We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A beautiful setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lae Nani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lae Nani
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger Lae Nani in November 2011. The Lae Nani is in the town of Kapaa, about midway between the north shore sights and the southwest attractions of Waimea Canyon and Kokee State Park. We were in building 3, Unit # 333, and it was in excellent condition and beautifully furnished, roomy, comfortable, and clean. There was free wi-fi and the owner had left a book of "tips" with recommended sightseeing, shops, and restaurants. The complex was quiet, almost too much so, and we saw few other residents. The grounds are nicely landscaped, with lots of flowers and palms. The beach in front of the resort is too rocky for swimming, though there is a small protected area that would be good for children. But if you want an active beach scene, this is not the place for you. The pool was good sized with lots of chairs, and like everything else, it was well kept. There are many shops and restaurants nearby, within walking distance or a short drive away. One complaint is that the standard chairs, found on most of the decks, are low and when you sit down the deck railing really obstructs the view - and it's a gorgeous view. We brought the bar height chairs out from the kitchen, and that made a world of difference. For restaurants, we enjoyed Bobby V's, a casual italian spot a half mile north on the main road. Just a bit farther was the upscale Lemongrass Grill and Seafood, where we had a wonderful dinner of sea bass and filet mignon. On our last day on Kauai our plane did not leave till 9:30 PM, so we asked about a late check-out. We were able to stay till 6:00 PM, but at a cost of $75.00 - a bit steep, but we were glad we did it. One final tip - the sign for the Lae Nani is tiny and we drove past it several times before seeing it; there is a sliding gate with an intercom that will connect you to the desk.

Room Tip: Building 3 has great views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MinneapolisSammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    70
    21
    16
    5
See reviews for
54
103
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

A great thing about places to stay is that when you pick a winner, you are a haapy camper. So it is with us...we are 60 somethings. We looked at lots of places to stay on the travel websites and Lae Nani was the best for us based on airfare and hotel rate. We came from Florida. It was a VERY LONG TRIP...7 in the morning till 11 at night witha layover in LA. The resort office closed at 6 and we got in at 6:30. We rented a car and with our GPS were at Lae Nani within 15 minutes. Our Condo turned out to be great, the staff was great, the grounds were great, and Kauai was "AWESOME". We flew in a helicopter, we sailed on a Catamaran, we flew for a day to Oahu(Arizona--something to see...Oahu traffic...YUCK!!). We did a Luau, and will do Waimea Canyon today. Kauai is small...one main road...but just beautiful. The laid back nature of the place is perfect for the nature lover. Whales, dolphins, gardens, scenery, mellow life style...something to treasure...high energy types...go to Oahu.

Room Tip: Good Views every where
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimmmbobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed here over New Year's 2012 and we were so pleased! We booked through hotwire and got a fantastic deal. Our unit was quite dated, but very clean and had every we needed and more. The location is fantastic, the beach and grounds are lovely and we had a wonderful time

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizbethminv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed here for a week over the holidays with another couple
They got - unit (532)completely remodeled 2 Bedroom 2 bathrooms complete with stickers still on pot and styrofoam packing in dishwasher, 2 Lanai's and bedroom facing ocean.

We got - Unit (526) dirty shag carpet, someone's panties on the floor in the closet, broken closet door, broken screen door, more dust than CSI Las Vegas, dirty fridge, broken toaster, paint peeling off of bathroom walls, bedroom walls, closet doors.

Went to hear the ocean in my ocean front condo when I went to bed instead got a baby screaming underneath my unit and the noise from other units as our bedrooms were at the back of the unit away from the ocean.

I went to complain and was told that some units are remodeled some are not. Our friends called our unit "RUSTIC" and suggested that we hang out in their unit and watch one of the 2 flatscreen tv's instead of our VCR/DVD combo crt tv from the 1990's.

We I checked out I told the manager about my concerns and she seemed shocked and wondered why I did not complain earlier, I told her I did and the manager asked the front desk clerk was I was not moved to another unit, The clerk said because it was a late check-in. I checked in at 3:30 pm in the afternoon not exactly a late check in but a dishonest and lying desk clerk.

Be warned - a beautiful property with a nice pool, webber gas bbq's and great views but some units are substandard and not worth the money.

I paid the same as my friend's unit but they did not have the disrepair and geckos living in their unit.

Room Tip: A great place if you get a remodeled room, make sure bedroom is on the front otherwise you will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BobbyO4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Lae Nani is located in the Coconut Coast section of Kauai (the Wailua/Kapaa area), our favorite area of the Island. The location gives you flexibility to go north up to Princeville/Hanalei or south to Poipu within half an hour depending on weather conditions. The local beaches are also very nice. The area is not nearly as congested and commercialized as either Princeville or Poipu. It fits what we like about the Island perfectly.

While there are a number of good accommodation options along the Coconut Coast (we owned a condo in one of the other complexes for a number of years), our current favorite is the Lae Nani. The units and grounds are well kept, and all the units have spectacular ocean views. There is a beautiful, large grass area between the buildings and the a small beach, as well as a nice swimming pool. I cannot imagine anyone being disappointed with the Lae Nani.

I would strongly recommend that you book units at the condo directly with the owners (e.g., VRBO or other websites) rather than through Outrigger or Castle Resorts. You'll generally save 25%-50% on your condo cost, and a large percentage of the units are now handled on this basis (the cost to condo owners of using the Outrigger service is evidently exorbitant).

Room Tip: We generally prefer second & third floor rooms -- better views, nice ocean breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ghsfcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.1 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
4.8 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
0.1 km away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 km away
Koloa Landing Resort
1.4 km away
Waipouli Beach Resort
0.9 km away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lae Nani? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lae Nani

Property: Lae Nani
Address: 410 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,157 - ₹ 30,152
Hotel Class:3 star — Lae Nani 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Lae Nani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger At Lae Nani Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Lae Nani Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing