We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with a great location and not a lot of hustle-bustle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with a great location and not a lot of hustle-bustle”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I agree with other reviewers that the Ko'a Kea is a lovely boutique hotel that allows its guests to escape the noise of larger resorts. The service is excellent (especially the valet staff, which matters because there is no self-parking), as is the location - walking distance to the Poipu Shopping Center in one direction and a spectacular beach hike in the other. In terms of the food, we only ate breakfast at the hotel, which was top-notch, and we particularly appreciated that the prices were reasonable. Finally, my spa treatment also was very high quality. While the spa doesn't have the amenities of larger facilities like the spa at the nearby Grand Hyatt, the lack of hordes of people made the experience far more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ontheroadoften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,651
    304
    90
    29
    9
See reviews for
145
1,696
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philomath, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I wouldn't change a thing about this resort. We enjoyed every minute of our week-long trip. Our oceanfront balcony room was spotless, quiet, ultra-comfortable and it offered matchless ocean views - amazing sunsets! The entire property is beautiful, but it's their people who really make the place shine. Everybody made us feel genuinely welcome. We didn't want to leave. We chose the perfect place to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We're already juggling our schedules to see if we can return to Koa Kea later this year.

Room Tip: Our second-floor oceanfront room was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PhilomathTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ankeny
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Although we did not stay at the hotel, we did make an appointment in the spa on a rainy day. I scheduled a massage and a facial and both were about the best I had anywhere. The facial was done by a replant from New York City and she was wonderful. I was glad it was a rainy day as I was able to go back to the condo and really relax while listening to the ocean waves.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelprone67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a smaller boutique hotel without the rush and noise of the much larger resorts look no further. Koa Kea is truly a customer service oriented resort. The staff is fantastic. The resort grounds, as expected are smaller, but just as beautiful. There is a small beach directly behind the resort. However, a much larger area is just around the corner. Do not forgo Red Salt. The food is great and the staff is very friendly. The next time I visit Kauai I will be sure to drop in at the Koa Kea!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank cupharmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is a great place to stay! Our room was perfectly appointed, the staff was friendly, and the location was great. There were only two drawbacks during our stay. The first being there was no music by the pool, and the second being the outside bar closed about sunset. Other than that, a great adult getaway!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Live2Travel222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Property: Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price range (per night): ₹ 29,178 - ₹ 42,828
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Poipu, Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing