We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location on Kalapaki Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
washington state
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Location on Kalapaki Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We only stayed one night. The entrance to the hotel is beautiful and tropical. Once you arrive, you must go down an escalator and weave around an open atrium-garden, down more stairs until you find check-in.
HOTEL: Structure appeared worn, but interior was nice. Had a great view looking over the pool and beach (bigger room, which meant no deck/lanai). The smaller rooms had a small deck with a table and chairs. Hotel was a large multi-level building with many wings.
GROUNDS: Atrium-garden had Koi, parrots, tropical plants, and a waterfall.
RESTAURANTS: Ate poolside. Food was good. Nothing spectacular, just good.
BEACH: Beach was beautiful and located in a cove, so the waves were very small. People were paddle-boarding and swimming.
ACTIVITIES: We weren't there long enough to take advantage of activities. We did walk to the nearby shops at Anchor Cove, such as the ABC store and a few other stores. Cruise ships docked within view from the hotel, but we did not see an influx of tourists.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmpwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,208
    873
    331
    145
    84
See reviews for
659
1,359
48
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

The resort itself is very beautiful and well maintained. We popped into Duke's for dinner, and really enjoyed ourselves. The location is right along the bay, with a live band playing on the sand. The vibe at Duke's is casual, and the food is great. I had the best spiced seared ahi I've ever had in my life. The presentation was beautiful. I also had a really tasty coconut drink called the Lava (I think that's what it was called). If you eat at Duke's, you have to try the Hula Pie- it's huge, and made with chocolate, vanilla icecream, macadamia nuts, wipped cream, and I think Oreo cookie crust. It was awesome! The menu is a little pricey, but with good reason-the food is excellent!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeylvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I traveled to Kauai for our honeymoon and the Marriott resort was nice. The beach was just a short walk out from the hotel. After our 3rd night at the hotel we had a couple of females occupy the room next to ours, one with a double door (the type you would have if you had a larger travel party and wanted to share two rooms) the pair in the other room were extremely loud. The first night we thought they were just enjoying their vacation and thought it would be a one time thing. It happened every night. After a few sleepless nights we went and asked the hotel staff if they could help or move us to another room, they told us there was nothing they could do short of having security ask them to be quiet. They suggested that putting a towel by the base of the door may help with the noise. Needless to say the rest of our vacation we were awaked at the wee hours of the morning by wild and loud neighbors! On a better note the hotel was located in a great central location on the island, so we were able to jump into our rental car during the day and drive all around the island to see what it had to offer. Overall location is not enough for us to come back to stay at this hotel again. Staff was not accommodating at all with our (major) problem for us to spend the amount of money on lodging to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room that does not connect to another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank datrvlbgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We spent one night here after a flight cancelation. The staff was very accommodating, the Kalapaki Bay setting gorgeous, the pool and common areas deluxe and the room tastefully appointed. No complaints. The property is sprawling with a golf course and tennis arena and lagoons with docks that appear to at one time have had boats to cruise around in. There is the Marriott Kauai Resort as well as two timeshares on the grounds. Although not a new property, most areas have been updated and it is a relaxing full-service setting close to the airport in Lihue.

Room Tip: Ocean view is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

WOW what an AWESOME property! Great pool! Great Rooms! Great grounds! Great staff!
Why even consider staying anywhere else! Check out Dukes on the beach too great salad bar and Super Steak and Lobster! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We did not pay for an "ocean view" but the view was very good and enjoyable so don't p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimothyB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,196 - ₹ 33,464
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai/Lihue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing