We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Boutique Hotel in Poipu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Boutique Hotel in Poipu”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We chose to stay here based on the TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. A small hotel (compared to the large complexes to either side), with a very attentive and helpful staff. The hotel has two wings enclosing a pool and lawn area, with access to the beach. The rooms are very well appointed and extremely comfortable.
We had a package that included breakfast at the Red Salt restaurant, and this was a great value. This included nearly everything from the breakfast menu including souffle-pancakes and eggs benedict.
The hotel has valet (required), but the cost is included in the daily resort charge (about $15/day). Overall, we found the service to be first rate with very attentive, helpful, but not intrusive staff in all areas.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a partial ocean view, which was nice, but especially nice to have a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike22315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,618
    299
    89
    29
    9
See reviews for
139
1,668
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Fe, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We decided to stay at the Koa Kea based on good reviews and we got a good deal on luxurylink. the hotel is surprisingly small. we were surprised at the "ocean view room" because technically, you'd have to crane your neck to look past your neighbors' lanai to see a tiny view of the ocean while you're on your lanai and that the true view from the room is the pool and other rooms. I wouldn't count that as "ocean view room". sensing our disappointment, the front desk girl offered us "ocean front" option. now this is MUCH better because you're technically steps from the waves, on the third floor which is their highest floor for $700+/night. the red salt restaurant is the highlight of the hotel. their food is spectacular. the staff is extremely friendly and always ready to help. would I stay here again? probably not. it was overall a nice experience but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

It was fabulous. Best most attentive service I’ve ever received at a hotel. Facility was top notch and dinners at Red Salt were wonderful.

I really liked the way that EVERYONE we ran into each day would ask what our plans were for the day and then would make helpful suggestions to enhance our experience. Not sure if this is an expected protocol or just everyone being helpful but it came across as a sincere desire to improve our experience on the island.

BTW, we had an ocean front room and we were so close to the water that I swear I could throw a rock and hit a surfer... Not that I tried :) ALSO, We had some of the best snorkling in Kauai just a 90 second walk down the beach (to the left).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Had a minor issue with the room at check-in, that was resolved by the front desk staff in a satisfactory manner. Ended up on the ground floor with a walk-out to the pool that was heaven. Rooms were comfortable. Bathroom was a good size, with a large shower. Bath products were L'Occitane, which are my absolute favorite! Staff and service was great. There were a lot of options within walking distance for meals. Beach was small, but I'm not much of a beach person, and enjoyed sitting by the pool more. Hot tub was also delightful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nowaytobegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
echo78
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Beautiful, quiet with first rate service. The staff could not have been more accommodating. The room was chic and clean. We had an ocean view and we could hear the waves as we slept. There is no beach to sit on but the grounds are just steps from the ocean and there is ocean access if you would lime to swim. The breakfast is superb especially the lemon soufle pancakes.

Room Tip: Ask about any special upgrades they may be offering
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,223 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Property: Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price range (per night): ₹ 29,473 - ₹ 37,764
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Poipu, Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing