We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Montana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value, great staff”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at the Islander the first week of April, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. When we arrived we found that we had been upgraded to an ocean view room from a partial ocean view, and the view was great. We were just above the pool in the lanai building but noise was never a problem. I came in one day while the maid was cleaning the room and she very contritely held up my daughter's smart phone, explaining that it was hidden in the bedding and fell to the floor when she stripped the bed. She was concerned the phone might have broken, even though it was clearly my daughter's fault for leaving it under the covers of the bed. The phone was fine and I was impressed that the maid brought it to my attention. The location of the hotel is great for exploring the island in both directions, and there are good restaurants and stores within walking distance. All the kitsch you could ever hope to buy is available in the Coconut Marketplace, and the food at the Huikelau (sp?) restaurant next door is fabulous. Make reservations. The beach area is not suitable for swimming, but few hotel beaches on Kauai are, and the surf was generally very rough during our stay. The Islander is a very good location at a very good price.

Room Tip: Next time I think I would get an ocean front room to better enjoy the trade winds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaRangerRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    666
    248
    81
    50
See reviews for
209
1,013
77
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BRAZIL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is very nice and clean. It has free parking lot that gets full if you don´t arrive early and, right in front, a little mall right that was ok, not great as many people have said in their reviews (I personally expected more restaurants and it has just a couple of places where you can have a burger, and that´s it).
My bedroom was clean althought the bed could be a lot better. My mattress was U shaped... It had a nice balcony with ocean view, pool, beach, and very well maintained gardens.
We were overall satisfied but by the end I was questioning myself if kapaa is the best location in Kauai because you have to drive 25 miles to get to the good restaurants and shops which is important in Kauai, considering its many rainy days.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinleite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackinaw City, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here for the third straignt year. A very relaxing and quiet complex. The staff is very friendly and willing to assist when necessary. We were in Kaua during the bad weather the last week of February and the first week of March. Parking is still a minor problem (but free). The Coconut Grove Shoping center offers multiple places for food and drink. We will return here again next year.

Room Tip: We always reserve a Ocean Front Room. Ask for an upgrade when you arrive if you have a garden or oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Loved staying here. Had a room facing the ocean, which was great. Stayed on the 2nd floor, which is more private than the 1st floor, for a walking trail goes past the hotel, like all the others facing the ocean. Just steps from the beach. Nice pool area & bar. No restaurant, but went to TREES lounge next to the parking lot & had great cajun food & beer. They have live music every night. We went to Walmart to buy a coffeemaker for 10.00 & filters & Peet's coffee. The coffee maker in the room was only a 2 cup. Nice sized fridge & lower power microwave. Our bathroom fan was making a funny noise & it was fixed a couple hrs after we notified them. Our cable wasn't working right & that was fixed in a couple hrs also. Friendly & responsive staff.

Room Tip: facing the ocean but it's loud so we closed our sliding door at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibthesquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Overall a great location with very nice units but the parking lot is a disaster!

If you don't secure a parking spot by early evening you will be forced to circle the block, park illegally and risk getting towed. Cars are parked on garden beds, double parked, blocking vehicles, and along fire lanes....this is a disaster waiting to happen. Adjacent parking lots in the retail area are also off-limits for overnight parking according to the front desk.

I was advised to move my car into a space when a nearby bar closes at 2AM!

I have a parking pass....but not a parking space. So they can take the reservations, they just can't 'hold' the reservation.

I wouldn't stay here again unless I was taking a taxi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff-The_Ausmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for your review. Yes, we all agree that Parking is a problem and the owners and team here have been and continue to work on a solution.

There will soon be additional parking as we look to redesign the parking lot and hopefully negotiate an overflow parking agreement with the properties surrounding Islander on the Beach.

We look forward to a no hassle parking lot soon.

Aloha,

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, HI 96746

Tel 808 823-7600
sandi.kato-klutke@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
4.8 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
0.1 km away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
534 reviews
23.9 km away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
767 reviews
0.8 km away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
10.4 km away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Property: Aston Islander on the Beach
Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,283 - ₹ 15,709
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a stunning oceanfront location, Aston Islander on the Beach offers true island hospitality with warm service and convenient amenities. Contemporary tropical-inspired guest rooms include air-conditioning and private balconies. Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a refreshing welcome drink per guest, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing