We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,885)
Filter reviews
1,885 results
Traveller rating
708
758
280
84
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
708
758
280
84
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coconut marketplace ocean front sand bar free dvd rentals parking lot fridge and microwave oceanfront room small kitchenette trees lounge third floor general store partial ocean view every morning coffee maker hot tub no elevator north shore
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,885 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2018

If you want a low key, easy going atmosphere that is centrally located to everything, then this is your place. The price is very reasonable (check AirBnB and other websites before booking). This place is clean, comfortable, and directly on the beach. We loved it so much that we bought one of the units within weeks of staying here. My happy place!

Room tip: Beach front rooms are nice, but all of the rooms are within steps of the sand.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralfeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriM2616, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Aloha ralfeez!

Mahalo for your 5 stay review! Thank you for staying with us at The Aston Islander on the Beach and for taking the time to complete a review. Happy to hear you are new owners on property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

The room was fairly standard. Some appliances and clean. Great views and quiet location. Great location for accessing the beach and most anything on the island. The grounds are beautiful and accommodating. Restaurants and stores are within walking distance.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Net_Reh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriM2616, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Aloha Net_Reh,

Thank you for your 5 star review of Aston Islander on the Beach!
Thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.
A hui hou....until we meet again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

This was our first trip to Kauai and without knowing much about the island we picked the Aston Islander due to it's location and relative cheaper price compared to other places.
It's a very descent place to stay. Nothing fancy by any means but it gets the job done. Our room had a partial ocean view which was amazing. Property is usually very quiet at night but the walls can be a bit thin.
Our room has a small dorm fridge and microwave along with sink, kitchen towels and some basic kitchen supplies so you can have food, snacks in your room which was helpful.
The rooms are a bit dated but that was fine. Everything worked and it was very peaceful except for the chickens that cluck at various hours of the night but that is nothing the hotel has any control over.
There is also a nice pool bar which is open until 9pm. They make some great mai tai's and margarita's.
I would recommend this place and would definitely stay here again. If this is your first time to Kauai you can easily visit points north and south which are both within 45 minutes from the hotel. Plus there is a market within walking distance to pick up some basic food items; etc.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriM2616, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Aloha Stacy S!
Thank you for staying with us at The Aston Islander on the Beach and for taking the time to complete a review. Wonderful to hear you found your partial ocean view amazing and the pool bar drinks made just right. It is wonderful to hear you would recommend us and would definitely stay again. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

review for Appartment 325:
lovely appartment privately owned within a hotelcomplex set in plantation style amongst lush garden right at Kapaa beach. Appartment is very clean, interior decorated with love to the detail and all amenities provided (including boogieboard and beachumbrella). Plus the top location: it is located in the too floor of the building directly facing the beach (20m), so you wake up with view to sunrise over the ocean and go to sleep with sound of the waves.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank karint336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriM2616, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Aloha Karin T,

Mahalo for your 5 star review of your visit with us at The Aston Islander on the Beach! We are thrilled you found the accommodations lovely, clean and decorated with love. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day soon to your home away from home in Kauai.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

This was our third week long stay over many years. Aston Islander on the Beach has a great location, right on the beach, and a quiet friendly ambience. You can walk to the Marketplace for supplies and shopping and there are also a great range of restaurants within walking distance.
We upgraded to a ground floor ocean side room. It was great to be able to sit out and walk a few feet to the shore. A rare protected Monk Seal about 7 feet long enjoyed a few hours of sun on our beach this year in September. In a February visit a few years ago, we watched whales breaching offshore from our beach.
The rooms are comfortable and we just love the bronze “Hula Girl” lamps. The pool and bar area often has live music although we didn't spend much time at either, with so many things to do nearby, like Smith's Family Luau and River Cruises.
Overall, we would recommend the location highly.

Room tip: Ground floor ocean side is worth the extra. Great value!
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank W9549MNterrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriM2616, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Aloha W9549MNterrys,

Thank you for your 5 star review of your stay at The Aston Islander on the Beach! So wonderful to hear you are repeat guests who keep coming back. It is such a pleasure to have guests return year after year and get to get to know them as they become like family to us. Hope your next trip back is in the planning stages and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to your Kauai home soon!

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews