We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good hotel, nothing special”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed here because we wanted to avoid the gigantic resorts in Hawaii.
It was supposed to be boutique hotel but is not, it is just a smaller hotel than the rest in the island of Kauai.
It is not on the beach, you have to go to the one by the Marriott or cross some rocks to access a bay where you can not go with a stroller.
We got a very good package, breakfast (delicious) and 50 dollars credit everyday for food and drinks. We also had a good dinner there one night.
The garden room had a nice lanai at the back and it was comfortable but small. The beds looked lovely but the mattress were too soft for our taste and we did not sleep very well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lizard7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,635
    301
    90
    29
    9
See reviews for
142
1,683
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I don't have much to add that hasn't already been said. This place is great. It's small and quiet and beautiful. The staff is incredible. Everyone we met was so friendly and accomodated every request we came up with with a smile on their face. I made up my own breakfast entree one morning and they didn't even give me an odd look when I asked if they could make it. Make it they did, and it was good.

What I appreciated most was how tranquil the property was. There's no beach directly in front of the hotel, and you have to walk a short distance down the beach walk to get to the beaches on either side. I think that's what keeps this place so quiet. There were a couple of families with children there during our stay, but most of the guests were adults. The fun and crowds are easily accessible on either side of Koa Kea, but Koa Kea itself was a little oasis of peace.

I saw another reviewer mention that they weren't sure you could see the ocean from the ocean view rooms, but we could certainly see it from ours. The rooms could use a little more drawer storage space, but we made do. We didn't have any trouble with noise from the other guests during our stay.

We ate at Red Salt every day for breakfast, and had dinner there twice. It was really good. The Wagyu burger we had in the lounge one night was really excellent. Even if you don't stay at Koa Kea, the restaurant is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ocean view and ocean front are worth the extra cost. There's a lot of fun people watching to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2FlyingYorkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My wife and I got married at the St. Regis Princeville and decided to check out Poi Pu for a "mini-moon". We made reservations at the Koa Kea because it was recommended by a friend that stayed there the year before. This hotel has a great boutique feel... it's a bit more modern than other properties in Kauai. For those looking for a more "adult" hotel, this one is the ticket as it's mostly couples. The property has a nice pool and overlooks the Ocean. You can walk to other resort properties that are situated on the beach, however there's no real reason given how nice Koa Kea is. Red Salt is probably one of the best restaurants in Poi Pu and the Spa here is great!

However, the biggest attraction to the property is the staff. Everyone is super friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely come again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had an amazing time on our honeymoon in Kauai- thanks to the Koa Kea. From the moment we checked in and were greeted by Alan, who was incredibly helpful throughout our stay, to the moment we checked out, this hotel goes above and beyond. The rooms are beautiful, all have private lanais, the beds are so comfortable you may never want to get out, the bathrooms are huge and the l'occitane amenities are a great touch! The rooms are cleaned impeccably. This hotel is so peaceful and quiet that it made for the perfect honeymoon. There were many times when we were the only two in the pool. Alan at the front desk made an itinerary for us when we set out to drive north for the day. He even included a list of restaurants we might like. He also provided us with directions to each site we wanted to see along the way. The entire hotel staff was amazing. Stay here and you will find the meaning of aloha spirit! every single member of the hotel staff was so friendly and helpful. Our best meal on the island was at the hotel's Red Salt restaurant.Mahalo to the entire koa kea staff for making our honeymoon experience unforgettable! A huge thank you to Alan. We cannot wait to go back here:)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank honeymooners0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Actually 4.5 stars. Why? Walls too thin. If you have a neighbor that talks loudly on the phone .. You may be able to carry a conversation with her.. And find out when she and her boy toy are doing the thang! Ugh.. Just too bad the walls aren't thick enough..

Nevertheless, Koa kea staff made our stay.. Yes the hotel and location and all is beautiful and breath taking.. But the staff made us feel very Ohana. From the boys at the valet remembering our last name without our ticket.. Servers at breakfast remembering how I take my tea.. Front desk very helpful and the bar and pool staff very friendly. Housekeepers superb. We stayed 4 days.

I hope the hotel management recognizes their staff.. It isn't just about the hotel being modern and clean.. It is also the spirit of the staff that makes it wonderful.
Mahalo koa kea. Thank you for a great vacation. Yes we will return. Yes we will highly recommend.

Sign up for iPrefer and get great deals.. We truly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Join iPrefer to find better deals on this resort. Even the partial view room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tiglao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Property: Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price range (per night): ₹ 29,146 - ₹ 45,948
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Poipu, Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing