We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kayak tour out there!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Kayak Tours

Rainbow Kayak Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rainbow Kayak Tours/Ancient River Kayak is an all inclusive quality, guided tour company. Safety is our #1 priority along with exceptional customer service and an unforgettable experience with your guide. Thomas and Aaron have been guiding since 2004 and Davey & Andy since 2008. We have an amazing team which also includes our customer service department. When contacting us via phone or email, you will either speak with Kelly, Val, Bonnie, Brittany or Gayle. They will make you feel welcome when you visit our shop and check-in for your kayak tour. We are also partners with Kayak Adventures and Ancient River Kayak.Description of our property: Our shop is located in the Islander Shops behind Coconut Marketplace in Kapaa. We are located next to Aston Islander on the Beach Resort, The Snorkel Depot and Tree's Lounge. The Snorkel Depot is adjacent to our shop. We have everything you need for the beach: snorkel gear, beach chairs, boogie boards and much more!
Tumwater, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best kayak tour out there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I had a great time on this tour! Our guide Aaron was very knowledgeable about the region and the culture and he was very willing to answer any sort of question we had a long the way. The Kayaking itself was a blast. We kayaked into a little area and hiked to an awesome waterfall for lunch. The only thing I wish was a little better was that the river was a little faster. It didn't really move all that much. It's definitely good for first timers. You can't really blame that on the company though. I highly recommend this tour, especially for first timers.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jason g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowKayakTours, Guide at Rainbow Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Aloha JasonG,
Really glad to hear you enjoyed the trip. I love the whitewater as well. The rivers of Kaua'i are no good for whitewater rafting or kayaking..... trust me we have tried. This trip is great for everyone. It may be one of the best places i know to teach a first time kayaker the ropes. Although the river is flat water, expert kayakers can't deny the natural beauty of Wailua. Wailua is the full package. Mahalo for taking the time to review our company. Till next time.
Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    41
    9
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful way to spend a day in Kauai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We joined the Rainbow Kayak Tour group for a kayak
trip up the Wailua River and then walked a mile through
the rain forest to a beautiful waterfall and swimming
pool. Our guide was great, kayak and equipment where
top notch and the pace of the afternoon was good. We
spent time swimming and exploring. Great fun!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CollierHudon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowKayakTours, Guide at Rainbow Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Aloha Collierhudon,
Our guest usually work hard to have as much fun as we do. Truly stoked it was a great experience for your party. Mahalo for the efforts.
Rainbow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Way to See and Hear the History of Kauai!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We went with Rainbow Kayak up the Wailua River two days ago and had a blast! We got to see Kauai from a whole new perspective. We hiked back into tropical rainforest and saw a giant waterfall! We also swung from rope swings hanging high up in the trees. Our guide Bobby did a great job entertaining us and was very personable. He explained the history of the river and Kauai very well. My family and I thought that this adventure had it all, even with lunch included at the top! This voyage is not for sissies, but if you have what it takes, you will have the time of your life!

Helpful?
1 Thank AzCats5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowKayakTours, Guide at Rainbow Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Aloha Azcats5280,
Its true, most people that come to Kaua'i don't realize that trips like this even exist. This trip is the highlight of many vacations to Hawai'i. The place itself is amazing, but what makes the trip outstanding, is the guide. Bobby is awesome. He really shows his people an epic experience. His wealth of knowledge, positive energy, and gentle demeanor make him a priceless asset to our team. Mahalo for the review. We look forward to our future shared experiences.
Rainbow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Kayak tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We had an amazing time during our kayak tour with Rainbow Kayak. Aaron was our guide and he was very knowledgeable about the culture and the island of Kauai. We kayaked as far as we could on the river and then hiked to a waterfall where we swam and had lunch. It was amazing. We took different routes hiking to and from the waterfall so we could see as much as possible. I was not ready for our adventure to be done.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowKayakTours, Guide at Rainbow Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Aloha ConnieS,
I would have to agree this is probably one of the best five hour kayak tours out there. My very biased opinion comes from years of kayaking. I started the sport, young, in the late eighties. Since then i have paddled/and or guided in Europe, The Med, Africa, South America, Central America, and multiple locations in North America including Alaska. Each of these locations offers something special but there is a reason our guides do this daily... and love it! This spot is one of the best. Thank you for reviewing our company. Ask for me next time your in town. We love repeat offenders.
Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

The trip consists of kayaking up the Wailua River about 2 miles and then hiking through the forest a mile to the base of Secret Falls. The company provides lunch, which you must order at least 24 hours in advance, so don't try to book at the last minute. Even though the weather was great for our trip, the trail was still pretty muddy, so wear clothing and shoes that can get dirty. Secret Falls is truly beautiful and guests are permitted to swim up to the waterfalls -- the water is a bit chilly in January for my tastes but two of our guys went in. Possibly the biggest asset was the quality of our tour guide, Bobby. He was friendly, personable, and extremely knowledgeable about the history of the area, the flora/fauna, and how the area fits into the ecological life cycle of the island. This was one of the highlights of our week on Kauai!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Marceil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowKayakTours, Guide at Rainbow Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Aloha Marcell C,
Once again Bobby is the man! Glad to hear you had such an amazing experience. The waterfall has been known to be refreshing in the depths of Hawai'i winter. No for real it can be chilly. we carry heat blankets but have never had to use one. Usually a light weight cover up after the swim takes care of the chill until we get moving again. Mahalo for the review.
Rainbow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rainbow Kayak Tours also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing