We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most romantic anniversary spent at the Koa Kea in Maui!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most romantic anniversary spent at the Koa Kea in Maui!”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My Husband and I recently spent our Anniversary at the fabulous Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, and it turned out being the most romantic vacation for us! The Koa Kea is a small Botique Hotel, not a massive complex like most hotels in Hawaii, which was a nice change. The Resort was conveniently located next to the Mariot, on a great beach; there was alsoreally good food as well as places to shop in the area. We found the location to be a really good base for sightseeing in Kuai!

The Rooms were spacious, looked exactly as they appeared in the websites photos; its way worth it to upgrade to the ocean view!! The Staff at the Resort was wonderful, they were very frindly, and provided excellent quality service during our entire stay...really made us feel at home.

A big thanks to our travel agent Renee at Unforgettable Honeymoons, who helped us figure out exactly what to do while on the Island, they also sent us tons of maps, brochures, even some useful discount coupons (which we swore we wouldn't need at first...!)--great suggestions on where to eat and go for the day too...was like we had a personal guide with us the whole time, telling us exactly what to do while there. This was a great change from us booking online and getting no real help when we needed, and their price for the entire packge deal ended up being a little less expensive than doing it all on our own!

So of course, my Husband and I are more than pleased with how well everything had turned out for on this trip...Thanks especially to the lovely Koa Kea Resort, and for providing such amazing service and accommodations for our very special occasion...this really was a wonderful experience for our anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank smariekell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,664
    309
    90
    29
    9
See reviews for
145
1,708
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is our 3rd visit to Koa Kea, we really like this place. Everyone there does their very best to see that your visit is memorable. I feel the staff make the stay the very best. Food is outstanding
service is A+. We have visited there in November, September and May. This year the lychees were abundant which is a plus for me. Allerton garden was wonderful at this time of the year
(May) The staff will make all reservations for you which is a service appreciated. We are planning on another trip this year we always come home so relaxed, absolutely no stress while there they take care of everything they can.

Room Tip: We have always stayed at the same room, but I feel most of the rooms have excellent views, the one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennisladyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I have to admit, I had really really hyped this place up in my head after reading may reviews on here in the months before our honeymoon. I have to say...it lived up to and exceeded all my expectations!!! This place is amazing. Beautiful grounds, comfortable, clean rooms, amazingly kind and helpful staff. It is a quiet and peaceful little resort-the perfect place to relax. If you are looking for a big Vegas like/party hotel, this is not your place (The Grand Hyatt is) I debated if it would be worth the price tag, and it was. My husband and I are very active and they helped us set up tours, always had the car ready when we were headed out, and even packed us a breakfast at 5:30am one day on our way to an early boat tour.

The breakfast plan is a good deal if you can get it. The only complaint I would have, and it is a stretch was dinner at Red Salt...I would only consider it good...not excellent like I would have expected.

If you are considering Koa Kea over other places in Poipu, I would highly highly recommend it. Can't wait to get back there myself.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a partial ocean view room since it was our honeymoon and it was available. Look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azsarah80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Koa Kea in early May for the second half of our honeymoon. We spent the first half of our time on the island at the St. Regis in Princeville.

I must say, that after reading all of the reviews, I anticipated that as a couple in our early 20s, we would be treated poorly at the St. Regis but not at the Koa Kea. In fact, we decided to spend more time on the south shore because the reviews were so much better!

I was very wrong and it was very disappointing.

We arrived at the hotel at check in time and were lead to our "ocean view" room, which we paid the premium rate to have. This room was in the building furthest from the ocean and the view was blocked by the poolside bar. Definitely not a room that you would pay what we were paying to have and not what you expect when traveling on your honeymoon.

We discussed this situation with the front desk and were told that the only way we could have a better room was to pay an additional $200 per night. Once we talked to a manager, she found us a better room, but no one was remotely apologetic or sincere about helping us.

The service was fine at the Koa Kea, but not what you would expect for a hotel being compared with the St. Regis. We were not given toiletries on two occasions and only received turndown service one of the four nights we were there. We ate dinner at Red Salt and our waiter only spoke to us to take our order and bring us the bill, but we could see him obviously schmoozing older couples around us. We desperately wanted to have the same experience other reviewers had, it just didn't seem to be in the cards this trip.

The Koa Kea is in a great location on the south shore, right near Poipu Beach Park and the Poipu Shopping Village. The rooms are nice and I loved the L'Occitane bath products. Also, we had the package that included breakfast and the $50 resort credit, which was amazing. The breakfast was exceptional, it included an entree and the continental bar. The $50 daily credit was cumulative, so you could use it a little at a time or all at once and it was good for room service, drinks, things from the gift shop, pretty much everything they offer!

I visit Kauai fairly often and usually split time between the north and south shores to limit drive time around the island. I definitely know where we'll be staying on the north shore, but after our stay at the Koa Kea, we are still on the hunt for somewhere wonderful on the south shore.

Room Tip: Definitely spring for the ocean view, as long as it's in one of the buildings close to the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Savannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This was the most perfect location for our wedding. We stayed at the Koa Kea for five nights and on the fifth night we were upgraded as a wedding present, and the view was just amazing! The hotel is spotless, the staff were helpful and kind and knowledgeable about the food served in the Red Salt restaurant. We didn't have our ceremony there, we went to the beach for that, but came back for a meal and it was the best food I think we have ever had! Just perfect!

We would highly recommend this hotel, it is perfect for couples and honeymooners. Very few children around, and plenty to see by way of beautiful scenery. Just amazing!

Room Tip: Go for the most expensive room you can afford, the view will be worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Property: Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Green Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price range (per night): ₹ 28,798 - ₹ 39,363
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Poipu, Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing