We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 205
US$ 177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$ 186
US$ 153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 223
US$ 193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$ 209
US$ 183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 276
US$ 251
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,912)
Filter reviews
1,912 results
Traveller rating
674
788
292
103
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
674
788
292
103
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitparking feevaulted ceilingsresort feeocean viewnightly entertainmentsmall balconyhot tubpool areafree mai taiper dayhotel restaurantnice propertyfree coffeeoceanfront roomopen airnice pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,469 - 1,474 of 1,912 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

We had to come to Kauai a day early due to "Sandy"! We stayed here and it was great. We would stay here again if we dont rent a condo. Thanks. Kappa is a great location to stay on Kauai . It right in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 35yearsMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We really had a great stay here and hated to leave. The property is in excellent condition, the employees were friendly, and the atmosphere really had the aloha spirit. The complimentary mai tais in the late afternoon were a definite plus! Our room was very spacious, clean, and up to date. No complaints about the bathroom, either. The beach here is decent for laying out and relaxing, and the pool seemed nice too. There are a number of good local restaurants within a few minutes' drive, as well as a couple of grocery stores and some other small retail shops. The location on this part of the island is ideal if you plan to visit both the western and northern parts because it is basically in between those areas and the highway that follows the coast does not make a complete loop. We traveled around the island quite a bit and found this to be an excellent home base. The airport in Lihue is a short drive from here too, which is convenient. Although this is not a five star resort type of property, it really had that feel to it in many respects and greatly exceeded my expectations. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rcvan1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in Kapaa, Kauai. It is a very convenient location to the airport, to the North Shore, south beaches and the Waimea Canyon. There are several good restaurants in walking distance along with two large grocery stores. You can't swim in front of the hotel but driving to Anini or Poipu is easy enough. Lydgate Park (which has a closed in area for kids) is close too. The hotel check-in process was smooth (nice welcome mai tai to boot!) Our rooms had a partial ocean view (we were there on a TravelZoo voucher so didn't expect much.) The rooms are comfortable but the bathroom is on the small size. The complimentary coffee and wireless were greatly appreciated. The property is oceanfront so watching the sunrise with your free coffee in hand is a treat. Breakfast buffet is decent but $18 so we ordered a la carte and were pleased (they let you bring in the free coffee that you were drinking while watching the sunrise). Happy hour every afternoon--we were a fan of the mai tais and daily appetizer special. Service was sometimes slow but this is true for Kauai generally--helps to make you slow down too ;-). Pool area is small but had everything we needed. All staff friendly and helpful throughout the property. Only negative: parking is $14. Recommend this hotel for a Kauai vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PearlRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We thought that we got a great deal for this hotel through Travel Zoo but, SURPRISE! IT WAS A FANTASTIC deal at a FANTASTIC hotel!!!!! Right on the beach, with an array of lounge chairs facing the Pacific; a beautiful pool and jacuzzi; outdoor firepit surrounded by comfy chairs; hammocks for lounging &/or reading a great book; walking distance to shops; friendly staff; live music/hula dancers; great bar... We did do a lot of traveling around the island because it was our first time in Kauai but we could have just stayed at the hotel all week and enjoyed the peace and quiet with all the amenities. I would suggest this hotel for those who are really not into night life and excitement and are going more for some R&R. The ocean view is beautiful (east side of island with beautiful sunrises) but not for swimming or water sports. The hotel restaurant is adequate but we did a lot of eating in 'out of the way' places or just picking up food a the local supermarket deli. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Our room (#201) looked right over the main outdoor area (pool, bar, etc.) and a perfect view of the outdoor entertainment between dark and 9pm. We also had a nice view of the ocean. The balcony area is really small and we didn't spend time there but just opened the shutters and enjoyed the view from our room. If price was not an issue I would ask for rooms on the east side with full views of the ocean and a larger balcony. These are their premium rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodip630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Beautiful grounds greet you as you come down the long driveway lined with palm trees - great first impression! This was followed with excellent service at the front counter. There is free coffee (in the mornings) and tea service (all day) located in their lobby market place, open-air bar/lounge, restaurant, comfortable seating around the pool area, and seating on the beach for watching the sunrise. Cherise at the concierge desk was very helpful in providing directions while we were there, and she reserved our anniversary dinner at Duke's Restaurant on Rice Street. When we returned from dinner, she had placed a gift of fruit in our room with a note of congratulations. Bernice went the extra mile to make sure we received a fax that contained confirmation and directions to Steelgrass Farms. During our stay, there was a tsunami alert due to a earthquake in Canada. All of the staff were wonderful in providing assistance to everyone evacuating, and to those who remained under elevation evacuation. Travis called in after he had gone home from work and came back to assist staff still on duty. Tristan made sure our room was clean. Everywhere we went, it felt like we were being treated like family, whether it was the restaurant, the lounge, the lobby market place, or just around the pool. We were close to Coconut Marketplace if we wished to shop, and we could just rest on our balcony and listen to the entertainment that was scheduled almost every day of the week. There were local artisans in the lobby in the mornings selling their pieces. Everything was just perfect. Would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view to watch the sunrise.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaVon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews