We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,284)
Filter reviews
2,284 results
Traveller rating
1,796
345
98
35
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,796
345
98
35
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred saltsmall hotelour honeymoonnespresso machinepool barocean frontcontinental buffetpoipu beachsushi chefbreakfast packagemega resortsvalet guysturn down servicemacadamia nutsrain showerpartial ocean viewlawn area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,533 - 1,538 of 2,284 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I don't have much to add that hasn't already been said. This place is great. It's small and quiet and beautiful. The staff is incredible. Everyone we met was so friendly and accomodated every request we came up with with a smile on their face. I made up my own breakfast entree one morning and they didn't even give me an odd look when I asked if they could make it. Make it they did, and it was good.

What I appreciated most was how tranquil the property was. There's no beach directly in front of the hotel, and you have to walk a short distance down the beach walk to get to the beaches on either side. I think that's what keeps this place so quiet. There were a couple of families with children there during our stay, but most of the guests were adults. The fun and crowds are easily accessible on either side of Koa Kea, but Koa Kea itself was a little oasis of peace.

I saw another reviewer mention that they weren't sure you could see the ocean from the ocean view rooms, but we could certainly see it from ours. The rooms could use a little more drawer storage space, but we made do. We didn't have any trouble with noise from the other guests during our stay.

We ate at Red Salt every day for breakfast, and had dinner there twice. It was really good. The Wagyu burger we had in the lounge one night was really excellent. Even if you don't stay at Koa Kea, the restaurant is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ocean view and ocean front are worth the extra cost. There's a lot of fun people watching to do here.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2FlyingYorkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My wife and I got married at the St. Regis Princeville and decided to check out Poi Pu for a "mini-moon". We made reservations at the Koa Kea because it was recommended by a friend that stayed there the year before. This hotel has a great boutique feel... it's a bit more modern than other properties in Kauai. For those looking for a more "adult" hotel, this one is the ticket as it's mostly couples. The property has a nice pool and overlooks the Ocean. You can walk to other resort properties that are situated on the beach, however there's no real reason given how nice Koa Kea is. Red Salt is probably one of the best restaurants in Poi Pu and the Spa here is great!

However, the biggest attraction to the property is the staff. Everyone is super friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had an amazing time on our honeymoon in Kauai- thanks to the Koa Kea. From the moment we checked in and were greeted by Alan, who was incredibly helpful throughout our stay, to the moment we checked out, this hotel goes above and beyond. The rooms are beautiful, all have private lanais, the beds are so comfortable you may never want to get out, the bathrooms are huge and the l'occitane amenities are a great touch! The rooms are cleaned impeccably. This hotel is so peaceful and quiet that it made for the perfect honeymoon. There were many times when we were the only two in the pool. Alan at the front desk made an itinerary for us when we set out to drive north for the day. He even included a list of restaurants we might like. He also provided us with directions to each site we wanted to see along the way. The entire hotel staff was amazing. Stay here and you will find the meaning of aloha spirit! every single member of the hotel staff was so friendly and helpful. Our best meal on the island was at the hotel's Red Salt restaurant.Mahalo to the entire koa kea staff for making our honeymoon experience unforgettable! A huge thank you to Alan. We cannot wait to go back here:)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank honeymooners0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Actually 4.5 stars. Why? Walls too thin. If you have a neighbor that talks loudly on the phone .. You may be able to carry a conversation with her.. And find out when she and her boy toy are doing the thang! Ugh.. Just too bad the walls aren't thick enough..

Nevertheless, Koa kea staff made our stay.. Yes the hotel and location and all is beautiful and breath taking.. But the staff made us feel very Ohana. From the boys at the valet remembering our last name without our ticket.. Servers at breakfast remembering how I take my tea.. Front desk very helpful and the bar and pool staff very friendly. Housekeepers superb. We stayed 4 days.

I hope the hotel management recognizes their staff.. It isn't just about the hotel being modern and clean.. It is also the spirit of the staff that makes it wonderful.
Mahalo koa kea. Thank you for a great vacation. Yes we will return. Yes we will highly recommend.

Sign up for iPrefer and get great deals.. We truly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Join iPrefer to find better deals on this resort. Even the partial view room is great.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tiglao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

If you want to be pampered while staying at a hotel where your every needs are met, then this is the resort for you! I LOVED our room that overlooked the ocean that was so close you could see the surfers catching waves. The room was very comfortable and had all the amenities you could ever desire, from high quality toiletries to expresso you can make fresh in your room. The staff truly embrace the Aloha Spirit and make you feel at home. Red Salt restaurant is The Best...I would eat here even if I were not staying at the hotel. The food is incredible and the servers are on top of their game!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Poipu Beach. We were on the top floor and it was incredible!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CynMasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews