We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Cottage in Kauai”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 17 Palms Kauai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
17 Palms Kauai
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Hanalei, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweet Cottage in Kauai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

It's a perfect Hawaiian cottage and in a great location. It's close to the beach, restaurant, shops, and market. Meli Meli is stocked with everything you can ever want. The apointments are tastefully Hawaiian and very comfortable. Jeff and Ross take great pleasure in sharing their love of Kauai with all their guests and feel so lucky to have discovered their rental.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nami1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    31
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
64
189
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Our first trip to Kauai and it was perfect. One can stay at a hotel anywhere, but to really experience the local flavor of Kauai we would highly recommend 17 Palms. Jeff and Ross have put tlc into their lovely cottage and we felt very comfortable and happy there. We'll definitely be back! Thanks Jeff and Ross for a truly lovely holiday!
Lynda and Peter, Arizona

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndah405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This was our first trip to Kauai, and the islands for that matter. The cottage set us up for everything we were looking to get into. A quiet setting located close to town and pretty much mid-point on "the road", you couldn't ask for a better launching pad and soulful resting spot than Meli Meli.

Jeff & Ross thought of everything so all home comforts are taken care of down to sharp knives in the cupboard! We were lucky enoug to be there the 1s week in June and timed it perfectly with a "Taste of Hawaii". We can't recommend it highly enough! GO!

Close to the water, tucked away yet walking distance to Kintaro's (again, just go) and Eggberts, getting out is easy. Though lying under the fans for a nap is heaven, and more than a few beverages were prepared at the counter to just enjoy in the kitchen. With so much going on outside being able to relax inside was a welcome end to the day.

We strongly recommend 17 Palms! We are both counting the days when we return! Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My new hubby and I loved Meli Meli- it was the perfect jumping off point throughout our honeymoon. Ross and Jeff have thought of everything (coolers, beach towels, guide book, beach chairs/umbrella, etc) that you would need on your trip! Huge help and saves you money bringing your own or buying when you get there. The bedding is so comfortable and the kitchen's well-appointed. We saved money being able to cook a few meals but enjoyed walking to dinner and the fun bar nearby, Trees.

Also, even though it was just us, we noted several times that a family would do well to rent both cottages and put the kids in one, parents in another- safe setup for both parties but allows kids to have fun and parents to enjoy some privacy... :) We will certainly aim to return to this lovely abode near the beach!

Room Tip: Kapaa is a bit more commercial and heavily populated than other areas of the island, which is not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMHDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

If you look for some place to feel at home while you're away, that's the one.
The Hale Iki cottage is equipped with everything you need if you don't want to spend your time and your money eating out or renting stuff. There are many appliances for cooking, several bodyboards, beach seats...
Decorated with Japanese-style objects and furniture, nice colors, Hale Iki is perfectly clean and very pleasant. Sitting on the porch with our coffee watching the geckos and birds was our daily treat (beware of the mosquitoes, though).
Also, since we had to work during our stay, it was also great to have a *real* high-speed internet connection, unlike the really bad shared connections you find in many places.
The location has the advantage of being half way between north and south shores, so we always had enough time in a day to explore each shore and do great hiking.

Several grocery stores and the nice Kapaa old town are 5 minutes away.
There's even a small beach within 5 minutes walk, but now very swimmable. If you're looking for some "big beach time", you'll have to take your car or rent bikes.

At last, the bookbinder written by Jeff and Ross was full of good suggestions and advice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertrand P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.2 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.2 km away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
4.9 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
1.4 km away
Waipouli Beach Resort
0.9 km away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Palms Kauai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Palms Kauai

Property: 17 Palms Kauai
Address: 414 Wailua Kai St, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1457
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,034 - ₹ 26,598
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Palms Kauai is comprised of two Kauai vacation cottages in a garden setting chosen by Conde Nast Traveller Mag. As "one of the 5 perfect places to stay on Kauai" - a private oasis adjacent to Wailua Bay, one of Kauai's most popular beaches (made famous in Elvis' Blue Hawaii). Everything you need during your Kauai vacation is a short walk, located across the street from the beach path and one block from tons of restaurants and shops, rentals, etc. These are fully equipped, free-standing homes with complete amenities including complete kitchens, laundry, dishwasher, sharp knives!, Wi-Fi, and many other niceties, a true home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 17 Palms Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Palms Kauai Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing