We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plantation Hale will surprise you!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plantation Hale Suites
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My travel agent apologized for having to book us at this condo complex due to our late planning of this vacation. We had no expectation of this place, and then when we drove up and saw the beautiful area we were pleasantly surprised! The staff was very friendly, the condos were clean, and nicer than most hotels. We were in close proximity of so many things, such as airport, Costco, shopping, and adventure!! The price was great, the space in the condo was generous, and we had a fantastic week in Kauai, even though it rained hard most of the week! I found that rain brings waterfalls and beautiful rainbows! The experience was super!

Room Tip: Ocean view is best, but garden view is just fine! You don't spend enough time in the condo to j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dawnedwardsVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

607 - 611 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

We found Plantation Hale after being evacuated from our previous hotel during the early March flooding. It was not flooded, it was dry, it had electricity and a bed and that was all we asked the first night.
In the morning, we discovered a pleasant kitchen, comfortable living room, balcony, plenty of storage and a blissfully hot shower. (This was the only week on Kauai that knee socks and hip waders were appropriate!)
Checked out of our former lodgings, moved into the Plantation and felt at home. It's got a comfortable ambiance, unpretentious and easy, that was welcoming. The kitchen worked well (although the knives badly need sharpening!) and we cooked a couple of lovely meals there.
Our original reservations had been for the North Coast, so when the flooding there subsided, we packed up and headed north. BIG mistake. Should have trusted my instinct and stayed where we were comfortable, walking the beaches, eating fish and fruit.
All our staff interactions were excellent: warm, helpful, and professional. We would like to suggest that some work be done on the sliding door tracks (patio and closet) and thought the air conditioner setup pretty jerry-rigged but other reviews indicate this may be in the works.
Would we stay here again? You betcha! You should too, if you want a clean, relaxed, non-fancy place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank goodegg2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear goodegg2004, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us under the circumstances. It was quite a ride with the rain. I agree with you we have a warm helpful staff. I will share your comments with them. I can report the sun has returned. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our beautiful Island...Aloha, and Mahalo for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Just returned from a week in Kauai.
We picked this location by reading reviwes from other travelers.
We arrived late at night and someone was waiting for us at the office. Great welcome.
Suites were nice and clean and we had everything we need.
Staff is very friendly and helpfull.
Ideal for families. Complex has 3 pools and also barbeques for your use.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank julka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Our recent stay at Plantation Hale last February was really great. The Front desk staff was friendly, courteous, accommodating and greeted us with smiles upon arrival. They explained the layout of the Hotel, nearby pools and gas grills for guests to use. The Concierge/ Activities desk staff was amazing, especially Hilli who arranged a variety of activities for us during our weeklong stay (would definitely recommend the Blue Dolphin catamaran sailing trip). They also have an extensive DVD library as well when you just want to stay in and relax for the evening.

All the rooms are suites and nicely appointed with a kitchenette completely stocked to accommodate 4 guests. Our suite was recently renovated, and very well appointed with 2 full size beds and a very nice bathroom. From our 2nd floor (bedroom & living room) room we had a direct view of an open field looking directly onto the beach. Great walking trails along the beach, and everyone we meet along the beach were very pleasant… you could tell we all were on vacation and everyone was in the Aloha spirit. Thank you all at Plantation Hale for making our stay special, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SpeedyHollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My fiancé and I recently stayed at Plantation Hale Suites. Wow. Coming from California, it’s hard not to be blown away by the amazing beaches and surrounding national parks (the hotel is ideally located for both), which is why the overall service and amenities were even more notable. Really everything we were looking for in our week-long vacation was provided through the hotel. There is an activities desk right on the property, and when we weren’t exploring the island kayaking/ hiking/ snorkeling (side note: the drive to Poipu with the tunnel of trees was unreal), we felt right at home in our suite. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous throughout, going out of their way to make us feel at home. In fact, we decided to stay in one night and have a “vacation from our vacation”, grilling Mahi-Mahi from the local seafood market right in our yard, and then watching a movie from a surprisingly large DVD library. We also ate at the Hukilau Restaurant one of the nights. I’m usually pretty skeptical of resort restaurants, but the food and service was incredible (and did not feel like a tourist place, which I hate).

Even though it was a Hawaiian vacation, we were still trying to be somewhat frugal. For a beachside property (Waipouli Beach is right across from the hotel) with large suites, full kitchen and a BBQ to boot, Plantation Hale was a killer deal. I saw on line the hotel offered rental cars, we called and got a better deal than available through any of the car rental companies we searched.

Overall, Plantation Hale Suites was a great experience and highly recommended. A special Mahalo to Mercy, Priscilla, and our housekeeper. We will be back…..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BruinMaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

DearBruinMaverick, We are thrilled you and your fiance enjoyed your time with us. It is our goal to make our guests feel like they are at home. Thank you also for acknowledging Mercy, Priscilla, and our housekeeping team....I will share your comments with them. If I may make a suggestion, the Hukilau caters incredible weddings. Thank you so much for your kind words and your patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Aloha...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
5.3 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
0.6 km away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
72 reviews
0.5 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
2.7 km away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
371 reviews
11.2 km away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Hale Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hale Suites

Address: 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1496
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: ₹ 10,605 - ₹ 18,319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plantation Hale Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Hale Suites is located in the heart of Kauai on the scenic Royal Coconut Coast and steps away from Waipouli Beach. Enjoy spacious one bedroom suite accommodations (738 sq ft) with the finest amenities such as full kitchens and private lanais. Suites sleep up to six people. High speed Wi Fi,Flat Screen LCD TV's with Cable (60 preimum channels)Blu-Ray DVD, Movie library,350 DVD's. Planation Hale has three outdoor pools,(4)picnic and BBQ areas, whirlpool spas, Shuffle Board. The resort offers several restaurants, full Concierge and Activities Desk, mini market, ATM, and a SPA. Located nearby, Golf, Tennis, Horseback Riding, Wailua River and Kayaking,Opaeka'a Falls, Waimea Canyon, Hiking Trails. Kauai's best location and value. great for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. Our dedicated staff welcomes you with the true Aloha spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plantation Hale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hale Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Kapaa Best Western
Plantation Hale Suites Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing