We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love our Little Bungalow!”
Review of 17 Palms Kauai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
17 Palms Kauai
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Love our Little Bungalow!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed for a week in February and loved it! The Meli Meli home is wonderful: well-equipped, beautfully laid out with bamboo furniture, great decor, comfortable beds and lots of room for a family. The 'baby beach' was a haven - grab a boogie board from the cottage (great supplies) and let the little one (almost 3) paddle, float and play to his heart's content in a very safe place. Down the road is Kapaa with my favorite coffee/treats and great restaurants. Within walking distance is an easy, family friendly pizza place and other coffee and edibles. We usually stay in the South end and were so happily surprised how much easier and more relaxed the East coast was (convenient to get anywhere as well). Meli Meli was a treat, and since we got a lot of rain, we really enjoyed having a nice indoor space to be in. Can't be beat!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    31
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
196
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Iqaluit, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The location couldn't be any better. The cottage is very well equipped and the tradewinds that go through the place is the best AC you could ever ask for!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank multie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed in the Meli Meli cottage in February 2012. We loved being so close to a kid-friendly beach, and having access to the boogie boards, chairs, beach towels, and umbrellas that Jeff and Ross provided. We walked to some of the local restaurants and enjoyed Mexican and Japanese food as well as a lovely bakery, all within a five minute walk from the cottage. We were welcomed by Jeff upon arrival, who brought us fresh produce from the farmers market. The cottage was well-appointed and charming, and we were very comfortable. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaV729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our family spent the 2011 Christmas holidays on Kauai. We stayed in the Meli Meli Cottage at 17 Palms, which turned out to be the ideal place for our family of four (2 adults, 2 teenagers). We heartily concur with the detailed description the owners, Jeff and Ross, provide on the website. The cottage is tastefully furnished and extremely comfortable, equipped with every possible amenity (washer/dryer, beachchairs, boogey boards, towels, sunhats, plenty of bath towels, fans, blankets, hairdryer, etc.). We all thought the beds were very comfortable and we particularly appreciated the lovely Charisma sheets. Though we didn’t do much “real” cooking (not with so many genuinely good restaurants on the island), we were happy to avail ourselves of the fully functional appliances such as a blender, coffee maker, and toaster, as well as good cookware.

Jeff and Ross put together a binder of very useful information about the island in general as well as neighborhood hangouts. In fact, we ended up walking to a couple of restaurants that were just around the corner, giving us the tourist’s illusion that we were doing what the locals do. That binder and the indispensable “The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook: Kauai Revealed“ were all we needed in the way of sightseeing, shopping, and dining advice. We also appreciated that Jeff and Ross were open to phone calls about just about anything. Suggestions for maintaining the place during our stay were reasonable, in other words, treat the place as you would your own.

Meli Meli is a wonderful, impeccably maintained, and neighborly place to stay. Having such a well-situated home base made our stay all the more enjoyable. We would recommend 17 Palms to travelers that prefer to stay in a cozy, fully furnished house instead of a condo or resort. We can't wait to go back. – Bagby Underwood Family, Oakland, CA

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank C_Bagby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heriot Bay
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We were a couple staying in the Meli Meli cottage at the end of January 2012. We were able to squeeze 5 days in between other reservations. First of all I have to say that Jeff is very organized right from the start of the reservation to the key pad entry at the cottage when you arrive. The cottage is tastefully decorated with retro hawaiian details and comfortable bamboo furnishings. It is immaculate. The cottage is not on the beach if this is important to you but accessed via a path across the street through a condominum property. We left early every morning to do 3 - 8 miles hikes, kayaking, biking, dining, drinking and dancing. Please take note of the comments made by beach goers. There were chairs and huge beach towels and a cooler and other miscellaneous items. What was important to us was coming back after a wonderful tiring day of exploring to our retreat and the most amazing comfortable bed and pillows and linen. If you're used to staying in this type of accommodation then you're comfortable that there may be some dry ingredients left behind by other travellers that really comes in handly. Everything is up to date. The cottage is centrally located to access all activities in the north and the south. If you need anything - all you have to do is call Jeff. Please make sure you answer the phone or respond to his message on the answering machine or he'll worry about you! He's a fantastic off the property host.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuadraKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.2 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
4.9 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,313 reviews
0.2 km away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
346 reviews
10.8 km away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
793 reviews
23.7 km away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Palms Kauai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Palms Kauai

Property: 17 Palms Kauai
Address: 414 Wailua Kai St, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1457
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,833 - ₹ 23,566
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Palms Kauai is comprised of two Kauai vacation cottages in a garden setting chosen by Conde Nast Traveller Mag. As "one of the 5 perfect places to stay on Kauai" - a private oasis adjacent to Wailua Bay, one of Kauai's most popular beaches (made famous in Elvis' Blue Hawaii). Everything you need during your Kauai vacation is a short walk, located across the street from the beach path and one block from tons of restaurants and shops, rentals, live music, coffee roaster, farmer's market, etc. These are fully equipped, free-standing homes with complete amenities including complete kitchens, laundry, dishwasher, sharp knives!, Wi-Fi, and many other niceties, a true home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 17 Palms Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Palms Kauai Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing