We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a smaller boutique hotel without the rush and noise of the much larger resorts look no further. Koa Kea is truly a customer service oriented resort. The staff is fantastic. The resort grounds, as expected are smaller, but just as beautiful. There is a small beach directly behind the resort. However, a much larger area is just around the corner. Do not forgo Red Salt. The food is great and the staff is very friendly. The next time I visit Kauai I will be sure to drop in at the Koa Kea!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank cupharmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    287
    86
    29
    8
See reviews for
130
1,599
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is a great place to stay! Our room was perfectly appointed, the staff was friendly, and the location was great. There were only two drawbacks during our stay. The first being there was no music by the pool, and the second being the outside bar closed about sunset. Other than that, a great adult getaway!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Live2Travel222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatsworth, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have nothing but great memories from this hotel. The service was top-notch, starting with the very personal way we were greeted upon arrival and escorted to check-in. Instead of just being handed your keycard, we were escorted to our room where staff made sure everything was to our satisfaction. Our room was quite comfortable, had a nice sized bathroom, and had little extras like a really nice coffeemaker, individual bedside reading lights (in addition to the normal table lamps), and nightly housekeeping and turn-down service (where they would thoughtfully leave a bottle of water for the night). Breakfast at Red Salt restaurant was included in our rate, and the food and service there were terrific (really good french toast). Try to get a rate that includes breakfast, as at $25 it might otherwise seem pricey. The saltwater pool never seemed crowded, and there was never a problem getting a chaise with umbrella. The hotel has an oceanfront location, but its beachfront is all rocks - beaches are walking distance either to the left or right. If you're looking for a smaller, quieter upscale resort on Kauai, this hotel should be among those considered.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank agcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed here because we wanted to avoid the gigantic resorts in Hawaii.
It was supposed to be boutique hotel but is not, it is just a smaller hotel than the rest in the island of Kauai.
It is not on the beach, you have to go to the one by the Marriott or cross some rocks to access a bay where you can not go with a stroller.
We got a very good package, breakfast (delicious) and 50 dollars credit everyday for food and drinks. We also had a good dinner there one night.
The garden room had a nice lanai at the back and it was comfortable but small. The beds looked lovely but the mattress were too soft for our taste and we did not sleep very well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lizard7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I don't have much to add that hasn't already been said. This place is great. It's small and quiet and beautiful. The staff is incredible. Everyone we met was so friendly and accomodated every request we came up with with a smile on their face. I made up my own breakfast entree one morning and they didn't even give me an odd look when I asked if they could make it. Make it they did, and it was good.

What I appreciated most was how tranquil the property was. There's no beach directly in front of the hotel, and you have to walk a short distance down the beach walk to get to the beaches on either side. I think that's what keeps this place so quiet. There were a couple of families with children there during our stay, but most of the guests were adults. The fun and crowds are easily accessible on either side of Koa Kea, but Koa Kea itself was a little oasis of peace.

I saw another reviewer mention that they weren't sure you could see the ocean from the ocean view rooms, but we could certainly see it from ours. The rooms could use a little more drawer storage space, but we made do. We didn't have any trouble with noise from the other guests during our stay.

We ate at Red Salt every day for breakfast, and had dinner there twice. It was really good. The Wagyu burger we had in the lounge one night was really excellent. Even if you don't stay at Koa Kea, the restaurant is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ocean view and ocean front are worth the extra cost. There's a lot of fun people watching to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2FlyingYorkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Property: Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price range (per night): ₹ 31,058 - ₹ 40,526
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Poipu, Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing