We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“very disappointing for the price ...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lae Nani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lae Nani
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“very disappointing for the price ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We're not real picky people but we wouldn't stay at the Outrigger Lae Nani again despite the grounds, beach and pool area. Granted, it's proximity to shopping and restaurants is good and we did appreciate the large lanai and free parking, but we were not impressed at all with the condition of #436. The walls and furniture are beat up and dirty and the carpets, floors and bedroom drapes are filthy. There's a sign at the entrance requesting people to take their shoes off but when we did, our feet ended up absolutely black. The coffee maker leaked, the toaster barely toasted and two of the stove burners didn't work. The ceiling fan is woefully inadequate to keep it cool enough for sleeping at night and although there was a floor fan provided, it also did not work. All in all, not a happy experience.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheJets0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    71
    22
    16
    5
See reviews for
58
105
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

It appears that the Lae Nani is a collection of individually owned condos. Some units are nicer than others. Our unit (336) was an older two-bedroom with a queen in the master suite and two single beds in the other. The kitchen was well equiped with plenty of utinsils and even a blender for those tropical drinks. Loved having the louvred windows open at night to let in the fresh, plumeria-scented breezes. No internet service in our unit but there was a DVD/VCR player and a second TV in the master suite. Very clean with good maid service; however, they did change out towels that should have stayed. Nicely landscaped property that's well kept. Nice little pool area. The beach was rather small.
Our flight landed in the evening and it was a little tricky finding the place, the front is not well lit. Luckily, I ran into the security guard who gave us the keys and showed us to the unit. He even carried our bags to the thrid floor for me and my 77 year-old mother. Very courteous gentleman. The manager was also was very helpful the next morning, suggesting some place for breakfast and lending me a phone charger.
Very nearby is a little shopping center, the Coconut Market Place, that's somewhat beyond it's time. However, we really enjoyed the free hula show on Wednesday at 5:00. The kieki (children) were wonderful. Support the hula school with a donation or purchase one of their beauitful leis.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom ocean view apartment at the beginning of April. This hotel is a collection of apartments and did not have a restaurant - but had fantastic gardens by the beach and a small but lovely pool. The apartment itself was outdated and in need of renovation. The ocean view was also distant - but the large balcony was a great place to eat - the full kitchen was great. The location was off the main road and central to most things on the island - but lacked the beauty of some of the southern and northern beaches . Overall not a bad choice - but do not expect luxury.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tattmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed several weeks in Unit 416 Feb 2012, corner ground floor unit, garden view only, carpet stained, but vacuumed. Kitchen cabinets chipped especially door to garbage under sink. Kitchen wallpaper peeling above window. Toilet in master leaks and self-fills very often. Twin beds in second bedroom are very saggy and creak loudly with even the gentlest of movement. Daily maid service excellent at changing linens (obviously no water conservation here), never swept patio once. Excellent location. Large lawns, nice landscaping. Pool is heated to same temp as ocean. 20 min walk to grocery and restaurants. Tennis raquets available at front desk. Management said they contact owners regularly to tell them to update and maintain the suite. Obviously not enforced.

Room Tip: rent directly from owners rather than outrigger may help get a maintained suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here from January 17 til the 24th. The location is perfect, as you are equidistant to both the north and south sides of the island. We stayed in unit #224 which had a nice view of the pool and ocean. The unit was clean and spacious, although it could use a little updating, but we were only in the condo at night, so it didnt bother us in the least.

We arrived at night so it was a little tricky to find because it's on a side road and nestled in between a couple other places, but we had called ahead to let the front desk know we would be a late arrival, and they emailed us instructions and directions to the condos. Very nice personnel all around!

For the value and location, this place can't be beat! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewBerlinkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.1 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.1 km away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
4.8 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 km away
Koloa Landing Resort
1.4 km away
Waipouli Beach Resort
0.9 km away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lae Nani? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lae Nani

Property: Lae Nani
Address: 410 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,315 - ₹ 26,682
Hotel Class:3 star — Lae Nani 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lae Nani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger At Lae Nani Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Lae Nani Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing