We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location on the Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We loved staying at the Garden Island Inn. We were traveling with our adult daughter so the
2 BR condo fit our needs. The kitchen was well equipped so we were able to fix breakfast there each morning. The rooms were clean, have nice bedding and plenty of space for three adults. We appreciated that the Garden Island Inn is close to the airport and if you plan on a helicopter ride, they leave from the airport area too. Exploring the north or checking out the south areas, Lihu'e is right in the middle. Very convenient! I travel with earplugs but didn't need them. Friendly staff and a good price. We would love to go back to Kauai someday and we would stay at the Garden Island Inn again.

Room Tip: For three adults, ask for room K-131
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judychosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 641 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

We really enjoyed staying at the Garden Island Inn during a November visit to to Kauai. The rooms were simple, but had everything we needed, and were exceptionally clean. We had a great view of the beach, and it was only about a one minute walk to get to the beach. The staff were so nice, and in addition to being friendly, they had towels and snorkels and books available to take for the day. They also gave good recommendations on restaurants and what to do for our few days there. I would definitely return to the Garden Island Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ewickham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Since we arrived very late, the key to our room was in an envelope taped to the office door and the lights in our room were on. The people who run this inn tried very hard to be warm and welcoming, besides being very helpful.
Doors to each room were handpainted with beautiful flowers. Our room was small but efficient. Real mugs were provide for coffee as well as bowls for cereal. Granola bars are available in the office.
The Garden Island Inn is within walking distance of the beach, ABC store and other shopping as well as restaurants that serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. We found an information sheet "Where is Everything" to be very helpful in finding our way around. This was something not found in any larger hotel that we stayed. Towels, chairs, boogie boards, coolers and more were available for use in the office.
Only one small downside - road noise which we were used to by the 2nd night. A good bargain for the price.

Room Tip: Lower rooms have good access to the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marylou44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The hotel was very nice and the staff was fantastic. It was well priced and handy to things but there was some pretty loud traffic early in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loofer, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Aloha and thank you for writing. I am pleased to hear how everyone staying at the Garden Island Inn is enjoying the staffs friendliness and local knowledge they share with every one. There are a dozen other reasons that make GII a great place to stay on a vacation to the Garden Island. Nawiliwili Road that passes near by creates a free and protected area for safe parking, easy access to airport and the rest of the Island. There is more traffic on the day the cruse ship docks at Nawaliwili Harbor. Kauai's Weather and Roads are similar in many ways. Its always changing and we can't do anything to change it. There is always something fun to do and beauty to observe, Rain or Shine, Traffic or Calm. We can't promise you one or the other, most of the time it's a lovely combo, but I can promise you our entire staff will do there very best to help you make the most of your time on our lovely Island and keep the Garden Island Inn safe, clean , beautiful and a great value for your money. Thank you for your business and kind words. Lis and Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

For our first trip to Kauai and being budget-minded, we wanted a place near Lihue airport with proximal accessibility to both the North and South shores. We had heard good things about the Garden Island Inn, not only on Trip Advisor but in major travel guides as well, and they turned out to be spot-on.
The rooms were clean and appointed cheerfully with vibrant local artwork and wicker/rattan furniture. We chose to stay on the third floor, having heard about the road noise which is due to proximity to the major thoroughfare through Lihue. We still heard the noise, but the view was wonderful. From our bed we watched the sun come up through the palm trees lining Kalapaki Beach.
There was no elevator to the third floor so if you don’t travel light as we did that might be an issue. We only stayed two nights but would have been very comfortable for a longer stay. Our room, #19, was huge. The king bed was very comfortable. The kitchenette had bowls, plates, utensils, dish liquid and towels for clean-up. There was a microwave, coffee maker and fridge with freezer compartment.
The only drawback to the room was that the shower spigot was very short in length and my 5’7” sister had to crouch to wash her hair under it. The lone air conditioner was of the window type and very rinky-dink. In a hotter climate it certainly would not have been adequate for the room, but we found the trade winds were enough to keep us cool at night. Granted we were not there much during the day so cannot attest to the level of comfort during midday. In the end we did not run the unit at all.
The nearby “mall”, mere footsteps away, had about three restaurants but they reminded me of taverns or pubs where college students and partiers would gather. Indeed on our first night our sleep was disturbed in the wee hours by partying pedestrians setting off firecrackers across the street. We ate twice at the Feral Pig there, only because we were exhausted and didn’t feel like driving anywhere else. Again, it was very pub-like. Their breakfast fare was fine but neither of us finished a large but unpleasant burger we ordered for supper one night.
The staff at the Inn was very pleasant, and I will relate one story to illustrate their commitment to the comfort of their guests. This being our first visit to a tropical island, we were rather alarmed to be greeted by a small ”lizard” when we arrived in our room. I immediately called the desk and asked if there was someone who could remove the lizard for us. The woman calmly reassured me that we were in no danger, that the “lizard” was a gecko and were quite common in tropical destinations. She said she had difficulty walking but would find a member of housekeeping to come to our aid. Minutes later, not only did this friendly limping woman show up but so did two other women, mature members of the housekeeping staff, locals undoubtedly. They assured us, not only with words but with their friendly, motherly arms around our shoulders that we would likely never see that gecko again and that there was no way it would enter our bed or be crawling on us. They said it was more scared of us than we were of it. They said besides, the geckos are what keeps bugs away so we can feel happy about that! My sister and I were touched by their response and our fears were allayed, and what’s more they were right, we never saw the gecko again!
The only reason I would look for Kauai accommodations elsewhere, now that I know the lay of the land, would be due to the road noise. You can see and hear vehicles from dawn to dusk and many of them are trucks. It is a shame because otherwise this property is most pleasant; very pretty, if tiny, grounds that look like a botanical garden, a lovely waterfall that fills your room with sound all the time, pleasant staff, supplies like towels, beach chairs, boogie boards, ice chest, books and DVDs that you can “borrow”, and a great value for the money to boot.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loofer, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you for choosing the Garden Island Inn. I appreciate you taking the time to review the good points of your stay. The car noise at night is unfortunate, as it is just a 2 lane road with the park and beach across the street; as you pointed out to the beautiful Kalipaki Beach.
Guests who close the sliding door and use the air condtioning with the rear windows open to hear the waterfall, have reported a very pleasant night rest. The shower height is an easy fix and we will replace the shower heads to make the showers more comfortable, thanks for the "heads up".
Your repeat business and referals are what we strive for, hope to see again soon.
Sincerely, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
5.9 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,396 reviews
14.5 km away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
10.7 km away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
1.3 km away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#7 of 11 in Lihue
383 reviews
9.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn Hotel

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: ₹ 8,999 - ₹ 13,562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Hotel Kauai/Lihue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing