We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Relaxing and affordable vacation in Kauai!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Harbor Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banyan Harbor Resort
Long Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and affordable vacation in Kauai!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Me and my family stayed at the Banyan Harbor Resorts from 5/31/12 to 6/8/12. We stayed in a 2bdrm 2bath condo. It was very clean and nicely upkept. For the price we paid it was definetely the best bang for the buck. It was in close vicinity to the beach and a few shops and restaurants. Kalapaki Joes down the street was the best for afternoon drinks and snacks. The condo staff was very helpful and even have snorkel gear for use while your staying as long as you get it in the morning. I would definetely recommend these condos and i would stay there again. The only negative was the pool closing at 9pm and no jacuzzi. Also if you get the deal with the free rent a car you still end up paying out of pocket a few hundred by the time the rental company charges all their fees.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    92
    42
    20
    11
See reviews for
95
61
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We did an exchange thru RCI, and we were a bit wary having read some of the RCI reviews. We knew this was not going to be a Sheraton or a Marriott, but we were very happy with our 7 day stay at Banyan Harbor. Check in was a breeze, the 2 bed condo was more than adeqaute, the pool area was well maintained and the water in the pool was great. Our unit had a washer dryer which was vital to keep up with all the laundry. Kki, the concierge, helped us set upa sunset dinner cruise and loaned out everything we needed for our trips to the beach. The resort offers free daily pool/beach towels and free wifi.
You don't go to Kauai to stay at the condo, you just want somewhere to slleep, eat breakfast and clean up after a day out.
The unit had 2 brand new flat screen TV"s and tons of TV channels, but we were hardly there.
The central location is great as you are only 30 minutes from Poipu and no more than 1 hour from the North Shore, Waimea canyon or Polihale Beach. There are plenty of shops and restaurants close by, and even a Walmart for all those last minute things you just have to have.

Room Tip: Ask for a block near to the pool, J or K. We had our own covered parking spot for the whole week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NebraskaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

The condo we stayed in belonged to a friends family member. It was clean, well apportioned and very close enough to the beach to make a quick walk of it at any time. We found it quiet, except for the feral chickens :) Kiki, the happy booker was great! We had ideas of things to do but she made them happen. We were there from March 29 to April 5, 2012. We did have to make some adjustments to the bed frame which had become undone but perhaps no one had used the bed in that room. I would go back again to Banyan Harbor. I did love how close it was to the beach. You did have to walk across a road and then down to the beach but not far enough that it was an issue. The wifi worked but I did have trouble accessing it with my Nook.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueyes34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

This was my 1st trip to Hawaii and Kauai is a beautiful island, will definitely be back! I visited Kauai April 19-27, 2012 and stayed in a 2 bdrm 2 bath condo. It was clean, roomy, and had all the amenities that you need for a 10 day stay. Kiki was an amazing help with all the places we wanted to see. Got to use the pool one day while we where there and it's very nice, clean patio area. Spent most of the week on the beaches. Thanks for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjk0261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
220 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Kauai is a small island so the best is staying in one place. Following a long research I found that Banyan is probably the best value in the island, with fully equipped condos for around 100$+. Ours was of 2 rooms – with 2 separate baths and restrooms which was a big good surprise. Reception and concierge were generally helpful and friendly (but see below), technical support of housekeeping quick and responsive. The weekly cleaning housekeeping was minimal and below expectations. Location is good, just 1 hour to each of the island edges, with many restaurants etc. nearby. We stayed here for 6 nights (this evening is the last one) and were overall satisfied.
There are no elevators and condos are between 1 to 3 floors above the parking. Some has beautiful view to the bay and the mountains, some mainly to the parking or even the trash dumpsters. The highest has the more beautiful views but you have to climb for this. Try to ask for what is more suitable for you.
THEY OFFER A CAR RENTAL DEAL FOR JUST 10$ A DAY, BUT DO NOT TAKE IT. It’s a Dollar (Thrifty) compact car with absolutely no insurance, and even the basic insurance costs more than what I would pay for a full-size in Hertz (and, as I discovered, a much inferior service than Hertz or other leading companies). If you take it anyway, ask for the cheapest insurance without road assistance (but it will be still more expensive than alternatives).
The WiFi was absolutely not reliable, effective for about half of the time and not for all the portable devices.
Note: we came in an evening where a power failure made the whole island dark for several hours. Although they gave us the phone number of the security, we expected them to be more helpful and take us to the condo in the complete darkness around.
Bottom line: adjust your expectation and you’ll get a very good value for your money, and a good base to explore this beautiful island.

Room Tip: There are no elevators and condos are between 1 to 3 floors above the parking. Some has beautiful vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Avi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
6.0 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
0.1 km away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.2 km away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
10.9 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
11.3 km away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Harbor Resort

Property: Banyan Harbor Resort
Address: 3411 Wilcox Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9553
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lihue
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,444 - ₹ 14,062
Hotel Class:3 star — Banyan Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside in Nawiliwili, the Banyan Harbor Resort is ideal for your next getaway. From the moment you set foot in our island-styled lobby, you'll feel the Aloha Spirit that has made Kauai the popular destination it is today. Your "Home away from Home" is a block from Kalapaki Beach, shopping, restaurants, activities and entertainment. Anchor Cove Shopping Village and the Harbor Mall are both within a short walk. Three golf courses, Kauai's largest shopping center, Kauai's largest movie theatre and world class ocean & air charters are available within two miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Banyan Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Harbor Hotel Lihue
Banyan Harbor Kauai
Banyan Harbor Resort Kauai/Lihue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing