We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Love this property - best beach around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love this property - best beach around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for Spring break with our two 12 year old kids. This property is just wonderful - sprawling yards, gardens, and walkways to meander, and beautifully kept. It's a hop across the street to great shopping, little restaurants, Starbucks, and a very sweet Hawaiian show twice a week put on by a local dance company of young girls and they were good! We have been to this property twice now, and plan to stay there every time we visit Kauai. Everything from the room service, to the front office folks was top notch. We stayed in the very back row of condos right on the parking lot and near the office, but the condo was beautifully appointed with granite kitchen and newer furniture - no complaints. The only complaint we could issue about this property is that we bought the surfing lessons from the front office "sales presentation - an Expedia thing it turns out", and we could have saved a bunch by buying the surfing lessons from the guy down by the beach where you get your beach chairs - go to him - you get a deal that way. LOVE this property! And apparently we went just in time as they said it had been sopping rain every week prior to our visit. The week we went it was absolutely gorgeous weather. We had rain 3 times, but twice it lasted about 30 seconds and then was gone. One time was when we were at the Poipu Beach Park and it rained for just about 2 minutes, but so hard that we were all laughing out loud as there was no where to hide. GREAT place to stay!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, stay in a building a little closer to the beach....but if you don't care...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinamomto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you four such a nice review. Outrigger Kiahuna is the perfect spot for a family vacation. Hope you are able to return soon.
Malama Pono,
Chris A Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    608
    191
    108
    51
See reviews for
548
792
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
REhetobel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed 5 days in unit 304 ground level and had everything we needed. The Condo is affordable with a postcard beach and restaurants in foot distance. It is a calm enviroment with a beautyful orchid and cactus garden. The beach is safe and good for snorkeling. We liked the coast walk to Gillin beach and the gorgeous golf course. the owner sent us a basket of Hawaiian specialitys we appriciated very much.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VreKurRehetobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you so much for your recent stay.

We hope that you come back soon!

Mahalo,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband had booked a travelocity pkg. for our family of 3 for < $3K for a week's stay, airfare & car rental. At first, I had read most of the reviews of Kiahuna & was only concerned w/ the windows & security. I couldn't visualize the type of shutters described. I emailed the main website & received no response, which made me skeptical of the property. When we arrived, our unit (bldg. 10, #55) was towards the east side of the property (garden view), across from the laundry facility. ($2.50/each to wash & dry. A vending machine w/ soap is available too.) Great for me as I know some other guests had to drive from the east side to do their laundry. Our unit was on the 2nd floor - no elevators, but we had carry-on, so not a big deal. All the windows had a screen & there is a hand crank that will open the "slats" for ventilation. We kept the ceiling fans on all the time & it wasn't terribly warm during our stay. All employees we encountered were very friendly & professional, & I saw their security officers on patrol during our stay, so I was very comfortable safety wise.

The pool is across the street & wasn't clearly marked. My husband & son went the 1st day & commented the water was really cold. They ended up going to Poipu Beach & the beach also just past the Waiohai Marriott, which was literally next door to the west side entrance. Our unit also had beach chairs, a boogie board & a few pairs of snorkel masks, in addition to a styrofoam cooler. Very thoughtful & much appreciated by our family. The noise wasn't as bad as it had been when we stayed at Waiohai Marriott in 2010 w/ the roosters. At Kiahuna, your neighbors will definitely wake you up in the mornings (ours did around 7 am each day) w/ general conversations, but I'm sure we sounded the same to them. If noise is really a concern for you, bring earplugs. If you keep all the shutters in your room & the sliding door closed, the room remains fairly dark. We will definitely be back in the future.

On a side note, hit WalMart in Lihue when you arrive. We picked up stuff for meals to minimize costs. We bought a bag of ice, but our unit had an ice maker. Make sure to bring your own shopping bags as almost all merchants will charge 10 cents/bag.

Room Tip: At C/O, when my husband asked if there were more affordable rates, the agent suggested the vrbo webs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbie8784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your recent visit, and your kind review. I am pleased that you enjoyed yourself.

Just a small correction - unit #55 is not a Garden View. It is a Garden Paradise. This is a great category for folks to book as it does not have the premium price of an ocean vew or beach front, yet is located in the center of the property with a wonderful view of our Great Lawn.

Please do come back soon!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We just returned from our 11 day stay at Kiahuna Plantation. We had stayed here previously and thought it was so great we didn't even look at other places to stay. It is very affordable, the grounds are gorgeous, the beach is nice, safe, swimmable, and has a sandy beach (as opposed to lava rock beaches). They honored our request of an upstairs end unit. We like the end unit because you get all the great breezes wafting through your condo-no need for air conditioning. These units (I think) are all individually owned, so they each have their own personality. In our unit, we appreciated the beach umbrella, beach mats and fins!! The full kitchen is great as a pleasant money saver-what could be better than eating breakfast on your own balconey, amid the huge trees full of birds in the morning sunshine??!! The people employed there are very nice and helpful-even with figuring out the wi-fi sign on with my Kindle!! One of the best meals we had during our stay was at the Plantation Restaurant right on the grounds of the resort. One little perk we liked also was getting the local newspaper at our door every morning. It was nice to see what was going on in the local world; i.e. tips on concerts, farmer's markets, very home towney :).
we would stay here again!

Room Tip: I would opt for a unit away from the road, last time we stayed and this time, in a unit close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnieU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you so much for your visit! Nice to see that you are one of our many loyal returnees.

I have passed your comments about our staff on to them. Thank you for apprecaiting thier efforts on your behalf.

You are correct - when you book through Castle you do indeed get our local newspaper delivered to your door for free, and of course, Castle does feature WiFi in all of our unitis - two things that Outrigger does not.

Feel free to call me for assistance in setting up your next trip.

Mahalo,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Outrigger plantation on Poipu Beach is one of the older resorts and in all cases you are renting a privately owned unit with management serving as the broker while maintaining and providing hotel-esque services. In our case we had a bungalow backed out onto a large green space that ran right down to the beach.

Our unit, as with many if not all, had a decent kitchenette and on day one we loaded up at the island Costco. As eating out was fairly pricey we were able to mitigate some of that cost by making a lot of our own breakfasts, lunches and snacks. The plantation has a series of fairly well-maintained BBQ areas. With our group of friends (we were there for a wedding) we took advantage of this amenity and enjoyed a number of BBQ's on the resort's compound. We would recommend loading up on snacks at the very least as there is no room service or snack bars.

The grounds are beautiful, with lots of palms, lush green trees and bushes, most with colourful flowers in bloom (we were there in August). The grass is maintained daily and looked and felt like a golf green. The kids had no issues running around in their bare feet. The beach was top notch. Classic white sand, not too crowded and waves that were big enough to have some fun with and surf (if that's your bag) but not so big that we were afraid to take the kids in.

There seemed to be a lot of families there, which worked well for us but perhaps not for those looking for a quiet adults only get-a-way. The rooms are comfortable, well maintained, but older. Comparing rooms with others in our group it was clear that the owners are responsible for outfitting the units as there was very little consistency in how they were outfitted. This wasn't an issue, but understand that you could find yourself in a fairly contemporary unit, or one that's a little more dated. It's a bit of a crap shoot.

The general location is awesome for those looking for the genuine 'tropical island' experience. Kauai is small and it seems to have just the right balance of development (ensuring most decent creature comforts one would want on vacation) versus being quaint and quiet. We rented a car for the week and would highly recommend that anyone staying for a week or so do the same. One need not go too far to explore the beauty of the island, but a car does help, particularly to go explore the cool little towns.

The Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation is a beautiful vacation property experience and we will likely look to spend some time there again. It is a little misleading to refer to itself as a resort as it does lack many of the services one would associate with one. No room service, no fitness centre, etc. The pool was a bit of a hike, across the road and onto a separate property with whom they must have an arrangement in place. But these are all nit-picky things and at the end of the day we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwalker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Mahalo for taking the time to write a thorough review. We are proud of our grounds and are glad you enjoyed them.
Warest Aloha,
Chris A Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Property: Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,618 - ₹ 30,493
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Poipu, Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing