We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property, ordinary beach, good for families, not for couple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed for 3 days in a 2 bedroom, 3 bath unit in March
Pros - good pool, excellent rooms, market across the road, not too far from airport, whirlpool spa
Cons - Bad beach - cant swim, cant enjoy, extremely expensive restaurant
Would not recommend it to a couple on their honeymoon, but an excellent place for a family. Beach is non existent.
Tip - Do not blow your money on partial ocean view; IMO, partial is also an overstatement. I would strongly recommend the resorts near Lihue. But for a family who is out just to enjoy a property, its a decent choice.

Room Tip: Dont go for partial ocean view - its overpriced and the view is not worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhinav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,416)
There are newer reviews for Waipouli Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

842 - 846 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

This property is deluxe. The units are huge, with very nice finishes and high-end appliances. Everything is kept in great shape and our unit was very clean. The pool, water slides and hot tubs are great. Restaurant is really good, but a bit expensive, although they do have half-portions that you can order and good quality kids menu (like smaller portions of grilled fish and steak for dinner). The kitchens are well stocked and we were able to make pretty much any meal we wanted to. The outdoor BBQ's worked well too. Only thing that would've been nice for them to provide are coffee filters. They do give you a couple starter packs of coffee though and there's a couple grocery stores across the street. They also give you dish soap but no laundry detergent. I would ask the front desk if anyone left any before buying some because everyone we knew there had purchased some!

This is definitely a great place for families with kids but I don't know if I would enjoy it as much if I were here without kids. It could be too noisy for some people who are looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation.

Quick tip:

-Foodland (grocery store) prices seemed a little better than Safeway if you set up an account with them, similar to a Safeway card. It only takes a minute at the cash register.

Room Tip: -Mountain view looks out at Safeway and Garden view looks out at the parking lot but 2nd/3rd floor r...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faerdla_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Only ate there once. I ordered cottage pie, what was presented was a burnt thin creamy potato covering over some pieces meat in a thin gravy. Any chef reviewing this meal would have been horrified. My wife had a similar experience with her meal, both meals not edible.

Room Tip: Eat elsewhere.
Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank malbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We spent 7 nights here, in a 2 bedroom, 3 bath ocean view unit. It was huge, with large kitchen and living room, even 3 TVs, but there were definite drawbacks. We were two adults, mother and adult son, so the two bedrooms were nice to have. But we hadn't realized that because of the size of the units almost all guests had small children, so the atmosphere, especially on the pool side, was similar to a school playground at recess time. Very noisy. Many parents had ground floor units so they could let the kids out to play on the grass outside their units, even on our ocean view side. So if I expected to sit on the lanai enjoying the view or reading a book I had to listen to the squeals and screams of small children with no peace and quiet. We deliberately scheduled our stay after the usual Easter school vacation but hadn't considered there would be so many pre-school kids, many families with two or three. Other drawbacks, 1. very unpleasant old and deaf man at the reception desk when we checked in. We had booked ocean front but when the upper floor we had requested wasn't available, and I wasn't comfortable with a ground floor unit for security reasons, we downgraded to ocean view, which was 3rd floor and satisfactory. 2.The dishwasher in our unit was labeled out of order when we checked in. We were finally advised that a part from the mainland was necessary to repair it so I washed dishes by hand all week, though we didn't do any serious cooking anyway. 3.The beach is narrow and guests are advised to stay out of the ocean because the surf there is so rough. So it is not a good location for enjoying the beach. All things considered, despite the nice large units, I would not care to stay there again.

Room Tip: We had H building ocean view side which was close to the ocean and quieter than pool side, though st...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travellernot2rist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My family and I had the most wonderful experience at the Waipouli Beach Resort. It's located in the most convenient area on the island, halfway between the North and South sides of the island so that you don't spend the whole day in the car driving between attractions. The hotel itself is lovely, with spacious condos that boast high-end appointments and lovely views. The first unit we checked into unfortunately had a VERY pungent odor of roasted pig (strange, and incredibly pervasive). None of us eats pork and the smell was so strong we all became nauseated despite opening every window and having two gentlemen from the hotel come up to investigate the source of the smell and spray Febreeze on every single surface). After one night in the stinky room the hotel kindly changed our condo and everything was a breeze (sweet-smeling) after that. Everyone was incredibly accommodating and helpful and we will definitely stay here again in the future. Mahalo!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadiecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: ₹ 14,773 - ₹ 31,433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing