We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place.”
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston at Poipu Kai
Ranked #11 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Belthel, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We were in room 301. My parents (both 70), wife and two boys (Almost 2 and 5) were in a two bedroom garden view condo. They provided a crib for our younger son. They put in a new refrigerator the day we got there. The place was nice. Free internet, flat screen TV, a short walk to two pools (one with a hot tube), 5min walk to two beaches (one was great for body boarding and the other was great for snorkleing) a sea turtle came up onto the beach one day while we were there. Don't expect a five star hotel but it is a nice afordable place to spend some time close to the beach, and be able to make your own food in the condo's kitchen or use one of the many gas grills on the property.

Room Tip: Look on trip advisor to see what rooms poeple liked and request one of those rooms. That is what I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellyliming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    105
    32
    18
    25
See reviews for
117
87
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We have been to Kauai many times & prefer staying in condos since hotel/restaurant dining can be expensive! The BAD NEWS: Condo is not on the beach, but close enough to drive or walk...lots of road work between Lihue & Poipu at this time, so expect to crawl along that corridor especially rush hour. THE GOOD NEWS: The two of us were upgraded to a 2-bdrm condo, one of several managed by Aston in the area - appeared to be recently renovated, quiet mountain-view unit, well-stocked kitchen, spacious living/dining area & bathrooms (wish we had 6 more people with us)...no minimum nights stay, so we were there for 2....Stopped at a supermarket by the airport & got a few goodies...checked in by friendly staff, got 2 free movies from kiosk in the main office, stuck them in our complimentary reusable shopping bag (plastic bags are banned in on the island..Yay!)...Maids changed the towels, emptied the trash & tidied up a bit...Checked out the nearby Kukuiula Shopping Center's boutiques & their Wednesday farmer's market with farm- fresh produce & local food vendors (try the heavenly Hawaiian-kine pies!) Great place to relax, & we'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had Makanui Unit #421, no elevators to 2nd floor, but it was quiet & had a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kahiau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Our condo was in excellent condition and a 5 minute walk to the ocean. everything was included as far as for cooking, stove ,microwave,refrigerator all in working order as well as a dishwasher . We were able to drive to the local grocery store and stocked up on food as eating out gets to be very very expensive. Of course we were shocked at the prices at the grocery store. If we ever decide to go back to Kauai we would definitely stay there again. PS the beds are uncomfortable

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This was our second trip to Kauai, as well as our second staying in a condo style property. We were extremely happy with our choice at Aston Poipu Kai. From the well appointed room, meticulously kept grounds, and proximity to the beach, what's there not to like? I would recommend this property to a friend, and plan on returning there for future vacations.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room if possible,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AFetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The rooms vary significantly. Ours was by far the worst out of the group we were with. Besides not having been remodeled, the dishwasher was not bolted down and therefore was quite a hazard when loading. There was not enough dishes for cooking, the fridge was rusted, the bathroom was in a state of disrepair, and there was no daily maid service. On the other hand, our room had a loft and we could see the ocean from the lanai. If you stay here, be sure to request a remodeled room.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Baajlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malana d, General Manager at Aston at Poipu Kai, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Aloha! I am terribly sorry that your accommodations did not meet your expectations. As this is a secure site, I cannot research the exact room number you were in. I would very much like to take a personal look at this unit and be sure it is on our renovation list. I will provide you my e-mail address if you have the time malana.desilva@astonhotels.com to contact me.

We were experiencing some linen issues around Christmas which may have attributed to the limited Housekeeping. Unfortunately, our laundry service suffered a fire the week before and was having electrical issues to get back up and running.

I would hope that we may have the opportunity to host you again, in one of the many renovated condos! Aloha - Malana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
18.7 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,292 reviews
2.6 km away
Koloa Landing Resort
23.2 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 km away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
548 reviews
39.1 km away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
1.6 km away
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Poipu Kai

Property: Aston at Poipu Kai
Address: 1775 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,320 - ₹ 23,367
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Poipu Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 70 acres of Kauai's sunny south coast, this condominium resort delights guests with ocean views, tropical gardens, private pools and tennis courts. Golf, dining and shopping are all nearby. This prime location is adjacent to Brennecke's Beach, Shipwreck Beach and the "Spouting Horn" blowhole. Renovation Notice: We apologize for any inconvenience. In an on-going effort to provide exceptional services and amenities to our guests, please be informed that Poipu Kai will renovate one of its 8 pools – the Poipu Sands beginning August 14, 2017. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, the project is expected to be completed by October 31, 2017. Guests may continue to enjoy all the other pool facilities during the renovation project. Work will be limited to Monday through Friday from 9:00am to 5:00pm. The General Manager and her staff will do everything possible to ensure your guests’ comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Resortquest Poipu Kai
Aston At Poipu Kai Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing