We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love this island”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The scenery was amazing and the beach in front of the hotel was great. They have the largest pool I have ever witnessed in life, although some updating could be used. Overall a good experience. I love this Island.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beautiful37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,222
    885
    336
    145
    84
See reviews for
665
1,377
49
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Wonderful experience. As always, beautiful property, staff are very friendly and accomodating, making our stay here always an extremely pleasant experience. Beds are incredibly comfortable. We love sitting on the lanai, enjoying the view while reading & have our morning breakfast.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of entire property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raggedymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We spent 9 nights in Kauai across 3 different hotels around the island. This was by far the biggest disappointment of all three. Perhaps our experience simpy paled in comparison to the boutique hotel of Koa Kea or the more luxurious Grand Hyatt, or perhaps this hotel is just very out of date with little to offer other than a nice pool. The money was definitely spent on the pool and surrounding area, and was not seemingly reinvested in upgrading the rooms. There was a strong musty smell in our room which was the first thing you noticed every time you walked into the room. Not much more I can reallyl say about the room as your senses are being overpowered!! The bathroom was small and the bed was not the best.

However, credit where credit is due. Their pool was very nice, and several of the adjoining restaurants offered fairly decent food that was, in my opinion, fairly priced for a resort hotel.

The beach is safe to swim. However the view is somewhat marred by the port and the occasional large cruise ship that stopped off.

I would not stay here again, personally, although the resort does seem to provide affordable trips to families. The rooms come equipped with a fridge and they offered BBQs for people to cook their own food. They also offer a mug service whereby you pay a one-time fee for unlimited supply of coffee and juice. It is also conveniently located near the airport.

Stay on the South or North shores, not in Lihue. The Marriott was not Kauai-esque but shame on us from not reading the other reviews that provided the same perspective.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griswalds007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

It's a beautiful place overlooking Kalapaki Bay. Marriott's advertisement on its own website - superior beach experience in 5star hotel on Kalapaki beach.

My wife and I stayed in the hotel the week of May 21st. Beach was closed due to sewage spill. We don't like to spend time in the pool so it definitely affected our vacation. Marriott's response was that they are not responsible for the beach area. I guess it is not really 5star hotel. Can't imagine the same response in Hyatt.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank okagardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

One of my biggest pet peeves about hotel swimming pools is the noisy splashing kids that take up most of the pool and get in the way of others who are trying to swim or simply want quiet time. The pools at the Marriott in Kauai can accommodate a lot of people and different age groups. The waterfalls provide 'white noise' to drown out the screams of noisy children. There is a child's pool in addition to a huge pool with waterfalls and 5 hot tubs. They have poolside service for food and drinks. I loved their poolside menu, the sandwiches and salads were healthy and generous. The big pool stays open late, like 10pm (?). I live on the island of Oahu and there are no hotels on this island that compares to the wonderful service, property size and amenities to the Marriott on Kauai. I would rather spend the extra $150 on the airfare to fly to Kauai than staying at an expensive hotel with shoddy service here on Oahu. We stayed there the 3rd week of May, 2012. I didn't want to come home. I am trying to plan another long weekend there ASAP. The Marriott offers shuttle service from the Airport to the hotel, also free shuttle to the adjacent lagoons. There are several nice restaurants on the property that are good, plus other eateries in walking distance. The beach was closed while we were there due to brown water, but it's a beautiful beach with a gorgeous view.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 18th floor, end room and facing the garden. It was quiet, away from the pool, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,153 - ₹ 31,351
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai/Lihue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing