We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
8
3
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
3
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Spent a week in the canvasback cottage one month ago and had a very peaceful amazing experience. Different geckos, lizards, and huge colorful moths adorn the cabin at night ( as well as mosquitoes } ...a beautiful male stray cat would come visit us every evening as it was obviously lonely and was semi used to human contact and being fed. Really lovely cat, passive and affectionate, doesn't belong out there alone. Neon green crickets abound, wild pigs, especially baby ones visited the backyard at night. Roosters and pheasants strut around you as you sip coffee on the porch in the morning. Trade winds boom down from the mountains with a sound that has to be heard to be believed. This place is special, no doubt, and I will never forget it. The SDA conference and the Church has finally succeeded in terminating the current park operators lease. The current land owners and the church do not want the cabin rentals to continue on the property and have been trying to shut it down for years. I was informed by the current park operators ( who are seventh day adventists themselves and lovely people who operate a school on the property ) that reservations will not be taken after May 2014. Pity as I was planning to come back next year. The only hope is that the owners will lease Kahili Mountain Park to a new company that will operate it, which I find doubtful. This 200 acre lush mountain rainforest escape will most likely be developed into residential condos with a possible water bottling plant being set up as well. These are rumors that I imagine will come true unless a miracle happens. Change and overdeveloping areas that are best left untouched. The school will probably be shut down as well. So sad. Best vacation I have ever had....or probably ever will.

Room Tip: The Canvasback cottage was great....their biggest cottage, 2 master bedrooms, 2 washrooms, full kitchen and laundry. The geckos get chatty at night and crawl around the bedroom walls .....kept me up a few nights but was worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We visit Kauai every year and typically stay at ocean front locations. Wanted to try something new and absolutely loved the beauty, peace and serenity of Kahili Mountain Park. Ridge Trail hike directly from the park has an amazing view of Kauai, perhaps the best of all hikes we've endured on the island First time ever taking a shower outside under the stars and moon. Water was perfect temperature for outdoor showers. The property has dozens of chickens, ducks and peacocks that love to be fed directly from your hand and they love to follow you in a bird parade. We had three baby pigs visit the trees right behind our cabin several nights. This is definitely a place to get in touch with nature and all the other beauty of Kauai that is not centered around the ocean. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Chose cabins with outdoor showers. Showering under moon and stars is awesome.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

It was such a joy to return to the Kahili Mountain Park for another visit. It is a wonderful place, full of beauty and peace. Our cabin was perfect for us and we spent many happy mornings on the front porch drinking Kauai coffee as we watched the sun rise and the clouds drift over the mountains. The cabin was rustic but with the new mattresses and linens and towels it was comfortable and cozy. Penny Brewer and her husband were gracious and accommodating hosts and tended to our needs and made our stay a delight. We loved the unique features of the property: the ubiquitous chickens, the variety of citrus fruit from the trees, the hiking trail to the ridge of the mountain, and the wide open spaces through out the camp. Truly a special place to come and relax, to slow the pace of life and savor the beauty of creation.

Room Tip: Cabin #32 faced the east and on nice days we could watch the sun rise. It is very private and overlooks a wooded area. It has new mattresses: one queen and two twins. We loved the wicker furniture and moved it from the back porch to the front porch. Kitchenette was adequately stocked with pots and pans, dishes, glassware, flatware, storage containers, and cleaning materials. We needed to purchase paper towels The two-burners stove top and the refrigerator were old, but functional. We shopped at Costco and Walmart for simple foods and made breakfasts and lunches (to go) and a few dinners. By keeping our meal costs down we were able to splurge on adventures.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MaisieBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I have been taking my hiking groups to stay here since at least the early 1980s. Penny is an excellent manager and goes out of her to help you get the right cabin or rental house for your party. It is a quiet place to stay amongst nature. We will definitely book there the next time we are on Kauai. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BILL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

In an expensive hotel in an over commercialized city. Kahili Mountain Park proves that you can have a good time without spending a lot of $$$. I am here during the winter season, which was the cheapest we could get the flight for. Be advised that it rains A LOT here during that time, so dress appropriately. The cabins range from dirt cheap $15 a night) to I think $180 a night for a cottage. The cabins just have a bed with sheets and a thin blanket, a mini fridge and a hot plate. It also has a sink. Bathrooms and showers are a short walk away. No tv. The cottages are pretty nice, they have bathrooms and showers inside plus washing machines/dryers and a real stove. Polished hardwood floors.

I recommend that if you come during the rainy season you rent an all wheel or 4 wheel drive vehicle because the roads can get quite muddy and a car can get stuck. Also bring an extra warm blanket if you can or a small heater.

Room Tip: If you have multiple people rent a cottage and bring sleeping bags and sleep on the floor. Much more comfortable than the cabins
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank douglas h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews