We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort(Poipu)
US$ 631
US$ 514
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 640
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$ 467
US$ 434
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiahuna Plantation Resort(Poipu)(Great Value!)
US$ 477
US$ 228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 328
US$ 296
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 367/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 755
US$ 684
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 483
US$ 468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 604/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
13
9
1
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
9
1
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice poolshort drivetwin bedsbeach chairsthese condoswasher and dryertennisextinctfansbreezeblenderlanaipillowsbeachesunitlandscapingisland
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary in May 2012. We love staying in a condo, where we can get up, make a nice cup of coffee and breakfast at a leisurely pace before heading out for the day. The kitchen has been updated in this condo and was beautiful, with everything we needed. We never used the dining table indoors, preferring to eat on the lanai. The bed in the master was very comfortable, and the entire condo is very light and cheerful, with lots of native artwork. We had brought a small cooler with us, but had we not, they had coolers, snorkel gear, beach chairs, etc. available in the downstairs closet.

This condo was very clean and comfortable, and the location was perfect for us. It's very central, allowing one to easily head north or west, or to stay in Poipu itself, which is very enjoyable. The owner was very easy to work with. We had heard about roosters all over the island, but didn't hear any of them here -- although there were lots of other birds!

There is so much to see and do on Kauai, but night life is minimal. We knew this and it fits in with our lifestyle. We did a lot of hiking, as well as spending relaxing days on the beach.

Downfalls:
- The lanai overlooks a parking lot, which wasn't obvious from the pictures.
- There is no air conditioning. We were requested to leave the fans off while we were gone to save energy, but in order to keep it comfortable, we kept the fans on and the upstairs shutters open, and it was pretty pleasant the entire time.
- There was an issue with the utility bill not being paid, and we had a notice on our door that the power would be turned off the next day if not paid. We booked directly through the owners, who happened to be traveling out of country at the time and were unreachable. We were able to contact the manager, who took care of the bill. Afterward, I negotiated with the owners to refund one day of our rental for the inconvenience (since it took most of the day to resolve).
- There's a nice pool, but it closes early (can't remember now, but something like 7:00). That meant that most of the days we were out exploring, we weren't able to use the pool upon our return.

These were all minor inconveniences. We would absolutely stay in this resort and this unit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Deb18560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This was our second stay at Poipu Crater #20 and it certainly won’t be our last. If I detailed everything we like about this vacation rental and its location it would probably be the longest TA review ever written. Briefly—and that’s hard to do—PC20 is beautiful, comfortable, and well-appointed. The surrounding grounds and greenery exude Hawaiian. And, c’mon, it’s in an extinct volcanic crater on Hawaii’s oldest and most pristine island—the one Captain Cook landed on when he “discovered” the Sandwich Islands. PC20 is easy walking distance from one of the most diverse assemblies of beaches on the whole island—that is, a beach for everything from keke (kiddies) to easy snorkeling to boarding and surfing of all kinds and at all levels. We’re talking surf, sand, sun – and, a green oceanfront park with picnic tables, across the street from some of the best drinks and sandwiches in the area – all within 15-20 minutes’ walk from your door. Piopu is arguably the best place to stay when visiting Kauai. Centrally located at the southern point of the island, it gets less rain (but enough to remind you where you are) and less wind (but enough to keep you cool), and has more open space than other resort areas. You’re at the halfway point of Kauai’s only main highway that takes to you Hanalai on the Northeast and the magnificent Wiamea Canyon on the Northwest. (But the highway doesn’t connect at the top—thus, Poipu is the perfect place to start going either direction.) The condo is just 10 minutes’ drive from horseback riding at CMJ Stables and guided tours of the beautiful Allerton Garden. Read my other reviews for more on the wide selection of nearby restaurants, food, and drink that are just minutes away. We ate out about half the time and the rest of the time we took advantage of PC20’s convenient kitchen and beautiful lanai. If you’re staying a week or more, we suggest you stop at Costco on the way from the airport. Then you’ll only have to shop for fill-ins during your stay. If you’re only staying a few days, there’s a large and well-stocked grocery store in nearby Koloa Town. What are the negatives? They’re few, and most apply to anywhere you stay in Kauai. The whole island has mosquitos and Poipu is no exception, although we saw less this year than last year. Buy your favorite Deet-based repellent and use it often, especially when outside after sundown. Everyone going to Kauai should know that it rains—sometimes more, sometime less, but always some. Buy an inexpensive folding rain jacket and keep it handy, especially if you’re carrying a camera or other gear you don’t want to get wet. Tradewinds come and go, more in the Fall/Winter than in warmer seasons. You’ll get used to it. You better love waking to the sound of chattering birds--because you will, every day. Last year I complained a bit about the ever-changing noise level in the crater as tourists arrived and departed from vacation rentals and couples partied on the various lanai . This year I notice there were a lot more permanent residents and less keke—including on the other side of the wall at PC20—which made this noise-sensitive tourist very happy. Bottom line--the value, convenience, and comfort of Poipu Crater #20 will keep us coming back as often as we can.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OhenryII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We have leased villa 27 through Parrish properties. The online booking process was easy, Emails answered quickly, PayPal available to make payment. Very reasonable rate of $165/night. We booked the place anticipating a short drive to everything, so no surprises there. It is not a brand new property, but it is well maintained and clean. Beds are comfortable, would benefit from new pillows, but we are fussy about our pillows!. Everything works, parking right out front. It is so quiet down in the crater, no crowing roosters!!, no traffic noise, it is lovely. It is winter, so not super hot anyway but there is a noticeable breeze in the afternoon. There is no air con, but ceiling fans all work in this villa, but with windows open we haven't needed them anyway. Most disappointing thing is the pool is freezing!, no idea why it is in sun all day. But poipu beach is beautiful so who bothers with a pool anyway. Overall, we would stay again, it's pretty good value.

Room Tip: Villas 25 to 29 all in afternoon shade in the crater, given no air con, definitely my future choice
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iluv2travelSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We went to Kauai to celebrate my birthday and our 25th anniversary. This resort seemed like a great place for us to stay since I wanted to be close to the beach but not hear the pounding surf. It was definitely peaceful and quiet except for the early morning when the birds went into full song. I especially liked the privacy. It is a small resort so few people were driving in and out of the parking lot, making noise or peeking in the windows.

We stayed in unit #12 which I loved because it was bright and cheerful with lovely pictures on the walls and comfortable furniture. The upstairs bed was excessively hard for my taste so we had to move downstairs to the twin beds, which were a bit better. For this reason I might not stay in this unit again unless they up-date the beds. However, if you like a firm mattress then this might be just the place for you. The move downstairs turned out to be a blessing in disguise since I came down with severe positional vertigo in the middle of the night. We were glad that there was a parking space reserved for us in front of the condominium and my husband was able to help me into the car quickly to drive me to the one hospital on the island. When we got back to the villa, I had to rest for a couple of days because of the medicine. My husband had a relaxing time sitting out on the lanai which is shaded nicely by greenery and extremely private.

We were disappointed that there was not a Scrabble game available or tennis rackets, etc. There was no one in the clubhouse to help us with anything and no yoga classes or any of the other scheduled activities mentioned in the guidebooks. I was looking forward to trying the sauna but since the two saunas were located in the restrooms, my husband could not go in with me unless he entered the women's room. We were lucky that the weather was nice and these deficits were not a problem since most of our week was spent sightseeing.

Our property was managed by Poipu Vacation Rentals and the whole arrangement was made over the internet in a very professional manner. There was a mix-up with housekeeping before we got there and the unit was not properly cleaned. We called the management and the housekeeper was apologetic, came in the next day, and did a great job cleaning. There were a few maintenance issues as well but the manager assured us that a handy-man would come in after we left to take care of them. The manager insisted on refunding our cleaning deposit due to the inconvenience. He was extremely gracious and let us stay into the evening on our departure night without charging us extra since our plane did not leave until almost midnight. I would highly recommend renting through Poipu Vacation Rentals since it is a small firm and the owner has a condominium at Poipu Crater. It really helps that he has pictures of the various villas posted on his website and is familar with the properties he manages.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SHADOWSPRITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

My husband, brother-in-law and I stayed in unit #23. This unit needs some serious refreshing. The fan in the living room sparked and stopped working on the first day. There are bars preventing you form opening the living room vented windows. Carpets need cleaning, kitchen and master bath need updating bad. This unit gets direct sun exposure all day, and with the skylights this place is a sauna! We met the owner of unit #26 across the resort and he let us check out his condo. It is shaded all day and was cool in the hottest part of the day, with no fans of air conditioning needed. He also has completely renovated the whole unit. Being the same price, this is the unit to stay at! The pool was the highlight of our stay. We had the pool all to ourselves the whole time! It is very private and secluded down in the crater. Tons of tropical flowers, and beautiful birds. We would stay a the Poipu crater resort again, but in unit #26.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DISCOKITTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews