai and it truly is located on one of the most beautiful beaches. We bought at the Waiohai because our children were young at the time. While they still enjoy going here now that they are older, after the first 3 days of swimming and snorkeling they start to get a bit bored as most kids at the resort are much younger than them.

I really wish the resort could have a casual sit down restaurant on site rather than have to go out to the bar for food or order for take out at the market place. Having to leave the property to eat is a pain.

I love the rooms, the decor is beautiful, the beds are super comfortable (and I have a very tough time sleeping away from home but do well here). Even the silly roosters crowing in the morning don't make me grumpy because I've slept so well. :) Having a washer and dryer in the unit is awesome as you can reduce the amount of clothes you have to bring since you can do a load of laundry easily. The two full bedrooms are invaluable to have some sanity from the kids' music and tv shows when we do spend time in the room. Kitchen is fine and has most everything you could need. I suggest bringing some extra gallon size baggies and sandwich baggies from home in your luggage to store leftovers from meals since there isn't a huge supply of tupperware type storage containers in the unit.

It's a really nice resort for families, however, I can see now that it won't be quite the right place for my husband and I as we grow older and want a little more peace and quiet on our vacations sans kids. However, since we may eventually have grand kids to bring here, it may again turn into the perfect place to be! :)

Room Tip: There is a very limited number of rooms that are ocean front and unless you own several weeks at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling-kimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Just back from Waiohai beach club for easter week. Nice time share.Weather so-so but they say the pattern has been strange. Grounds awesome . We had a garden view in Hale 4. Rooms nice. Kitchens and living ares could use an upgrade.Beach was a bit small but overall a great experience, Did Capt andys 5 hour sail. That was Awesome.Saw whales, dolphins and the Napoli coast which was awesome. Some nice local places to eat right in the area.Casa Blanca was a nice place for happy hour and a good dinner without the high price tag. We were 5 with 3 older kids.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel/timeshare is a great place to stay with kids. It offers two bedrooms with kitchens (full kitchens). We have stayed here 3 times in total. Our last room had an ocean view over the parking lot at Poipu beach. So it was a give and take.

The rooms are updated in a Tommy Bahama style. They are very nice with totally stocked kitchens. This makes it a bit easier when traveling with family. Also, having two bedrooms and two bathrooms makes it a real vacation. We can put the kids to bed and then have a large living room and our own bedroom to hang out int.

It is a fantastic location right on Poipu beach. We went to a half dozen snorkel beaches around the island and I found that this one was the best place hands down to snorkel. I saw eels, fish of all sizes, shapes and colors.

Not a lot of dining options at the hotel but there are many restaurants nearby. We have stayed at the Hyatt down the street which is also nice but no swimmable beach. Also, our relatives stayed at the Marriott in Lihue but that is too commercialized for us. High rise buildings and an okay beach. This is really the place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room if you can. Do not stay in the last building on the parking lot. Som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelleraroundthewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at the Waiohai during the week of Easter. We are owners there and this was our third time there. With it being Easter week, the facility didn't seem overly crowded or noisy (except for the roosters). The facility continues to be very well maintained. The grounds are gorgeous and there are always employees around to keep it clean. We used the gym everyday ant it is pretty well equipped. The flat screen tv's are a nice upgrade. Other than the weather (what can you do about that?), the only bummer was that we requested hales 1,2, 7 or 8 because of their proximity to the beach but wound up with hale 4 which is the farthest. Upon our arrival the front desk said that we could move to a room in hale 2 the next day but would need to check out by 10 am and may not get a room until 4 pm. We decided to stay in hale 4 which other than the long distance to the beach, was still a very nice room.

Room Tip: Hales 3, 4, 5 and 6 are farther from the beach/pool. Okay if you need "quiet".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parshuuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#4 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: ₹ 18,211 - ₹ 51,707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Poipu, Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing