We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
17 Palms Kauai
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
297
31
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
297
31
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeli melihale ikibedroom cottagethe cottageswithin walking distanceboogie boardsexcellent hoststhought of everythingthoughtful detailsfresh fruitbeautiful cottagehome away from homethe kitchenbeach chairsshort drivekorean bbqmango
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Our first trip to Kauai and it was perfect. One can stay at a hotel anywhere, but to really experience the local flavor of Kauai we would highly recommend 17 Palms. Jeff and Ross have put tlc into their lovely cottage and we felt very comfortable and happy there. We'll definitely be back! Thanks Jeff and Ross for a truly lovely holiday!
Lynda and Peter, Arizona

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndah405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This was our first trip to Kauai, and the islands for that matter. The cottage set us up for everything we were looking to get into. A quiet setting located close to town and pretty much mid-point on "the road", you couldn't ask for a better launching pad and soulful resting spot than Meli Meli.

Jeff & Ross thought of everything so all home comforts are taken care of down to sharp knives in the cupboard! We were lucky enoug to be there the 1s week in June and timed it perfectly with a "Taste of Hawaii". We can't recommend it highly enough! GO!

Close to the water, tucked away yet walking distance to Kintaro's (again, just go) and Eggberts, getting out is easy. Though lying under the fans for a nap is heaven, and more than a few beverages were prepared at the counter to just enjoy in the kitchen. With so much going on outside being able to relax inside was a welcome end to the day.

We strongly recommend 17 Palms! We are both counting the days when we return! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My new hubby and I loved Meli Meli- it was the perfect jumping off point throughout our honeymoon. Ross and Jeff have thought of everything (coolers, beach towels, guide book, beach chairs/umbrella, etc) that you would need on your trip! Huge help and saves you money bringing your own or buying when you get there. The bedding is so comfortable and the kitchen's well-appointed. We saved money being able to cook a few meals but enjoyed walking to dinner and the fun bar nearby, Trees.

Also, even though it was just us, we noted several times that a family would do well to rent both cottages and put the kids in one, parents in another- safe setup for both parties but allows kids to have fun and parents to enjoy some privacy... :) We will certainly aim to return to this lovely abode near the beach!

Room Tip: Kapaa is a bit more commercial and heavily populated than other areas of the island, which is not a negative since you get more restaurants and shops, but it's worth noting if you're looking for something a little quieter....that said, Meli Meli is shaded and gated, enclosed in bamboo fencing and tucked behind palm trees...so it's a haven while still being walking distance to some great restaurants and shops- and of course, the beach! It's also very well located if you're looking to explore the whole island because Kapaa is equidistant from the mountains/beaches of the north shore and the white sands/old Hawaii-style towns of the south shore.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMHDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

If you look for some place to feel at home while you're away, that's the one.
The Hale Iki cottage is equipped with everything you need if you don't want to spend your time and your money eating out or renting stuff. There are many appliances for cooking, several bodyboards, beach seats...
Decorated with Japanese-style objects and furniture, nice colors, Hale Iki is perfectly clean and very pleasant. Sitting on the porch with our coffee watching the geckos and birds was our daily treat (beware of the mosquitoes, though).
Also, since we had to work during our stay, it was also great to have a *real* high-speed internet connection, unlike the really bad shared connections you find in many places.
The location has the advantage of being half way between north and south shores, so we always had enough time in a day to explore each shore and do great hiking.

Several grocery stores and the nice Kapaa old town are 5 minutes away.
There's even a small beach within 5 minutes walk, but now very swimmable. If you're looking for some "big beach time", you'll have to take your car or rent bikes.

At last, the bookbinder written by Jeff and Ross was full of good suggestions and advice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertrand P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My husband and I and our 20 yr old daughter found this lovely well equipped cabin a short stroll from the beach on Trip Advisor. Correspondence from the owners was quick and thorough.There was a small mall next door and although it was close to a main road, it was very quiet. We were greeted with some lovely fruit and chocolates and found everything in the cabin that we needed including lawn chairs and boogie boards.The kitchen was equipped with good quality dishes and equipment and the beds were super comfy! No air conditioning but that didn't matter because there were lots of fans and the cabin stayed cool.A wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceykl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews