We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite Serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palmwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palmwood
Ranked #1 of 4 Kilauea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exquisite Serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Surrounded by the mountains of northern Kauai, this elegant, private retreat is a garden Eden. So pleasing, you may forego exploring the island further for a couple days and just take in the splendor of your setting. A highlight of a stay is Eddi's incredible gourmet breakfasts, abundant in island flavor and color. I'm hooked on the fresh coconut, ginger and mint smoothie, as a first course. Our host was very warm and personable, even going so far as to quietly take care of a favorite blouse to remove red wine stains from the night before, leaving it in my room restored. The room, bath, private lanai and outdoor shower were thoughtfully considered and very comfortable. Moloa Bay provides soft white sands and privacy less than 5 minutes away, with lively Hanalei 30 minutes away. I recommend this destination as a midpoint to exploring the southern and northern parts of the island. It has a quiet, rural character of its own.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FEW24_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
140
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I recently stayed at Palmwood durring a particularly hectic time in my life. I arrived stressed and tired from the demands of everyday life and left feeling relaxed, rejuvinated and inspired. I loved the Bali influenced stlye, especially the open air media room that allows you to enjoy the fragrant trade winds while visiting with other guests and watching movies. The interior throughout and the general vibe strikes the perfect balance between sophisticated Asian Pacific style and true country living on Kauai. The impeccable quality of everything and the standard of excellence is obvious when you first walk in. I found Eddie to be a gracious, kind and helpfull hostess and a excellent cook.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the soothing sounds of the waterfall from the east room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbrsales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Wishing we were back at Eddi Henry's fabulous Palmwood Inn on the glorious north Kauai island. Eddi and her husband have created in idyllic retreat, so heavenly that you should forgo some gadding around just to stay put and enjoy your stay at The Palmwood. Rooms are heavenly, and her common space and gardens an enticing retreat. Each detail is so artful and thoughtfully created. Eddi is a master of B & B breakfasts. Beaches are near by and you will have total peace and quiet when you head "home" to this little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrsDenverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Good: Views, rooms, relaxation, movies, breakfast, romantic setting
Bad: Vibes from owner/host, not feeling welcomed, annoying inconveniences like running out of toilet paper.

We showed up for our honeymoon in the afternoon, as planned, and were greeted with a more or less 'here's where you sleep, here's where you wash, here's where you cook - any questions, text me' greeting. Lame.
We just felt like we were never really welcomed into this little (potential) jewel in paradise. The kitchen felt more like a Costa Rican surfer camp/outpost than anything truly functional. Our room wasn't cleaned after the first night - eesh and we ran out of toilet paper, as did our neighbours. Every morning, while enjoying our delicious breakfast, we (three couples) quietly discussed our disatisfaction in mutiny fashion.
To their credit, the hosts did provide some info on beaches, etc. when asked.
You need to take the LA out of Aloha.

Room Tip: lower floor rooms have a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MrBlahBlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thepalmwood, Owner at The Palmwood, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Indeed the arrival and meeting of this guest was strange.

I welcomed them to the Inn showing them personally to their room and the grounds we so lovingly created.
It is wonderful to see and hear the immediate pleasant responses and comments by happy newly arriving guests. However, in this case the new bride looked stone faced and purse lipped as I showed them to the  East room set in a private garden with a deck,  hot tub and outdoor shower.
Her new husband was taken a back by her attitude as well and  looked at her and asked  gently "okay?" as her response or lack thereof was confusing.

I  was glad to see that the couple enjoyed the outdoor tiki kitchen a couple of evenings.  
I established a BBQ area for the guests because In my travels I quickly get tired of eating out, no matter how fabulous or gourmet the food might be.  I wanted to provide our guests with an outdoor tiki kitchen which provides everything you need to prepare fresh simple meals (grilled fish, meats, veggies, salads, fruit etc). Dishes utensils pans etc.
Many of our guests stay in every night to enjoy the BBQ facilities bringing back organic produce and delights from the farmers market, fresh ahi from the Kilauea fish market and enjoy a tiki lit outdoor pavilion in the tropics.
So many of our guests are so inspired by the facilities and plan a grilled dinner get together with other guests and are so kind as to invite us as well to partake in their meal they so enjoyed preparing.  
It does remind me of a wonderful jungle place In Costa Rica I loved for having 
an outdoor BBQ area for guests.

We clean our guest rooms daily, however if the guests are in their room between 12:00-3:00 pm when maid service arrives, Stella will not disturb them.  The rooms are so private that to enter the private garden to knock on the door for cleaning might be intrusive. We unfortunately do not have a staff large enough to accommodate cleaning of the guests rooms at all hours of the day and evening. Each room is stocked with  two additional roles of toilet paper in the bathroom cupboard which were still there when the room was cleaned the next day. 
It is unfortunate that this guest could not receive Aloha and is more concerned about tracking toilet paper distribution to other guests or finding that our beautiful beaches nearby when asked "were not to her liking" or "secretly planning mutiny" over breakfast. This guest speaks untruths about other guests comments and her reference to Los Angelenos is offensive.
I am Asian and deeply rooted in the Asian hospitality culture and very much live a life of Aloha in my beloved home in Kauai. I love sharing our paradise with our wonderful guests who appreciate
the experience we have cultivated here. I guess we just got an odd egg this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

The Palmwood is one of those truly special places that become a reference for all other B&B's/vacations!

It grabs you from the moment you walk in ... lovely house, rooms that you'd want to live in (not just visit), beautiful grounds & incredible hosts (both Eddi & her husband, Steven)!

We spent a week there and had a wonderful stay - everything was perfect for what we had in mind (lazy mornings, access to the beach, local restaurants...) - A place where one can get a feel for life in Kauai!!

Room Tip: We stayed in both the West room & the upper suite ... our pick goes to the West room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank induren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilauea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmwood? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmwood

Property: The Palmwood
Address: 6867 Koolau Road, Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kilauea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kilauea
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,365 - ₹ 27,097
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palmwood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palmwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmwood Hotel Kilauea
The Palmwood Kauai/Kilauea, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing