We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great View and Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums
Ranked #10 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great View and Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Excellent location to food, beach and snorkeling! We had a great time and will remember that porch for a long time!

Room Tip: If you like whale watching and seeing the sunset from your own patio, this is the spot for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlohaJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed in number three. What a perfect place. Quiet yet close to town. Watch whales and turtles from balcony and yard. We thought it was even better than the pictures. Ron is super great to deal with and alway easy to reach. Sunsets are amazing and just outside your door with about 180 degree view of ocean. Condo well furnished, very clean, and very modern. Great for kids, perfect pool.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllHallowsEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

For our first visit to Kauai, we stayed in Alihi Lani #2 for ten days last April.
We were totally happy with the condo, which was spotlessly clean and had plenty of room for our family of four. After seeing the mega condo complexes in Poipu, we were so glad we'd chosen this small six-plex. We enjoyed watching sea turtles and whales in the ocean across the street, and our kids, ages 11 and 13, had fun in the small pool, which they usually had to themselvesl. We appreciated the boogie boards and umbrellas in the closet, as well as the puzzles and books. Unlike some condos we've stayed in, the kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans and utensils, and we ate most meals there. Poipu Connection handled our reservation, and dealing with them was easy; they were quite helpful. This condo does not have air conditioning, but we didn't need it; the cool breeze came in at night. If we return to Kauai, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amelia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

This is our 2nd stay at the Alihi Lani #3. We were here last year for our wedding and this year for our 1 year anniversary. I've visited the island of Kauai since I was 2 years old and never tire of it.

I've done thorough research of dozens of condos and this one is by far the best on the South side of Kauai (or in my opinion, the entire island!). For our anniversary trip back I did look at other condos since there would only be 2 of us visiting but even the popular oceanfront Kuhio Shores couldn't tear me away from staying at Ron's place. Even though it's a 2 bedroom, I told my husband I will pay extra to stay there again. That's how beautiful his place is. (We did end up bringing another couple so it worked out perfect - and they absolutely loved it!).

The condo is located in the Koloa/Poipu area. Once of the best swimming spots on the island. It's close to absolutely everything needed. Shopping, dinning, beach. Parking is simple, never crowded and just steps to the front door. The 1st floor gives you quick access to parking and the pool. This condo has a gorgeous view of the sunset every evening and turtles & dolphins every morning.

Newly updated it has everything, pots, pans, blender, dishes, spices for cooking, paper towels, coffee & filters, dishwashing liquid, laundry soap - everything really. Enough space for 4 - 5 adults without feeling too crowded. I love that the pool is literally 4-5 steps from the lanai. The grounds are kept up very nicely and the landscaping is gorgeous!

The master has a california king, super comfy and the 2nd bedroom has 2 twins, equally as comfortable. You can fall asleep to the ocean in the 2nd bedroom. We slept with the sliding doors open every night. Even in the middle of August, you don't need A/C. You get a nice breeze through this place once the doors & windows are open.

The best place about this condo and the only reason to book is because the condo complex is SMALL. You're not sharing parking with 200 other units or fighting for a spot at the pool. Only 6 units in this entire complex and some aren't even vacant so it's like having the entire place to yourself. The owner, Ron is quick to respond and very friendly! I've dealt with other condo owners before and by far he's the most professional. Thanks for letting us enjoy your condo again Ron and hope to visit again in the years to come!

Room Tip: Ground floor is closer to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisacas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We're fortunate to travel a fair bit as a family, and we are always looking for that special place that has that something 'extra'. Alihi Lani #4 is one of those places. The condo has a great vibe. It was a fine size for a crew of four, including two teenagers. As others have mentioned, the place had everything from boogie boards and picnic equipment to lovely walk-in travertine showers and super-comfy beds. There were two drawers of movies, but who cares?! My guys were fascinated by the endless parade of sea turtles directly across the road from us. The lanai looks straight out over the ocean. We'd wake up to their little heads popping up and went to bed shortly after the sun set as we looked out of our balcony . I loved how the condo is only one of six in the complex -- this place is quiet and very chill. It certainly doesn't feel like a hotel, which we avoid at all costs. I also liked how it's so close to everything but seemed away from it all, if that makes sense. To top it off, the service was great from both Cynthia and her caretakers. We were foolish enough to hide our passports in the apartment and then depart for the North, leaving them behind. Kay was super generous and offered to meet me up in Lihue with the documents so we could leave the country, and she did this with such generosity. That's aloha spirit. I make part of my living arranging trips for other people I spent hours -- no, days -- researching properties before I put any money down on this trip, and I can heartily recommend this Alihi Lani #4 find to others!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fiddleaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Whalers Cove Resort
#2 of 30 in Poipu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums

Property: Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums
Address: 2564 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9682
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,518 - ₹ 23,938
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a wonderful small 6 unit complex at Alihi Lani - directly next door to Poipu Kapili.MUST SEE spectacular ocean and sunset views from the 184 square foot covered lanai. Living room, dining room, kitchen, master bedroom, desk sitting area all have the same great view. See whales breaching a few hundred yards off the coastline from November to April. There are turtles year round in the cove directly in front. Just watch and listen to waves crashing on the beautiful rocky shore.The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook calls this small complex a 'Real Gem' and gives it their highest rating. Enjoy the views from the brand new (9/2011) ocean front pool and BBQ's. Enjoy our beautiful new tropical landscaping with extended pool deck and lounge chair area.The Sheraton beach is just next door where you can enjoy snorkeling and beach swimming. Take an evening walk to nearby shops and restaurants at Poipu Shopping Village.Everything you could imagine needing, we have supplied. We believe in pampering you on your vacation with luxurious sheets and towels. We supply a fully equipped kitchen, beach chairs, boogie boards, cooler, movies, large flat screen televisions and games. All furnishings are brand new as of July 01, 2007.We own and manage our own property and can give you the individual attention that makes the difference. This is a Hawaii vacation you will not soon forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums Hotel Poipu
Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing