We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome anniversary trip, but a great place for families as well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Wife and I stayed here for two nights before traveling to Maui for the rest of our vacation. The resort is awesome and one of the best values we have ever experienced. The location in Kapaa is great--immediately across the street from a Safeway, Starbucks, McDonalds and Subway. We also liked staying in Kapaa as it allowed us to explore both the north (Hanalei) and south (Poipu).

Kauai is beautiful, and we prefer it to Maui. The island is very laid back and not commercialized. Tunnels beach is one of our favorite spots of all time.

We stayed in a hotel room, which was well appointed and very luxurious. There was a large walk-in shower; however, there is not much room in the bathroom to put toiletries, but it was a minor inconvenience. We had an ocean view room, which we did not expect. Paid $159 per night, which is an all time steal for this place.

Staff were extremely friendly, pool was awesome. We felt very relaxed even though there were many families with young kids all around us. Next time we will definitely stay here and bring our kids!!

Stayed: April 2012
6  Thank enmooss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 866 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

We rented through VRBO this time rather than a travel agent booking directly with the Outrigger...much cheaper!! We booked unit E206, a one-bedroom unit. It was beautiful. It has been recently redone in November of 2011. It is very clean and provides dishwasher detergent, laundry detergent, loads of towels, beach towels, blankets, extra pillows. The view is beautiful over the pool and the ocean beyond. There was a very noisy buzzing periodically in the hall outside the room but it was never heard within the unit. The unit itself was quiet and we were never disturbed by neighbors. The lanai was beautiful to relax on and we could watch the sunrise from the bedroom or the living room! The bedroom has a king size bed and the couch is a bed as well. I emailed the owner a couple of times with questions and she was always quick to respond. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the G building overlooking the parking lot and it was lovely to sit on the lanai i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IslandGirl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed for a week in a private (F403) Condo at the resort. Great unit in a great location. The grounds were clean and in great shape. The pool was an adventure everyday for the kids. We had a great view of the sleeping giant mountain and the ocean. The location is on the east shore which gave us access to both the North and South hot spots. The units are spacious and very comfortable. The restaurants and shops of Waipouli and Kapaa are at your doorstep. We prepared and ate breakfast and most lunches at the resort and ate out in the evening depending on where we were on the island.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side away from the pool which turned out to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaykayCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We just returned from a ten day stay at the Waipouli Beach Resort in Kauai and were very impressed. The two bedroom, three bathroom suite was a great size for our family of four. We had a ocean view room that overlooked the pool on the 4th floor and we were very happy with the view, the quietness, and the space. The check-in was fast and efficient. The conceirge service was helpful, friendly and not pushy. The house-keeping service was fine, some days better than others.

The pool was a fun shape and size for the kids although it was a bit chilly on some days. It seemed to be more heated on other days. We never had an issue with lack of towels (as reported by some others). Six towels a day was enough for our family and we often took them up to our room and threw them in the dryer. There is plenty of grass space to play ball or other games.

The resort is on the ocean, but is not safe for swimming and was not a long stretch for walking. However, we enjoyed being right next to the Kapaa bike trail along the ocean and used it often for running and biking. We are also types that like exploring, so travelling to different beaches was not an issue for us.
We ate lunch at the Oasis (restaurant by the pool overlooking the ocean) and were impressed. We always meant to go back for dinner, but never got around to it. You can bring your own food and drink to the pool area and there are many tables to sit at.

The location of this resort was central and easy to go north or south. However, we were a bit disappointed with the restaraunt choices in the area and never did find one that impressed us.
When we travelled to Poipu, we found many great restaurants. However, that area is very crowded.

Tips:
I wouldn't chose this resort if I did not have a young family. I wouldn't choose this resort if I wanted a large swimming-lane type pool, or if I wanted pool-side service and beach activity. I would choose this resort for the large condo-type room with lots of space and amenities, a fun pool for the kids and a quiet safe environment for the family.
Bring bug spray, you will need it for the hikes or other outdoor adventures. I also got quite bitten sitting out on our deck at night.
We did the "Tubing the Ditch" adventure and "Outfitters Safari". Both were excellent for our ages of kids (10 and 8). The helicopeter ride was a little boring for the kids (not worth the money).
On the last day, we had to check-out at 12:00, yet our flight wasn't until 9:00 that evening. This resort did offer us a hospitality room to use (meaning a room to shower and change). We decided to go elsewhere. We went to the Marriott in Lihue and for $110 were give an ocean view room for the day. It was the perfect way to spend the last day. This place had lots of pool and beach side service and fun restaurants. We enjoyed our day there, but would not have been able to spend a long period of time in a hotel environment. The space and kitchen at Waipouli Beach Resort was better for us long term. If we went back, I'd probably do part time in a hotel environment that had lots of action and then have quieter time in a condo like Waipouli Beach resort.

Room Tip: I would step up and get an ocean view or ocean front. You do not want a room over-looking the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeanetteKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We spend 6 nights in a two bedroom, 2 bath unit that was located with a fantastic ocean view. This place is amazing!!! The pools and the grounds were continually cleaned and monitored for cleanliness every morning and evening. There was security walking around continually at night and we felt the utmost in safety for our children during the day or night. The Oasis Restaurant was located right outside the gated area and we could see our unit H306 from the restaurant and were able to leave our kids inside the condo while we ate. The kitchen is fully stocked and felt like home. The appliances both in the kitchen and laundry are top of the line and very efficient. We continually kept up with the laundry. This condo is located across the street from a Starbucks, Safeway Grocery Store (large full service), restaurants and Subway shop. We had everything we needed within walking distance. We are hooked now on the condo way of living while in Hawaii and it is due to this condo experience. The spa was also very nice and located on the property. The maid service is limited so don't expect that to be top of the line but they kept us in fresh towels and the place was kept clean. There is plenty of onsite parking along with a concierge that helps in planning activities. Some of the units are owned but you would not know because they are kept standard across the line. There are 4 bar-b-que (gas) pits and are always being used but always available too. Some families complained about the long codes we had to memorize to access the pool area, but really? This is not a big deal people, we are in Hawaii and that is all we have to remember! The Oasis restaurant is 5 star too with phenomenal food and drinks. We will be back to stay here again without hesitation!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean View since you can see the ocean as if you were in the Ocean Front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PharmaRep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: ₹ 15,742 - ₹ 35,613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing