We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to Linger Longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Most people would agree, a 5-day trip to Kauai from the mainland is not enough time to really wind down from work and enjoy, but it's what we had. My husband and I wanted to celebrate a special birthday in a special way and we took advantage of a package offer to experience Kauai again; not our first time there, but our first at this hotel. We experienced breakfasts, lunch and dinners in the on-site restaurant and lounge, and all were excellent quality. The table wait service was a 9 on a scale of 10, and the hotel staff quickly took care of a minor room issue. The courtyard is well laid out with pool, spa, elegant 'fire pit' area, nearby bar/grill, and lots of seating areas on and near the beach to enjoy your morning cup of coffee or tea. In addition to your little coffee maker in the room, free coffee and hot tea were supplied in the small market area by the front lobby. The hotel is right on the beach south of Kapaa, just north of the Coconut Marketplace shops (some were closed due to the economy, but many were open and we snagged a few bargains and a beautiful Bamboo Cay Christmas-theme Hawaiian shirt for my husband to wear this holiday). A sandy, surf-side walking path goes from the Wailua River bay south of this hotel to just north of it, allowing tourists and locals alike to get a short walk in before breakfast, or an evening stroll. Many rooms have ocean views; if possible, ask for one of the ocean-facing rooms at the end of the halls to get the full effect.

Very close to this Marriott Courtyard is a 'Foodland' for all your little needs once you get there. There are also several other restaurants in the area within short driving distance within Kapaa if you don't want to eat on-site the whole time.

Only areas we experienced that needed work were the slightly overworked check-in staff who most times had a small line that kept you waiting, and the spa maintenance, which was down for part of our stay. I would definitely consider going back again with all the positives this location offered for the $.

Room Tip: If you want the best view possible, ask for 2nd or higher floor and a west-facing end unit.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SierraSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,746)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,316 - 1,320 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

We had to come to Kauai a day early due to "Sandy"! We stayed here and it was great. We would stay here again if we dont rent a condo. Thanks. Kappa is a great location to stay on Kauai . It right in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 35yearsMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We really had a great stay here and hated to leave. The property is in excellent condition, the employees were friendly, and the atmosphere really had the aloha spirit. The complimentary mai tais in the late afternoon were a definite plus! Our room was very spacious, clean, and up to date. No complaints about the bathroom, either. The beach here is decent for laying out and relaxing, and the pool seemed nice too. There are a number of good local restaurants within a few minutes' drive, as well as a couple of grocery stores and some other small retail shops. The location on this part of the island is ideal if you plan to visit both the western and northern parts because it is basically in between those areas and the highway that follows the coast does not make a complete loop. We traveled around the island quite a bit and found this to be an excellent home base. The airport in Lihue is a short drive from here too, which is convenient. Although this is not a five star resort type of property, it really had that feel to it in many respects and greatly exceeded my expectations. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rcvan1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in Kapaa, Kauai. It is a very convenient location to the airport, to the North Shore, south beaches and the Waimea Canyon. There are several good restaurants in walking distance along with two large grocery stores. You can't swim in front of the hotel but driving to Anini or Poipu is easy enough. Lydgate Park (which has a closed in area for kids) is close too. The hotel check-in process was smooth (nice welcome mai tai to boot!) Our rooms had a partial ocean view (we were there on a TravelZoo voucher so didn't expect much.) The rooms are comfortable but the bathroom is on the small size. The complimentary coffee and wireless were greatly appreciated. The property is oceanfront so watching the sunrise with your free coffee in hand is a treat. Breakfast buffet is decent but $18 so we ordered a la carte and were pleased (they let you bring in the free coffee that you were drinking while watching the sunrise). Happy hour every afternoon--we were a fan of the mai tais and daily appetizer special. Service was sometimes slow but this is true for Kauai generally--helps to make you slow down too ;-). Pool area is small but had everything we needed. All staff friendly and helpful throughout the property. Only negative: parking is $14. Recommend this hotel for a Kauai vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PearlRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We thought that we got a great deal for this hotel through Travel Zoo but, SURPRISE! IT WAS A FANTASTIC deal at a FANTASTIC hotel!!!!! Right on the beach, with an array of lounge chairs facing the Pacific; a beautiful pool and jacuzzi; outdoor firepit surrounded by comfy chairs; hammocks for lounging &/or reading a great book; walking distance to shops; friendly staff; live music/hula dancers; great bar... We did do a lot of traveling around the island because it was our first time in Kauai but we could have just stayed at the hotel all week and enjoyed the peace and quiet with all the amenities. I would suggest this hotel for those who are really not into night life and excitement and are going more for some R&R. The ocean view is beautiful (east side of island with beautiful sunrises) but not for swimming or water sports. The hotel restaurant is adequate but we did a lot of eating in 'out of the way' places or just picking up food a the local supermarket deli. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Our room (#201) looked right over the main outdoor area (pool, bar, etc.) and a perfect view of the...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodip630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
5.4 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
0.8 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.9 km away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 km away
Koloa Landing Resort
2.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
11.0 km away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: ₹ 11,050 - ₹ 18,887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing