We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koloa Landing Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Koloa Landing Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Outstanding place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

On our family's first trip to Hawaii, we found that Koloa landing was really a nearly perfect place to stay. When we arrived, we received beautiful lei's from the front desk staff and since our two-bedroom suite wasn't available on-time (and we had perishable food in the trunk), the desk staff kindly upgraded us to a three-bedroom suite that was really a wonderful experience. The suite was well-organized with a full dining room, decent-sized family/TV area, and a high-end kitchen with an island covered in marble. The kitchen appliances were top notch as advertised, other than the electric range which was probably the only drawback in the kitchen. We were greeted in the suite with a tray containing 4 flavors of macadamia nuts which was a nice touch. Our suite was near the pool and we even were able to partially see the ocean from our room. The suite was clean and in excellent condition, with large bedrooms, quality sheets/towels, and a good set of amenities. We had our own private patio decked out with lounge chairs and a table and four chairs to eat meals outside. The housekeeping service was excellent during the five days we were there and they came during times we were out. They were also very responsive when we needed additional coffee, other amenities, or things we forgot to bring. We found all of the staff to be friendly, easy to approach and generous. The grounds were also well-coiffed and there were places on the lawn for the kids to play soccer and volleyball (although with so many things to do in Kauai, they never really had time!). With the sliding doors closed, the place was really quiet and relaxing, despite the warnings about possible construction during the day. The pools were nice, but we found that the nearby Sheraton and Hyatt (where other friends were) had better ones. As noted in other reviews, the washer/dryer was a terrific perk, especially with all the trips to the beach and hikes that left our clothes wet or muddy. Finally, the spaciousness was particularly beneficial as we were able to host another family traveling with us for all of the dinners and breakfasts, which was a real treat. Overall -- two thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray-may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrin H, Manager at Koloa Landing Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Aloha ray-may!

It sounds like from our first impression at Koloa Landing to your last moment on Kauai that you had a fantastic vacation. It makes us smile to hear guests speak so highly of our property, and we appreciate the fact you took the time to review our hotel.

We're glad you enjoyed staying in our luxurious villas, and that we were able to make your stay a memorable and comfortable one. All of the extra space makes it easy to have company over for gatherings, dining occasions, or just to relax.

The next time you are able to venture to the middle of the Pacific Ocean, we hope you make Koloa Landing your playground in paradise.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Terrin Hansen
Owner Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,088
    409
    150
    43
    20
See reviews for
945
523
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at Koloa Landing in January for our honeymoon and it was awesome!!! Upon check in they upgraded our room, but I'm sure we would have loved it as much regardless. The condo was spacious, luxurious, and we never heard our neighbors (not once). The property was well maintained with a nice adult pool with a water fall. There was a second pool the families were enjoying but we preferred the other. There is a washer/dryer in a small utility room that was perfect for us and we used it often. We enjoyed the lanai - which was well furnished for lounging as well as eating out doors. We just can't wait for our next trip and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFHHI16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrin H, Manager at Koloa Landing Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Aloha Lisa F!

Congratulations on your marriage, and we're glad you stayed with us on your honeymoon! We're glad we were able to provide the two of you with a comfortable, private and luxurious place to stay.

We're glad you took advantage of the more intimate pool with a waterfall feature, and found that to be exactly what you were wanting during your stay. As you mentioned, our large lanai's are not only for lounging, but eating out, as well!

Many mahalos for taking the time to share your experience at Koloa Landing and we hope to see you again in the future.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Terrin Hansen
Owner Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Despite over 20 trips to Hawaii, this was only our second trip to Kauai and our first trip to Kauai as a family of 4 with a 7 & 10 year old. This fit the bill perfectly. Our room was right above the lagoon pool and we could watch our kids play in the pool from our balcony. They could both stand up in the pool and both swim on a competition swim team so we were ok not being right near them. They also had tons of other kids to play tag and pool basektball with and plenty of other opportunities to enjoy the sunshine. (Basketball, volleyball, 9 hole putting green, small soccer pitch). Our condo was also very spacious. Each kid got their own room and bathroom. Kitchen was nice and something you could actually cook in. Decent quality cookware and cutlery. Lower end Henkels/Wustoff type knives. (I agree with the previous reviewer about the induction cooktop. Slow to heat and randomly beeps every few minutes until completely cooled off. Annoying.) High efficiency washer & dryer for all of our sandy/grubby clothes. Wrap around lanai had several lounging areas and partial view of ocean. This partial view was the only hint we had of the beach however. And the "beach" area closest to the hotel was a rocky/rugged type of beach. Lovely to look at. Not ok for swimming. However, a condo with these amenities that is right on the beach is not an option on Kauai. Westin is up on a cliff. Kiahuna Plantation is dated and an old school pool that is not near the majority of the condos. We were tempted to stay at the Shearaton or Hyatt as they are right on the beach, but Hyatt had 3 conventions and was going to be way too crowded and we also decided that given the rains that had been drenching Kauai, we would rather wait the storms out in a new, 2000 square foot condo than a small hotel room. Staff was friendly. Room was cleaned daily. Koloa Landing was very good. If only they had a sandy beach, it would be perfect. It was just a quick drive to Poipu Beach. We were gone until 2 or 3pm each day and did not notice the construction noise. Pace of the project seems leisurely. Don't imagine they will be done any time soon.

Room Tip: We paid the construction special rate, but were upgraded even during spring break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LillyPBellevue_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrin H, Manager at Koloa Landing Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Aloha LillyPBellevue_WA!

Spring Break is an outstanding time for a trip to Hawaii, and we're glad you came back to Kauai this time! We agree that Koloa Landing is a fantastic place for families, and it's much easier to find a place to relax in a spacious villa than a hotel room.

We hear time and time again, that our villas provide plenty of space and luxury. We believe our developing property will only continue to be enhanced by our growth. We're glad you took advantage of volleyball, soccer, putting green and lagoon pool. Having those activities at your disposal make it easy as a parent to have the kids get the energy out, while providing the parent with some time to relax. Or, it's a great activity for the adults, too!

As you mentioned, while we are not situated on a beach, getting to the sand and sea is very easy. A short drive or a leisurely walk can get you to the beautiful and warm Pacific in no time.

Many mahalo's for taking the time to review our property. We want to thank you for choosing to stay with us. The next time spring break, summer vacation or a winter get-a-way call's out to you and yours, we hope you return to Kauai and Koloa Landing. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Terrin Hansen
Owner Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent eight nights here and loved it. We had an ocean-view room nearest the pool. The view was outstanding, the pool was awesome, the hot tub was really hot! Our unit was gorgeous, spacious with top notch linens and furnishings. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable when needed. Our kids loved the paddle board lessons in the pool and the mini-golf. We had plenty of towels and appreciated the washer and dryer. Our only complaint was the $50 resort fee which seemed steep, but we knew about it so at least were not surprised.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMT95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrin H, Manager at Koloa Landing Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Aloha CMT95!

Wow! Thank you for the high praise, high marks and we are glad your experience was an outstanding one at Koloa Landing.

We take pride in ensuring our guest-experience is outstanding, and one step inside our luxurious villas shows we are focused on providing a top-notch living space during your stay on Kauai. We're happy to hear you found all things to be what you wanted.

The next time you and yours want an escape to paradise (Kauai), we hope you choose to spend it with us at Koloa Landing.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Terrin Hansen
Owner Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
306 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had a 2 Bdrm ocean view...Beds are very comfortable, rooms are nice and upscale, bathrooms are spacious and modern. Kitchen is nice and well stocked (I did hate the electric stove!) Flatscreen tv in every room, nice lanai with many chairs. Staff was very nice and helpful. Housekeeping was good. Washer and dryer in the unit was very nice since we did lots of hiking and had lots of dirty clothes...downside is the dryer seemed to never fully dry clothes, so I layed them out to finish drying. Close to lots of good restaurants and shops. Overall, perfect place for a family!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrin H, Manager at Koloa Landing Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Aloha Deanna9!

Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay at Koloa Landing! We're glad you and your family enjoyed your time on Kauai. Hopefully, during all of the hiking you did, you found the Garden Isle to be beautiful and full of adventure.

We're happy to hear that you found our accommodations to be exactly what you and yours needed during your stay. We hear time and time again that our luxurious villas, paired with our perfect location on Kauai's south shore provide a perfect way to spend any vacation.

The next time you hear the beautiful hiking trails of Kauai calling your name, we hope you think of us, too. We look forward to seeing you in the future at Koloa Landing.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Terrin Hansen
Owner Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koloa Landing Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koloa Landing Resort

Property: Koloa Landing Resort
Address: 2641 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8581
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Business Hotel in Poipu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,935 - ₹ 43,595
Hotel Class:4 star — Koloa Landing Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of the most coveted locations in all of the Hawaiian Islands. Travel & Leisure Magazine ranked Kauai as the #1 Hawaiian Island Destination two years in a row. In 2010, Kauai was #1 in the US as an island destination and #2 in the world, based on the readers choice awards. The rich amenities and luxurious accommodations at the brand new Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu Beach are set among 25 acres of lush tropical oasis. The Resort is located less than a mile from the legendary Poipu Beach and boasts two beautiful resort style pools with meandering lagoons and cascading waterfalls. A paradise of natural and cultural treasures on Kauai's South Shore awaits you, at Koloa Landing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Koloa Landing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koloa Landing At Poipu Beach Hotel Poipu
Koloa Landing Resort Poipu, Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing