We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sunrise's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunrise's”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Just returned from my first trip to Kauai & after much review of tripadvisor my husband and I decided to stay at this property. I can say that the only thing I was unhappy about was our 1 night in the sand bottom hot tub, where we had to listen to the resident Chiropractor hit on another tourist the whole time we were in it. Dr Smith I feel this is was not appropriate! But enough about that, the grounds were very well taken care of & seemed to me that every room on the inside had a nice view. we were on the ground floor in the D Building & could see the ocean from our lani. This property is also centrally located to enjoy both the North & South without seeming like you are in the car forever..The Resturant on property is also very good & has a great ocean view. all and all if I ever went back to Kauai I would stay here again. I would just stay away from the hot tub.

Room Tip: Stay on the inside of the building or you will only have a view of the parking lot & shopping ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkingnsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    364
    96
    56
    28
See reviews for
696
469
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We are currently staying at the resort. Two adults and four children. Be Aware!!!! You are only allowed one pool towel per day per person. (6 per day per room). If you ask for another, you will be denied a towel and then be called "irate" by the "boss" if you question this policy. Sad my children have had to dry off with wet towels each evening. Not what you expect when paying for an upper end resort. The room is nice and view is good. Room service is only every third day. If you want to swim in the ocean, its a good 20 minute drive. Would defnately choose another site in the future.

Room Tip: If you are paying for an ocean front room, check in advance it's truly ocean front. We origanall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My family stayed here in May of 2012 and had a great time. We have a ~2 year old daughter and she loved the pool, which is more like a river with water slides and a small man made beach! The room we stayed in was in excellent condition and very well furnished. Apparently most of the condo's are furnished the same. Since we have a noon nap schedule, having a nicely furnished condo was important to us.

I gave it 4 out of 5 stars as I found the kitchen amenities to be very cheap (very low quality kitchen knives, etc), some of the beach towels to be a little tired, and there was no laundry detergent either provided or sold at the complex (the note said conveniently located at the grocery store), which is not convenient when you want to do laundry right then! That said, as the note pointed out both the Safeway and the Foodland grocery store are a 5 min walk away. I didn't see single packet HE detergent though.

Finally one should note that Kapaa isn't really a great beach scene. We knew this and planned on driving to Poi'pu and Hanalei Bay most days. We usually did half day trips with the afternoon back at the condo complex.

If you want a beach at your resort this is not the place for you.

Finally, a couple of suggestions, (1) at a minimum get the partial ocean view, the other views look out over a parking lot (2) you can rent through outrigger or through local agents or vrbo I believe so you might want to see where you can get your best deal (3) bring some HE detergent with you in your luggage!

Finally we quite liked the restaurant at the complex (Oasis), it was very good.

Mahalo

Room Tip: Check on VRBO, through local agents and Outrigger for the best deal. Get a partial ocean view at le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF-Traveler-RH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed for 3 days in a 2 bedroom, 3 bath unit in March
Pros - good pool, excellent rooms, market across the road, not too far from airport, whirlpool spa
Cons - Bad beach - cant swim, cant enjoy, extremely expensive restaurant
Would not recommend it to a couple on their honeymoon, but an excellent place for a family. Beach is non existent.
Tip - Do not blow your money on partial ocean view; IMO, partial is also an overstatement. I would strongly recommend the resorts near Lihue. But for a family who is out just to enjoy a property, its a decent choice.

Room Tip: Dont go for partial ocean view - its overpriced and the view is not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhinav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This property is deluxe. The units are huge, with very nice finishes and high-end appliances. Everything is kept in great shape and our unit was very clean. The pool, water slides and hot tubs are great. Restaurant is really good, but a bit expensive, although they do have half-portions that you can order and good quality kids menu (like smaller portions of grilled fish and steak for dinner). The kitchens are well stocked and we were able to make pretty much any meal we wanted to. The outdoor BBQ's worked well too. Only thing that would've been nice for them to provide are coffee filters. They do give you a couple starter packs of coffee though and there's a couple grocery stores across the street. They also give you dish soap but no laundry detergent. I would ask the front desk if anyone left any before buying some because everyone we knew there had purchased some!

This is definitely a great place for families with kids but I don't know if I would enjoy it as much if I were here without kids. It could be too noisy for some people who are looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation.

Quick tip:

-Foodland (grocery store) prices seemed a little better than Safeway if you set up an account with them, similar to a Safeway card. It only takes a minute at the cash register.

Room Tip: -Mountain view looks out at Safeway and Garden view looks out at the parking lot but 2nd/3rd floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faerdla_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Property: Waipouli Beach Resort
Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,257 - ₹ 29,551
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing