We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Castle Kaha Lani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Kaha Lani
Kennan, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I was a little worried when I read some other reviews but was very happy with what I found when we arrived. My husband and I spent six nights at Kaha Lani. We were in unit 113. It's off the main road and isolated from any other hotels/condos which I liked. It provided a fabulous view of the ocean and a great breeze coming in through the patio doors. It was advertised as a 1 bedroom/1 bath unit but in fact it had 1½ baths which was great. We were very comfortable there. It was clean, very charmingly decorated. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, pots, pans and utensils. It had a toaster, coffee maker, microwave, dishwasher, garbage disposal. I appreciated that the complex provided a garbage can for recyclables and changed the towels only every four days in an effort to be more green. You could request additional towels if you wanted. There is onsite laundry for $1.50 to wash a load and also $1.50 to dry. The pool was really nice and they provided pool towels. The grounds were beautifully landscaped. There is a sidewalk between the complex and the beach for walking along the beach. I think it was about 4 miles now but will be about 8 miles when completed. You can also walk for miles on the beach if the tide isn't too high. Kaha Lani provides a discount card for Foodland and also a one time card for 10% off. We did almost all of our shopping the day we arrived so saved quite a bit. It's so nice to be able to cook some of your meals as it is pretty expensive to eat out there. They also provided discount coupons for a couple of nearby restaurants. It is pretty centrally located to be able to see all the sites on the island. There were only a couple of things I did not like. It smelled a little damp and musty in the kitchen and bathrooms when we got there. Maybe because it's so near the ocean or had been closed up for a while??? Since we were on the ground floor everyone walking by could look right in if we had the blinds open. The office is not staffed 24 hours a day, only 8-6. One of the neighboring condos had an small child staying in it. He cried a lot and we heard it all. I don't think his family had much fun in Hawaii. Luckily we were gone most of the day. Overall, I would definitely recommend this complex. I would go back there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: If I went back again I would request a 2nd or 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Leanne_EKennan_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    123
    32
    13
    18
See reviews for
132
163
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a great little condo complex tucked away from all of the hustle and bustle of island life. This is an older complex, but perfect for those who are looking for a DIY vacation. My daughter and I stayed in 228, which is a second floor end unit. 228 is a spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit with three large balconies. The condo was fulled furnished and stocked with everything you could possibly need on vacation. It included a huge flat screen HDTV with dvd/blue ray (movies are available to rent on the property). One thing we loved were the cool ocean breezes blowing through the many windows of our unit. The ocean views from the master bedroom are amazing. The decor is all island themed, and the condo itself was very clean and well-maintained. The grounds are gorgeous and immaculate, with pool area being lit up at night by tiki torches. There are wash/dryers on the property for use ($1.50 per wash, $1.50 per dry cycle). Maid service was once during our week stay (which was fine by us). Overall we found the location to be an excellent mid-point between all sights on the island. It was a great place to rest our heads at the end of a busy day exploring. The only thing I did not like about the resort (and the island itself) are the roosters. They are everywhere, and they are loud. Every morning at 5 am we were woken up to their screeching. There are also many stray cats on the island, and you'll hear them fighting and meowing at night and in the early morning. On an end note, for those of you who have never been to Kauai, it is a stunningly beautiful island. There are many bright and beautiful flowers, trees and plant life. The wild and marine life there is unbelievable, with gorgeous colorful birds, beautiful sea turtles, humpback whales, and spinner dolphins (to name a few). An absolute must is the Na Pali Coast by boat- I'll take your breath away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monkeylvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was our first vacation involving plane travel with two small children (ages 2 and 4) -- and it was even better than I had anticipated. We barely left the condo because it had everything we could want -- a sparkling pool just outside our back door (I'd recommend getting a ground floor unit so you can walk in and out of your back door), the beach just steps away -- and in between was a great grassy area which we used for flying kites. Down the path a short walk away is the "baby beach" with a rock enclosure built around it and an elaborate play structure just behind it, as well as large covered areas and bathrooms. Unfortunately, we arrived just after the storms and both the beach and the play structure were closed. (Apparently when it rains a lot, that particular beach gets filled with sticks and it takes a long time for them to flow back out -- also the play structure seems to be downhill from a sewage treatment plant that flooded -- ugh.) But even without the extra benefits of those nearby distractions, we were completely happy with just the beach and the pool.

The condos aren't luxurious, but they are very comfortable -- and when traveling with kids, I'd prefer not to have to worry about damaging the furniture. There are some nice looking tennis courts that we never used, and lots of barbecuing areas scattered around the units as well. The gardens throughout are carefully maintained and just gorgeous. The kitchens seemed to all come with plenty of dishes and pots and pans -- we mostly ate at home and shopped at the nearby Safeway and Costco. (It's easier than keeping the kids entertained at a restaurant each night.)

If I were to do it again (as we plan to do), I might go for one of the ocean-front rooms on the ground floor. You can just sit on your back porch, drinking your beverage of choice, and watch the kids play in the grass -- with the stunning ocean vistas behind them. Our unit was located just behind the pool, so it had great access for that, but you couldn't see the ocean from our porch. Still -- it was very relaxing to sit in the warm sun and read a book. It felt like a true vacation for the first time since we became parents.

Room Tip: I'd go for a ground floor unit, and might spring for the extra $ to get one with an ocean-view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, BC
Level Contributor
202 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife, daughter and i stayed a week here and very much enjoyed our stay. We had a 2 bedroom unit with Oceanview and it was the best view of any place we have stayed especially at sunrise. The unit was very spacious and clean with 2 bathrooms and full kitchen. Our notebook computer didn't have a proper jack so we couldn't use the WiFi but it was not a big issue, we went to Starbucks in Kapaa a couple of times and it's free there. The staff were friendly and the grounds are immaculately maintained. The whole complex was very quiet and peaceful and we heard no noise from the units around us. Kapaa is close by for shopping and Lihue not too far either. Friday is Taco night at the Olympic Cafe in Kapaa and for 2 drinks it's all you can eat taco bar from 3 to 7 and Kalapaki Joe's in Lihue has a good Happy Hour and view also. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Delta_BCRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed here after spending 8 days in Maui. We had read some of the reviews and weren't really sure what to expect....but we were pleasantly surprised! Our view (we paid for ocean front) was amazing to say the least. We had a huge balcony on the 2nd floor and enjoyed eating our meals out there. Our one bedroom was huge (compared to the one bedroom in Maui which was $50 more a night), equipped with 1.5 bathrooms and two flat screen televisions. Plus the owners had left there boogie board, snorkel set, tupperware etc out for us to use so it made it much easier to make our own meals or bring leftovers to the beach. As with some of the reviews, some appliances had rust on them HOWEVER that is due to the salt water in the air which can't be prevented. If you're picky and want the hotel amenities (IE. towels everyday, a front desk clerk at all hours) don't book here. If you want to be left alone, use your towel more than once, do your own thing and staying in a place that has the warm feel of a cottage than this is the place for you. Kauai is awesome too....we only spent 4 days there and it wasn't nearly enough time.

Room Tip: Get ocean front. Bring earplugs for the roosters at 5AM (which applies anywhere on the island).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JockLindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
2.9 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,272 reviews
2.0 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
1.9 km away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kapaa
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Koloa Landing Resort
24.9 km away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
2.7 km away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Kaha Lani? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kaha Lani

Property: Castle Kaha Lani
Address: 4460 Nehe Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9154 (Formerly Aston Kaha Lani)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lihue
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,323 - ₹ 24,261
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kaha Lani 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaha Lani Resort features oceanfront condominiums adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park and playground, with a walking path along the coast. Centrally located, the resort offers a variety of one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites, all oceanview or oceanfront. Amenities include a pool, tennis court, barbecues, and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Kaha Lani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kaha Lani Hotel Lihue
Kaha Lani
Castle Kaha Lani Kauai/Lihue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing