We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for kids!”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Great resort for kids since the swimming pool is so big and so is the hotel which provides hours of fun for them! I stayed here for 2 weeks and took full advantage of the scuba diving experience and managed to catch a glimpse of 5 fairly huge turtles as well as other sea creatures I've never seen before! When I was there, there was a huge swell and so the surf was great but sadly the bay is only small and the surf got a bit crowded so only managed to catch one or two waves so I wouldn't recommend this hotel for wave seekers! The breakfast buffet was great, such a wide selection and you never had to get up early to find a sun lounger since a lot of people opted for the beach and to bathe in the ocean. There was an Italian restaurant down the beach (Cafe Portofino) that we went to two or three nights and the service was great - they always recognised us and even knew what we liked to drink! The room was beautiful and spacious, and the bed had enough room for 3 or 4 people in it.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Minerva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    904
    340
    148
    84
See reviews for
685
1,403
50
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed here for one week within the hotel - Kahili Wing. Standard room.

Good -
Pool, that is one of the main reasons we booked this property. It is huge.

Beach, not the best beach ever, but nice to be so close to sand and sea.

Rooms, for a Hawaiian moderate price range hotel, the rooms have been re-modelled quite nicely. They have modernised the furniture, carpets, a big LG tv, beds are comfortable.

Gym, great to have. Basic but fine, 5 elliptical and 5 running machines with some weights machines, free weights and a Kinesis machine. Also a studio where you can stretch, but when I was there no classes were scheduled.

Grounds - large, landscaped, crazy amounts of Koi.

Bad -
Service, I am aware this is a relaxed island, but the service is, in general, pretty poor. The front desk service in particular are super slow, with usually 2 staff visible at the desk regardless of the amount of guests waiting. Also whilst at the pool house returning towels one afternoon, a guest came to report "I think there is barf in the pool" - the reply from the staff, 'that is not my department, you'll have to report that to....'. Poor.

Housekeeping, on the surface the rooms look fine. But after dropping something on the floor under the desk, I found a pen and some chips covered in fluff from a previous occupant(s).

Pool, I know it is a great amenity, but unless you pay for a cabana (from $35 a day) there is very limited shade. There are no sun parasols for general use.

Standard rooms for when you are booking, know the aspect is dreadful, overlooking a roof and ventilation ducts, so if you are sent to the Kahili Wing and in an even numbered room, bring your earplugs and some relaxation medication. The ventilation or generator noise is a pretty persistent drone. We kept the drapes closed for most of our week which helped a little and we were not in the room for too much of the day, but just to be forewarned if you are going in the 'budget' type rooms.

Was it fine for a week - yes, would I book it again - no.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Very nice property with tons of outside room to roam and explore. The flowers in this property are the healthiest, most beautiful ones I have ever seen. Landscaping is serious in this place, from the lowest lying hibiscus to the tallest palm trees. The pool is enormous with plenty of space to chill and hang out.
The gym is very good with all the equipment you would want and more. It even has a little separate room inside the gym for aerobics/.yoga or stretching. There are fresh towels and water provided. The hotel provides you with an environment to be healthy inside and outside. You could take long walks for three different days and see different things in each and every one of them.
The hotel is full of roosters, chickens and little chicks which in my opinion give the hotel a lot of local flavor because the whole island is covered with them. So, if you don't like chicken...
Make sure on your first day to stop by the activities desk where you can get coupons and information about stuff going on on the island.
As far as eating around the resort, there are good alternatives to avoid the good, tasty but expensive food at the hotel. The Hut at the end of the trail, back of the hotel offers a great menu for breakfast and lunch. Kalapaki Joe's offers great Happy Hour specials between 4 and 6. Their fish tacos are a must and the beers and Mai Tai's are tasty and reasonable.
The hotel is very centrally located, close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fitgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The Kaui Marriott is in a good location. It is centrally located for day trips--we took one day trip south to the Pacific Grand Canyon and one day trip north to Princeville. The beach is also very nice. Ask for a room overlooking the ocean. Our room was on the 11th floor overlooking the pool and ocean. The only drawback on the room was that the bathroom is very small. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance. Certainly if I were going back to Kaui and would stay at this Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank positanobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiteville, NC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Husband and I stayed here for 4 nights the first of May. We were island hopping and asked our travel agent to find something with some "wow " that would not completely destroy the budget. Did she deliver!! The minute we drove up it was another world. And every one: valet, bellman, front desk, housekeeping, pool people, bar tenders were welcoming and eager to serve. We had reserved a garden view but got upgraded to a pool view, which ended up being a garden, pool, beach, bay, and mountain view. WOW. Walking out on the lanai ( a big lanai) was like walking into a post card. The room was spacious, with a king bed, sofa, large TV, and mini fridge. The bathroom was large and the ammenities were Bath and Body Works. The pool towel system did not seem difficult, and occasionaly we kept a towel over night so we would have it to use on excursions. As long as you turn in the towels and get the towel cards back, it is ok. The garden and landscaping was picture perfect. There are a lot of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Oh, and there is this really big, heated pool. Really big. After staying here I may never be the same. The only reason this place did not get a 5 is the bed. It was too soft. At first we thought it would be ok, but it really effected our sleep. We are hard mattress people, and I guess our bodies could not adjust. However, would that stop me from coming here again? Not on your life.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hornet50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,282 - ₹ 35,461
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai/Lihue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing