We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We have stayed here a few times! It is a great place for families! It is like old school Hawaii. Beautiful grounds, quiet, peaceful! We loved the on site restaurant in the original plantation home.

Room Tip: We like the ground floor rooms that open onto the grass!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scfpasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Dear scfpasadena,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.
Aloha,
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,750)
There are newer reviews for Kiahuna Plantation Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,044 - 1,048 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

We just spent 11 days in unit 133, a lovely ground floor partial ocean view one bedroom. Noise wasn't an issue, Went to bed at about 10 and got up no earlier than 8 without any problems. Liked the ground floor as we could manipulate the lounge chairs so we could catch the sun or shade (although not much shade in mid day), on the second floor you'd be limited by the railings. Just a one minute walk to the beach where picked up chairs and towels and could sit in the sun or shade. Went to the pool a couple of times and while it is a 2 minute walk away, was never busy at all. Staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable and well equipped. We cooked most meals in the room after eating out almost every day we were in Mauai. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brock T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Dear Brock T,
Thank you for your kind review. We hope you are able to return to Outrigger Kiahuna in the near future.
Mahalo,
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This place was good, we went to a wedding there. It's a nice remote location, lots of nice plants and grass and a nice beach right there. the only thing is the condo we were in, needs to be updated and cleaned a little better, hard to do because it is on the older side. We were in some of the other models and they were updated they were very nice. You should rent a vehicle, when i looked on line it sounded like everything was walking distance, not really true. If you like walking lots, there are a few stores walking distance, but if you want to see anything else, not that easy to catch a cab, as they are 20 to 30 minutes away in Lihue. So overall it was good. Another thing is the rooster run wild there, every where, so they crow all night long!!

Room Tip: Ask for an updated model, maybe closer to the beach. I think closer to the beach you don't hear...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vh0wery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Dear vhowery,
Thank you for your review. We try to encourage our owners to update their units. If you have any specific comments regarding the unit, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
The roosters can be a little loud but that is part of he charm of Kauai. We do recommend a renting a car so you can see all the beautiful places the island has to offer.
Malama Pono,
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Great location,quiet, tasteful, clean, roomy And the people who worked there were so helpful and always nice. Very private and the plant life is so pretty and serves as a buffer between rooms. Rooms are reasonable and have full kitchen Justin case you would like to cook. No air conditioning but worked out as it is never too hot in Kauai. Open shutters let the breeze come through....just great!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliffie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

I am so pleased that our staff were helpful and pleasant! We take pride on our aloha spirit and it is great to see that it is recognized.

Please come back and see us again soon!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We rented unit #181 directly from the owner via VRBO.com. It is on the ground floor, a corner unit, and with a great ocean view across 20 yards of green lawn. There are over 40 buildings with multiple units in each building. Some are adjacent to the lawn and have ocean views. Others are much closer to the road and parking lots and would not be as pleasant.
Our unit was very nicely decorated and updated. The units don't have air conditioning but have floor to ceiling shuttered windows which let the great ocean breezes flow through and fans in the living room and bedroom. We were very comfortable because we had a direct path between the ocean and our unit. I am not sure other units would get as much breeze.
Our unit has a very comfortable king bed as well as a queen pull-out sofa. The bathroom is just updated and is beautiful. A full kitchen with lots of nice extras made it easy for us to occasionally eat in. A big outdoor barbecue on the grounds makes it possible to grill some burgers for dinner as well.
The grounds are well maintained and have many beautiful shrubs and flowers. The beach hut offers beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, snorkel equipment and beach toys for the kids. Many folks choose to sit in the shade of the palms on the grass overlooking the beach, but the sand is just great too. One end of the beach is good for snorkeling and beginner surfing while the rest of the beach is a gentle slope good for swimmers.
Poipu Shopping Center is across the street from the resort. A golf and swim club is across the street as well. This is a great area for families. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you rent directly from the owner check the location of the room on a map to avoid those that are...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freyagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Aloha,
Thank you for your review. Please keep in mind that Outrigger offers some great deals. Please contact us directly for your next stay at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation.
Malama Pono,
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,331 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: ₹ 11,912 - ₹ 30,262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Poipu, Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing