We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Second time here and would come again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
usa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Second time here and would come again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

The rooms were very once. The staff was wonderful. It's the staff and service that earns the 5 star from me. I traveled to Kauai two days earlier than others I was meeting so I stayed here by myself for those two days. I was always touched by how nice and conscientious everyone was. I interacted with so many of the staff there and did not have one even mildly negative or even mediocre experience at the front desk, poolside restaurant, valet, towel booth, shops, etc.

I was less than impressed with the service at Dukes and Portifino Cafe and the food was just ok there. For dining on the property, I liked the poolside restaurant better. There are many restaurants off property that can beat the hotel food if you want a great dining experience but the food is ok at any of the restaurants when you wish to stay on property.

The pool is much nicer than it appears in the pictures. Four hot tubs. Two you need to swim to. Lots of room to swim and no issues with trying to get a chair. The property is beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdmUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    846
    316
    139
    80
See reviews for
633
1,299
47
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, WA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We selected this Marriott to celebrate my 50th Bday. We used points and paid a little extra for an Ocean View upgrade. Upon check in we upgraded to a suite however it was on the ground floor and we lost the ocean view. Upon returning to the front desk she upgraded us to the Presidential Suite, WOW. The staff front the front of the house to the back are all professional. The rooms are stocked and cleaned daily. The location is central making it easy to visit all main parts of the island. Strongly suggest a helicopter ride, one of those bucket lists that won't disappoint on Kauai. Tidepools for dinner,awesome. Dukes was hit and miss. Great little breakfast at Kalapaki Beach Hut on Rice St and with in walking from the hotel. The pool really is amazing only wish is that they had some island music as background. We left our cares at the door upon check in and they did not disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjseagle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at this resort for a week after our 5-night stay in Oahu. When you are in Hawaii, don't plan on spending several days in your resort. Our best days were when we drove around the island, hiked and did excursions (DO A HELICOPTER RIDE). We were fortunate enough to have someone gift us a timeshare for a week and we jumped at the opportunity. Overall, this resort was amazing and we had a great time. But I want to be honest: it was our honeymoon so we thought everything was great. When you are in a good mood, everything seems to be awesome.

Rooms - We got a double room with an ocean view. Our view was of the bay and overlooked the pool. We had a living room with a TV, kitchenette, refrigerator, and extra bathroom. We also had a bedroom with all the typical stuff. To be honest, the first thing we did was drive to Costco (down the road) and buy some rum and Mai Tai mix. We also bought a couple different things we could microwave for lunch. It was a great idea. We saved a lot of money by using stuff we got from Costco - I would recommend it even if you have to get a membership. Our room had a couple of balcony's and they were well furnished. Since it was a time-share, we had free internet in our room, which was a great opportunity for us to brag to people on Facebook and Twitter that we were in Hawaii and they weren't.

Grounds - It is a very large resort with several different activities that we could do (we didn't do any of them because we wanted to lay by the pool when we were at the resort). When we were at the resort, we laid by the pool and made our own drinks and ordered food when we felt like it. It is kind of a fight to get chairs by the pool, but it's not too bad compared to other places that we have been (Mexico!). The pool is gigantic. We are from the Northern part of the U.S.A. so the sun was very hot to us and it was nice to hop in the pool and cool off once in while. Besides the pool and surrounding areas, it was very clean and well taken care of. We never noticed anything that seemed unkept. They even have grills that you can use when you see fit and those seemed to be clean! We never used them, but they were being used by people nightly.

Restaurants - We ate at Dukes and loved it! We both wish that we would have eaten there more. It was a great experience. Go upstairs when you eat and do the salad bar. It is amazing. We ate at "The Beach Hut" at least three times. It was the last meal we wanted to have before we left. It is within walking distance from the resort and is a great (cheap) breakfast. We ate at other places around the island and were impressed with any restaurant near the resort.

Overall - We had an AMAZING time. My wife and I are counting the days until we get to go back and experience the amazing wonders and hidden treasures that can be found on the island of Kauai. We spent one week, and could have spent several. We spent a day on a Na Pali coast cruise, we hiked a part of the Kalalau trail to the waterfall (can't remember the name right now - sorry!!!!), did a helicopter ride and drove around the island and explored. It was something we will never forget and the place that you sleep is a minor part of your overall experience in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Love the pool with the jacuzzi's under the gazebo's. Rooms are nice enough, especially if you get a room with a lanai overlooking the pool and beach. The grounds are lovely - koi ponds, asian art, waterfalls...lovely place to get married (and celebrate an anniversary, as we did!) Drinks are expensive but oh well...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GigiCSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington state
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We only stayed one night. The entrance to the hotel is beautiful and tropical. Once you arrive, you must go down an escalator and weave around an open atrium-garden, down more stairs until you find check-in.
HOTEL: Structure appeared worn, but interior was nice. Had a great view looking over the pool and beach (bigger room, which meant no deck/lanai). The smaller rooms had a small deck with a table and chairs. Hotel was a large multi-level building with many wings.
GROUNDS: Atrium-garden had Koi, parrots, tropical plants, and a waterfall.
RESTAURANTS: Ate poolside. Food was good. Nothing spectacular, just good.
BEACH: Beach was beautiful and located in a cove, so the waves were very small. People were paddle-boarding and swimming.
ACTIVITIES: We weren't there long enough to take advantage of activities. We did walk to the nearby shops at Anchor Cove, such as the ABC store and a few other stores. Cruise ships docked within view from the hotel, but we did not see an influx of tourists.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmpwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,433 - ₹ 40,798
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai/Lihue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing