We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old fashioned friendliness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“old fashioned friendliness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We love these kind of motels. This was clean and comfortable with friendly staff and within walking distance of many restaurants. Refrigerator, microwave & coffee maker are in each room. Beach items are available for your use and the beach is accross the street. A great place to stay if you are renting a harley the pick up hut is directly across the street. We will stay here again if we get back to Kauai.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dekalbharleyrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    197
    47
    7
    8
See reviews for
150
365
52
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We loved staying at the Garden Island Inn. We were traveling with our adult daughter so the
2 BR condo fit our needs. The kitchen was well equipped so we were able to fix breakfast there each morning. The rooms were clean, have nice bedding and plenty of space for three adults. We appreciated that the Garden Island Inn is close to the airport and if you plan on a helicopter ride, they leave from the airport area too. Exploring the north or checking out the south areas, Lihu'e is right in the middle. Very convenient! I travel with earplugs but didn't need them. Friendly staff and a good price. We would love to go back to Kauai someday and we would stay at the Garden Island Inn again.

Room Tip: For three adults, ask for room K-131
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judychosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We really enjoyed staying at the Garden Island Inn during a November visit to to Kauai. The rooms were simple, but had everything we needed, and were exceptionally clean. We had a great view of the beach, and it was only about a one minute walk to get to the beach. The staff were so nice, and in addition to being friendly, they had towels and snorkels and books available to take for the day. They also gave good recommendations on restaurants and what to do for our few days there. I would definitely return to the Garden Island Inn.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ewickham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Since we arrived very late, the key to our room was in an envelope taped to the office door and the lights in our room were on. The people who run this inn tried very hard to be warm and welcoming, besides being very helpful.
Doors to each room were handpainted with beautiful flowers. Our room was small but efficient. Real mugs were provide for coffee as well as bowls for cereal. Granola bars are available in the office.
The Garden Island Inn is within walking distance of the beach, ABC store and other shopping as well as restaurants that serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. We found an information sheet "Where is Everything" to be very helpful in finding our way around. This was something not found in any larger hotel that we stayed. Towels, chairs, boogie boards, coolers and more were available for use in the office.
Only one small downside - road noise which we were used to by the 2nd night. A good bargain for the price.

Room Tip: Lower rooms have good access to the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marylou44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

The hotel was very nice and the staff was fantastic. It was well priced and handy to things but there was some pretty loud traffic early in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loofer, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Aloha and thank you for writing. I am pleased to hear how everyone staying at the Garden Island Inn is enjoying the staffs friendliness and local knowledge they share with every one. There are a dozen other reasons that make GII a great place to stay on a vacation to the Garden Island. Nawiliwili Road that passes near by creates a free and protected area for safe parking, easy access to airport and the rest of the Island. There is more traffic on the day the cruse ship docks at Nawaliwili Harbor. Kauai's Weather and Roads are similar in many ways. Its always changing and we can't do anything to change it. There is always something fun to do and beauty to observe, Rain or Shine, Traffic or Calm. We can't promise you one or the other, most of the time it's a lovely combo, but I can promise you our entire staff will do there very best to help you make the most of your time on our lovely Island and keep the Garden Island Inn safe, clean , beautiful and a great value for your money. Thank you for your business and kind words. Lis and Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Property: Garden Island Inn
Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,586 - ₹ 12,066
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai/Lihue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing