We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service Recovery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed one week at this resort. Had a rough first day, rude waitress and bartender in pool side lounge, checked into lower level room, small, musty, moldy, very used furniture. Carpet wet approx. 5-6ft. from ocean side sliding door. Air conditioner did not work well at all. Next day brought concerns to Kimberlee Carillo, front office supervisor (general manager was in mtgs. all day). She quickly took care of the situation and gave us fantastic service recovery. We moved to another room (second level) we were very happy with. The view was amazing! We promptly received a call from general manager stating he would inspect the room with the housekeepers/maintenence. My suggestion is to stay on 2nd or higher floor until rooms are remodeled. Only the common areas were remodeled but it is gorgeous. The front desk folks, bellman (esp. Travis), housekeepers were all friendly, warm and welcoming. I would also suggest bringing any concerns you have immediately to the attention of supervisor or manager so they can take care of them immediately then you can enjoy the rest of your stay as we did. We would come back. The beach out front of resort is beautiful, not swimmer friendly d/t reef but the pool is great.

Room Tip: Upgrade to larger ocean view rooms, other rooms very small. Stay on second floor---first floor smel...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,746)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,363 - 1,367 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

I have to be honest, I wasn't expecting much from some of the other reviews I read here and other travel websites, but I wasn't planning on spending a lot of time in the hotel room. When we arrived I was pleasantly surprised with the aesthetics of the hotel (and the complementary Mai Thai upon check-in!). They have recently finished a renovation of the common area spaces which featured an open-air lobby, and I'm assuming new landscaping/pool area. It was all very nicely done - the pool wasn't huge, but it's not a huge hotel.

I was also pleasantly surprised by the rooms. I expected the lobby to be nice because of the renovation, but thought the rooms might be kind of dumpy. They were actually very nice - decent size, our own lanai, a mini fridge, etc. If you're able to, stay on the 4th floor, the ceilings are vaulted and feel much more spacious.

I really liked the location of this hotel as well. It was our first time to Kauai, and Kapaa is on the east shore, making it a pretty central location to explore the rest of the island. There are some pretty good restaurants around (some even within walking distance) and some grocery stores too.

A couple things to remember/know:
-This hotel is on a beach, but it's not swimmable. However, you're likely to drive every day and there are some beautiful beaches that aren't too far from the hotel.
- There is a daily charge for parking
- If you're taking a red eye on the day you leave, they may be able to give you a later check-out; I asked for 4 pm and they graciously accommodated me. This let us explore the island while still having time/a place to shower before we left.

Overall our stay was really great and I would definitely recommend this hotel (especially for a first timer to Kauai).

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor have vaulated ceilings
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleyCVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Well-maintained property with a great outdoor space made for an enjoyable time. We got a great rate on a travelzoo purchase for our stay here. The pool area was a great place in the evening to enjoy a happy-hour Mai Tai around the fire pit. There were hammocks and large lounging sofa's that were big enough for 2 people to comfortably relax and wind down in. The hotel's location was close to the airport, downtown Kapaa, and most of the places we wanted to visit during our stay. The room and bed were comfortable, internet was fast, great flat screen tv, and ample refrigerator. The balcony was so small, it was pretty much not usable. The bathroom was very small and nothing special, but clean. Try the Eastside Restaurant for a great dinner, dessert, and fresh fruit martini's. The Olympic Cafe was great for basic entree's and burgers, beer, and a great view of the ocean and mountains.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upt0wnN0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The staff was incredibly friendly, the grounds were clean and beautiful, and the room felt luxurious with its vaulted ceiling, extremely comfortable bed/pillows, and A/C. It was affordable and relaxing to come back to after a day of hiking/snorkeling/exploring or just lounging at the pool or beach all day. We loved the open-air lobby that greets you as you walk in. The location on Kapaa was great. We will definitely stay there again and recommend this stay to others!

Room Tip: we were on the 4th (top) floor and the vaulted ceiling made the space seem huge
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTtraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The view, the view, the view...need I say more! We were upgraded (thanks Corey) to the executive ocean view room. The room was very large, nice size lanai but the bathroom was very small compared to the size of the room. I disagree with the complaints on decor. Not everything needs to be bright vibrant colors, I felt the dark wood and blues were just fine (maybe because I'm a dude). I agree with the other reviews that the furniture is not very comfortable but who spends a lot of time in your in room???
The grounds are large and well kept, the pool area is nice, pool is a little small for the property but again....who cares when you have so many awesome beaches to choose from. There are signs this is an older property but the renovations for the most part are well done.
We had breakfast at the restraunt and it was delicious and pretty reasonable.
The location of the hotel on the island was just right, not to far of a drive to anything and there are grocery stores within minutes.
Would we stay here again, yes by all means....but remember to upgrade to ocean front large room

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vinster7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
5.4 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
0.8 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.9 km away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 km away
Koloa Landing Resort
2.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
11.0 km away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: ₹ 11,050 - ₹ 18,887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing